We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the ancient cities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring the ancient cities”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a relaxing hotel with pleasant staff. Its a resort spread out by small individual type bungalow rooms. Each had its own seating area outside. The room was spacious and clean however the beds were uncomfortable. We had a problem with ants in our rooms but we had brought lots of bug spray with us and its also worth bringing a plug in mosquito repellent as well. The nightly buffet was really delicious with something for everyone as was the buffet. The restaurant and bar overlooked a lovely pool area. We stayed here for 2 nights and felt it was fine for our needs and was a very good base for exploring the ancient cities in a relaxing environment with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are pleased to receive your commendation regarding the accommodation, buffet and our staff. We will look into the some of the difficulties you experienced and regret very much any inconvenience caused. Hope you will visit us again and thank you for taking the trouble to post positive comments about us on trip advisor.

Wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    557
    140
    27
    10
See reviews for
333
737
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DXB
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The difference between a great property and a great resort is often the staff, and in Habarana the Cinnamon/Chaaya group have hit pay dirt - some of the friendliest resort staff you can find anywhere, ever helpful without being intrusive or obsequious. The property itself is well kept with the highlight being the massive open dining/bar/lounge area which really defines the character of the place. The rooms are nice, though we did have a couple of minor issues with the ageing plumbing. This place is allegedly the best holiday spot in Sri Lanka, according to a friend who lives in that country, and I can see why they seem to think so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about Chaaya Village Habarana It really makes us all feel good to hear that we hit the mark where it counts- service and customer satisfaction!
I will be sure to pass on your sentiments to the rest of the Chaaya Village team!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first time staying in a resort style hotel and it did not disappoint. The grounds of the resort are beautifully maintained and beautiful, the famous Habarana lake is a few steps away from your bungalow, and the staff are good. A very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. The buffet spread for breakfast and dinner is surprisingly good, however, lunch options are little limited if you just want a light snack, and floor staff seem to grind to a halt in the middle of the day. The location is excellent for all sight seeing in the Cultural Triangle area, including Minneraya National Park. Wonderfully relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShehanZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The location was delightful with lots of birds and wildlife (beware mosquitos by the lake!). Our room was a good size and well appointed. The buffet was fine, and there was evening entertainment in the bar area. A slight niggle was that we were "encouraged" to eat the lunchtime special rather than being able to eat off the menu, ie burger rather than Sri Lankan cuisine.

The hotel was well located for Dambulla, Sigiriya and for viewing wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Absolutely great hotel sitting on the lake around which the tourists ride the elephants.. Great area around, lovely pool (although the water could be cooled down), very neat and clean little villas. For those who are used to 3-4 star hotels, you will love this one. On the top of great service and environment, the restaurant deserves a gourmet star. Huge selection of delicious startes, amazing main courses and spectacular deserts make your lat day in ceylon iuiiîprecious a meru

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived at Chaaya Village after a week in (very good) guesthouses elsewhere in Sri Lanka. As soon as you arrive, it's such a great place to stay, the rooms are huge and the bathroom really good. Hardly anyone else seemed to go in the pool, so a lot of the time we had it to ourselves, and the service was fantastic. We had loved the food everywhere else we had been in Sri Lanka, and were reluctant about having an international buffet, so the first night we walked out of the hotel and up to the junction, having a meal there. the next night we were tired after all the day's activities, and one of the waiter's offered us a lower price for the buffet if we only ate the Sri Lankan food - this was perfect for us, and I have to say the quality was much higher than I was expecting - the spice levels didn't seem to have been dumbed down for westerners. Same with the breakfast, which was really good, and we filled up on this every morning. The hotel is well placed for public transport to all the sites around the area (Polonnaruwa, Minneriya, Dambulla etc), though I think most guests here have drivers, as the staff seemed quite surprised that we walked to the junction! Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrac_Motte, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were advised to relocate one night from Sigiriya to Habarana for easier travel time to Polonnauwa and Minneriya. As it turned out this wasn't really necessary, though I'm glad we did since Chaaya village was one of the better hotels we stayed during our two week tour of Sri Lanka. Excellant choice of buffet, top quality food, lovely room with good facilities. Wonderful size pool awaiting that is a real treat to come back to after a day touring. The TV was very old and small, not though I care much for TV when on holiday but most hotels of this standard have 32" flat screen. Compared to other hotels we stayed during our 2 week tour, this was top value and worthy of a decent rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezzahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,493 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
46 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Habarana
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing