We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Reviewed December 20, 2013

An interesting hotel. We had a room along the front (H-06) which felt a bit more isolated than some of the others, which seemed quite closely packed together. We had a nice outdoor shower and a reasonably large room.

The pool was nice to relax by, but not a good shape for swimming. The buffet dinner was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour and enjoyed it immensely. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for our little group.
The rooms are spread around well cared for gardens in little blocks and have everything you need - including mosquito deterrent plug in.
Food was good and tasty with a good selection of choices.
Overall an excellent base to visit the cultural highlights of this area

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kalamaki-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the lodges which overlooked hotel grounds and lake with monkeys and chipmunk looking squirrels in the grounds. The elephants across the lake made my wife's day!Our room had a four poster queen sized bed and the bathroom with its open roof above the shower was something quite different from our normal experience! The bed decoration using folded towels and fresh flowers on our third and last night was a really nice touch.
Although the evening buffet looked good we opted for a la carte dining in the small restaurant area which was absolutely excellent. The breakfast buffet selection was very good.
Have no complaints whatsoever, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room in the semi-detached bungalows overlooking the grounds and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village - Habarana. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We are also glad that you enjoyed the facilities, food, services and the surroundings of the hotel.We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Two hotels in one area, chaaya and cinnamon, same owners
Chaaya village is a villa type resort one house one room, with a lake
The buffet dinner and breakfast were very good and variaties for western, local and asia too
As a sun hunter, i climbed up to a hill in from of the lobby,find the water tank on top of the hill just a short climb for sunrise and in from of the lake for sun set or back to the water tank hill both for sunset and sunrise
They shud build the suite room on top of this water tank hill, the best view to see entire area, and the best for sunrise and sunset
There is a swimming pool
Recommended to stay here after sigiriya trip just 45 minutes
Follow my trip on tweet add @antonthedy

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We checked in to this hotel after long trip to Anuradhapura. And this hotel is located very closer to almost all the attractions around this area of Sri Lanka, namely Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa and Sigiriya. I am sure you will be relaxed at this hotel after long walks you might experience in those ancient cities. There is a BBQ area near the Lake, which is amazing. Also the hotel could arrange Elephant rides too. This is something you should look forward to. Elephant rides will give you life time experience.

Also don't forget to get the bicycles that are provided free of charge the ride around the property. The property is really huge, so if you want to walk you are most welcome. But enjoy riding a bicycle too with family and friends.

Food is Buffet style and has it owned style. No complains about the F&B.

Room Tip: closer to the lake would be ideal as you can enjoy evening step out and calmness of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A beautiful hotel set by a small lake surrounded by wildlife (monkeys, wild squirrels & chipmunks!!). Arrival to this hotel was quick and efficient. On check in they upgraded our room because it was our honeymoon.

We stayed here 3 nights to visit the close by Sigarya rock and Dambulla temple. A comfortable and clean stay. The buffet selection offered a wide range of freshly prepared continental as well as local foods. They had specific areas manned by specialist chefs for nan breads, kebabs, fajita wraps, pasta, and much much more. We could not find a fault with the foods available. Waiters/cleaners/reception/towel boy staff were all friendly and helpful with any issues we had.

After lunch the restaurant staff would play cricket in the hotel grounds, this was good entertainment whilst taking a walk in the gardens. The outdoor swimming pool was perfect for us to end on of our evenings after a tough trek to the top of Sigarya rock.

The cleaner arranged a beautiful towel arrangement 'Have a nice Journey' on our beds which surprised us after dinner, we had spoken to him earlier that day saying we off to India the following day so it was so nice of him to make these small extras to make our stay at Chaaya wonderful. The staff are undoubtedly an asset to this hotel!!!

Note: This hotel caters for large tour groups, which means the buffet can get very busy.
I would recommend this hotel and we would visit again. Camilla/Stewart, Scotland.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room H12 very close to SPA but about a minute walk to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla_Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Arrived for one night and were upgraded to the lake view bungalows which were in a spectacular position occupying a quiet area away from the main hotel.

Lovely clean large rooms with steamers chairs on the terrace, we were 2 couples doing a tour and had rooms next to each other. Hotel was busy with tour groups but had a fabulous buffet and breakfast the following morning. Immaculate gardens and pool and very friendly and helpful staff. This became a theme as we stayed in mostly Cinnamon/Chaaya hotels and the staff and rooms in these hotels were the best of the hotels we stayed in (except Tea Trails which is another level altogether).

Would recommend this hotel, fantastic position and perfect for exploring Sigiria and the other ancient cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powderbirdffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,780 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
74 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $85 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing