We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, terrific service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here whilst on a tour around Sri Lanka back in July 2013. On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and refreshment towels. The staff were very bubbly and helpful right from the start up until we left. The buffet breakfast was great, huge spread and delicious local and international food. The dinner was just as good with a large variety. The place is huge and the gardens are landscaped beautifully. The rooms are spacious and clean. All up it was an enjoyable stay and I would definitely visit again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring the cultural triangle. It is easy to access all the sights. The hotel is excellent value. It isn't the smartest of hotels but the staff are friendly, it is clean and the food is excellent. The rooms are very nice, we had some problems with the plumbing but this was sorted immediately.
We were here for Christmas Eve and they organised a great party which even included Father Christmas arriving on an elephant!! A memory I won't forget in a long time! We were a party of 10, 4 adults and 6 children aged 11 to 18 and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 691Thorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'm not sure why the cranky previous reviews. I found this hotel to be excellent. The check in was smooth. The room was elegant - large, clean, well appointed with a large screen TV, nicely decorated. The bath and shower rooms were "outside", meaning they were in a adjoining separate room with a screen as a ceiling in the shower. Clever, since why have air conditioning in this area. The food - especially the desserts - in the restaurant were excellent. It is a large motel-like complex but well laid out with most rooms having a view of the water. The pool - a version of an infinity pool - was smallish but large enough to cool down in and enjoy the scenery. All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canontnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

simple and beautiful hotel. the views from this hotel are the best.. the lake and the gardens are just breath taking. the rooms were ok.... restrooms need more attention. it was very relaxing.. the porch outside the rooms were very cute!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank sashade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights is early January. The standard Cinnamon arrival of juice and cool towel which is a nice touch. Check in smooth although we had asked for a double bed and were given a room with twin beds. Our room C24 also seemed to have no wifi reception. Reception staff were helpful and changed us to a room with double bed when we mentioned it. Dinner was average. An impressive buffet spread-however I think it was more done to our "not another buffet" attitude than real fault with the restaurant that we did not really enjoy our meal. I would say done early though as food goes fairly quickly or is left to go cold.
The pool is one of the best features of the hotel, as is it's proximity to cultural triangle destinations.
The room itself was a good size with all you needed. Bathroom nice although there were lots of little bugs in the sink. The resort itself reminded me a little of CentreParcs with the chalet style bungalows.
The roaming stray dogs were a bit off putting though....
Overall a decent hotel, but I think greater food choice, less bugs and dogs and better wifi reception would bump up the rating. Book closer to the time of your stay if you can as that's when the best deals seemed to be.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma-Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A one night stay with family in two rooms. they were poorly maintained and very basic. Food was very basic in the cafeteria and did not inspire. Despite making a big fuss at reception that it was my sons birthday and promising a cake at dinner, this did not materialize and it was only on checking out that a cake was found. Not a place we would return to willingly

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dvicary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The village concept is nice although the cottages are quite close to each other to maximise the space. I hotel is setout on a large block of land bordering a lake. The hotel uses the lake well for evening events and BBQ areas.

The rooms were simple and tastefully fit out. Basic toilet that was functional. Although there was that musty smell that one often gets in hotel toilets in the tropics.

We were on full board and the buffet had a variety of options both Western and local. Having a taste for the local food, it was quite enjoyable. As often seems to be the case, the deserts were fantastic and beautifully presented.

The pool was quite small considering the size of the property and the potential number of occupants. Having said that it was clean. There were bicycles available, although not very well maintained. Interestingly they charged more for the bicycles at the Village than at the Lodge, even though they seemed to share the same bicycles!

The service was friendly and mostly effective.

All in all, it is one of the better options in this area. Having said that, the location and premises have everything required to have a truly top class hotel. Chaaya Village falls well short of that.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank CockeyedObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
66 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 9 in Habarana
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $66 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing