We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our first port of call on our Sri Lanka trip . The hotel is perfectly situated in the cultural triangle and only an hour or so from Sigiriya or Polonnaruwa, and even closer to Dambulla, which makes it an ideal base. The hotel is in beautiful grounds with a view of the lake. The highlight was sitting on the sunlounger sipping a beer watching the staff play a game of cricket before starting their service! The food was excellent, beautifully presented, the rooms comfortable and quiet. The service was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    556
    138
    26
    10
See reviews for
327
731
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We really liked this hotel. It was the second hotel we stayed in during our tour of Sri Lanka and although it wasn't as luxy as some, it had a really nice atmosphere and had everything you needed to chill out after a hot, tiring day sightseeing - climbing Sigyria etc. To be completely honest, our room sometimes smelt a little musty (this may be because the rooms are outside cabins) but it had everything you required, the shower was good and it was very clean. There was a nice veranda to sit on outside with a place to hang any washing or wet swimsuits which was a really good idea. The restaurant served really nice food - definitely the best buffet dinner and breakfast we had during our stay. The pool area was really good - pool was a great temperature - but the bar service could be a bit slow. There's a lake beside the hotel and you can go out of the hotel and walk (or cycle - ask the hotel) along the far side of the lake. We walked along it in the late afternoon and it was fabulous. There are elephant rides along the lakeside so you have to move over when one comes along. Saw lots of birds (including a kingfisher) and saw the locals having their evening bath/washing clothes. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated for exploring the sights and attractions of Sigyria, Dambulla and Pollonaruwa in the 'Golden Triangle' area of Sri Lanka. It shares a site with its sister hotel, the Cinnamon Lodge, but facilities are separate. After the nosie and bustle of Colombo this hotel makes an ideal choice for a quiet location. The chalet-style room was basic, but comfortable, and there was a good variety of choice at the buffet meals. The staff were friendly and eagar to please, though there were occasional reminders needed for the return of laundry and the like. The grounds are spacious with plenty of sunbed provision, though the pool is on the small side. in-room w-ifi was frustratingly inconsistent, and down-load speeds for basic tasks such as emailing, were often slow. There are safari trips and elephant rides that depart from the hotel.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the room WIFI being slow and did not meet your expectations.
Rest assured we will take necessary measures to rectify the issues highlighted.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Habarana was our first stop on the Unesco Heritage route of Sri Lanka. The early morning flight and the drive to Habarana was a bit strenuous and with the climb to Dambulla Cave temples thrown in as well, we desperately needed some rest. Chaaya village is a decent property, with nice clean rooms, quiet, clean and with good food. There is nothing at all to do in Habarana, so after a hard days hike, or walk or climb, its a relaxing place to unwind, though not overtly luxurious. The hotel offers rooms at good value for money. The staff is very helpful and even when my husband needed to use the business centre to send a few official emails, they courteously arranged with their sister hotel and neighbor Cinnamon lodge where the concierge just graciously gave away their seats to us. Food was good, and the buffet spread offers a large variety at a very affordable price. The Srilankan local spread is noteworthy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is on the same site and shares grounds with the Cinnamon Lodge. The rooms are all in single storey buildings around a central building with the reception, bar, restaurants etc.. The rooms are large spacious, bright and the bathrooms are large wet rooms. The bar is next to the pool and does good snack food at lunch and the pool is a really nice area to relax. The hotel is built around one of the many water tanks in the area (think large lake not tank!), and there are great views from the pool area over the tank too. There is decent quality free wifi in the hotel, but you need to ask Reception for username/password. Dinner is mainly buffet, but there is an a la carte restaurant as well, although the selection is a bit limited, but there are good options for veggies in both and all food was good value for money. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. All staff were really friendly and helpful – especially housekeeping, who made an extra effort at the evening turndown to wish us a good journey for the next stage of our trip. We really enjoyed this hotel and could happily have stayed for longer!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtripfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There's not much in Habarana so you will need to eat in the hotel. We were B&B so ate in the la carte restaurant where the food was excellent, really top quality fare, also very reasonably priced. The whole dining experience was spoiled somewhat by a group of Japanese guests who's children ran riot through the restaurant. We felt for the staff as clearly they did not feel they could say anything, but it was pretty bad. The hotel has seen better days, our tv was ancient and didn't work properly. We weren't that bothered but some guests might be. I loved the monkeys dashing about in the trees on our way to breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the TV, which did not meet your expectations.
Rest assured we will take necessary measures to rectify the issues highlighted.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights booked through Trailfinders. We were greeted with a cold towel followed by papaya juice while they are checking us in. The reception staff are all very helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room is a chalet style within the vast ground. The room and hotel amenities area are well kept. Our room was spacious with tea/ coffee facilties, mini bar, safe, and TV. The bed is huge. The restaurant /bar area is situated in one open plan building which one look out to the swimming pool and lake. Very nice setting. We had our laundry done on both days and it arrived cleaned and ironed by the housekeeper. The housekeeper is very attentive and our housekeeper named Sisira decorated our bed with two lovely swans made from using two white towels and flowers cardboard cutout writing have a nice journey on our last night. It was a very nice touch. We were very touched by it. We gave him a nice tip for cleaning our bedroom.

At night you can have a buffet style dinner but we decided to go for ala carte meal instead as we don't eat too much. There were live music playing . On our last night we sat to eat our meals in the restaurant with live music played by duo. They are fantastic and we both thoroughly enjoyed their songs.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay. We both enjoyed the breakfast as there are a lot of choices from continental, English , American to local Sri Lankan breakfast. We enjoyed the different selection of fruits and fruit s juice as well.

I like this hotel as I'm able to wash small and light blouses and slack because we can hang it outside to speed the drying. The free wifi is a bonus as we had difficulty getting free wifi in India and Sri Lanka. You just need to tell the reception when checking in that you have how many devices so they can set it up for you. we don't have any problem with the wifi. This is an added bonus .

We walked round the hotel ground and watched the lovely sunset by the lake and the ground. We walked round and didn't realised we are in cinnamon lodge which they are just next door to chaaya village. We saw some monkeys playing and swinging from tree to tree. I took some pictures of the monkeys. While we are sitting outside the veranda we spotted a giant squirrel sniffing around the cleaner cart. The next thing the housekeeper gave the squirrel a banana and it took if off him and climed up the tree to finish eating the banana. What an experience. The housekeeper took another banana and lure the squirrel just in front of us so I can capture the filming and also taken photos. It's was definitely a one off experience.

Room Tip: We didn't used the spa. I love this hotel as the setting is beautiful and relaxing place just to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Habarana
211 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing