We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a relaxing break this is the place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you want a relaxing break this is the place!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although it is inland this hotel is next to a vast lake which gives it the relaxed feel. All the staff are friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I did some laundry whilst here and at £10 for a large bag full was value for money and all came pressed and neatly folded. The rooms were in bungalow style set amongst acres of ground and all decorated simply but clean and of good standard. The large pool was well maintained with sunbeds tables and chairs under well needed trees for some shade. The large open planned bar/lounge and dining room had loads of comfy seats overlooking the pool and lake. The food at dinner and breakfast was superb and the best from the seven hotels I had stayed in. Both were a buffet style with a large selection of hot dishes, salads, European, local, British and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: For an additional supplement you can get a bigger room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    556
    138
    26
    10
See reviews for
327
731
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here 1nt as part of our tour and didnt want to leave. The grounds are extensive with multiple beautiful spots to watch the sunset over the lake. We walked by the lake enjoying all the wildlife. The staff were friendly and helpful. Both buffet dinner and breakfast offered delicious choices including a good amount of local cuisine for people like us who wanted to avoid the bacon and croissants. There is a nice open air lounge to relax and spent time after dinner with some evening entertainment.The rooms were big, airy and comfortable. This was our favourite hotel on our 7nt tour.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSaifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
The title says it all! - Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you “didn't want to leave” Chaaya Village Habarana and will be sure to share the compliments with the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour for 2 nights. The rooms are very basic and in need of modernising. Old tv, uninteresting decor.
Buffet is poor everything is over spiced.Im normally eat anything but found it hard to find something I liked.
We found a few members of staff unfriendly and rude at the restaurant. Not all of them were miserable though.
We couldn't wait to leave this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_lj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to Chaaya Village Habarana and taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and assure that corrective measures will be taken where applicable.

We strive to provide excellence, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for 2nights there.

Early morning I walked around the lake and spotting birds and local people washing elephant (nearby hotel is elephant camp), it was very peaceful environment.

Buffet breakfast & dinner, many selection.

I noticed they use Lemon Grace soap which I like the most :-) and feel it is different from other hotels.

I did not use Spa but I used nearby hotel, very good one to try and far cheaper than hotel :-D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EurasieTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and were able to experience the beauties of Habarana as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights. The room and bathroom were very spacious. The room boys extremely friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful and very varied. The highlight for me
was sitting down by the lake early morning. So peaceful and the bird life was incredible. Definitely one of my favourite stops on our tour of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lajoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled to know that you picked as your favourite destination and that you specifically enjoyed your food.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we do hope to welcome you back on day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013 at a deluxe room (H-12). the room was very good and clean. only thing was that there was a whole heap of broken furniture right next to our room. this really spoiled the whole scenery for us. We chose a deluxe room specifically because it said 'with a view of the lake. but part of the view was of broken furniture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArunaFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding the matter addressed which we will certainly use as we continue to better the experience here. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first destination in Sri Lanka.A beautiful property spread out with nice cottages,a lovely pool and lawns overlooking a lake.There was a traditional touch to the hotel.The cottages are simple but very comfortable. I loved the use of bamboo shades....The bathrooms are nice too .They had given us 2 adjoining cottages as we were travelling with our children.The breakfast and dinner were awesome A huge spread!.We are vegetarian but we had no issues .There was always enough choice for us.The staff were very courteous and always smiling!
You do see an occasional iguana around but they are harmless.
Habarana is a good hub to go visit the historical part of Sri Lanka.We went to the Dambulla caves and Anuradhapura -the ancient capital.Both are really worth a visit.
We loved the Chaaya hospitality and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmeline, Guest Relations at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings from Habarana! On behalf of the entire team, thank you for the wonderful remarks. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your cottage - which offers beautiful views of the lake, as well as the variety of wildlife around the property.

Chaaya Village Habarana offers incredible opportunities to explore the historical and cultural triangle of the island and we are glad that you experienced it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,444 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Habarana
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing