We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable hotel to set the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very comfortable hotel to set the standard”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After a brief overnight stop at Negombo, this was the first proper taste of the high standard of the six hotels we were to experience during our visit to Sri Lanka.

We did not stop off anywhere en route from Negombo (apart from a few quick photo stops) and it took a good 4 hours or so to reach Habarana. The hotel was down a long track from the main road which also serves the sister hotel (Cinnamon Lodge) and reception was in the open air. Refreshing towels and fruit drinks were quickly served up and much appreciated. We were quickly assisted to our lake side deluxe chalet for the two night stay.

We fared better than some, as whilst there was rain around at times this tended to be mid afternoon and quite light. We were still able to use the inviting triangular pool which filled from a sort of cascade arrangement with what felt like hot water - like getting in a bath. It was fun to swim here after dark (pool open until 21.00) after a day out touring the sites.

Others have commented on the wildlife around Chaaya and we enjoyed it as well. Very endearing was the squirrel who would hang from the tree and stare at you with big eyes - all he wanted was a banana which on occasion guests or the pool staff would provide. It was quite entertaining also to witness our first group of monkeys in Sri Lanka as they tried to muscle in on the squirrels territory before racing off across the chalet rooftops/trees towards the lakes. These were different to the one's we met at Kandalama!

We endorse all the positive comments about this hotel that others have stated here and it was clean, the staff friendly and very peaceful. While we were there the gardeners were attempting to replant the muddy grass areas in front of the chalets which I guess had not benefited from the rains in February. March is supposed to be wetter than February by the way.

I went and 'did' Sigiriya rock one morning whilst my wife enjoyed a sunny relaxing time on a lounger by the pool. After lunch it was off to Polonnuwara, the second historic capital site for the afternoon. The road runs through a National Park and we saw a wild elephant on the roadside on the way back. I mention these things as it emphasises the hotels central location for the Cultural Triangle. Anuradhapura is also possible in a day from here - despite all the roads currently being replaced (no diversions in Sri Lanka).

Not sure if it was because of the lake but we did get many small bites here on the first night (not mosquito ones) and so we used the pink 'tablet' that is provided in the room - you plug the device into a power socket and it emits a smell for 12 hours - and this stopped a repeat on the second night!

Lovely Hotel, Lovely location - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review & we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the central location of the Chaaya Village which is in proximity to the ancient capitals of historical interest & the National parks where large herds of Elephants could be viewed is most definitely a positive aspect to enhance ones holiday experience.

Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    556
    138
    26
    10
See reviews for
327
731
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our second stop on our Sril Lankan tour - peaceful and tranquil. Our chalet style room was clean and spacious, looking out towards the lake (or was it a tank!). Bathroon was a very good size, well equipped and loved the outdoor shower. Even though we had rain, it didn't stop me from having a shower outside as it was so warm. A fair bit of wildlife to see, watching the elephant rides taking place along the opposite bank, cheeky chipmunks, egrets everywhere, herons, birds of prey, all sorts of birds. Nice pool, again looking across towards the lake. Food was good (buffet style), plenty of choice and table service was reasonably quick for drinks. Nice surprise anniversay cake turned up at the table on our last night - after we had eaten! Shared it with other guests and staff. A nice relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can with a view towards the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us & we are glad that all aspects of your stay & the tranquility of Chaaya Village enhanced your holiday experience.

As higlighted by you & many other reviewers the location of the resort is most definitely a plus factor as all the places of cultural interest & the wild life parks are in proximity to the resort.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location but rooms dated and tired. Good selection of food at buffet but very formulaic so by day 3 you feel you are being offered the same food. The setting is outstanding and makes up for any shortcomings

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review & the constructive comments which we do appreciate, we are truly glad that the ambience of the location enhanced your holiday experience.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back from a Sri Lanka tour and this was the first of 5 hotels that we stayed in. Ideally situated for visiting the cultural triangle. If you love nature, this is the place for you. The setting is just beautiful. It is possible to swim in the pool and watch the monkeys, chipmunks, squirrels etc around you. Watched a Mongoose stroll past whilst sitting at the edge. A totally relaxing experience! Food is plentiful and a very good standard. Staff very friendly and willing to please. Others have commented on the rooms and maybe they are a little 'tired', but very clean with a 'walk in' shower. The environment, in our opinion, more than makes up for this. We took an Elephant safari locally and a jeep safari to the nearby Elephant game reserve. Recommended!

Room Tip: We had a Lakeside room which was away from Reception and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justmoving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review & we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, our central location for visiting the cultural triangle sites & the wild life parks popular for elephants has been identified my many of our guests to be truly a boon.

Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well, not exactly a village but the hotel "rooms" are really chalets spread out among the trees behind the main building and lake. Quite clean but a lot of mosquitoes at night. Pool area, bar and restaurant areas were good and well kept, free wifi, and staff were friendly.

You also get to spot little geckos, monitor lizards, squirrels, elephants (tame ones on the other side of the lake) and the odd friendly dog running round outside.

We stayed 3 nights there, breakfast was good, and the buffet as well as a la carte was very good value.

Room Tip: You can request to stay at the lake side chalets (nearer restaurant) or the back ones (very quiet, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location for the surrounding sites of interest.
Hotel is slightly older but the rooms are clean and well looked after.
The pool area is fantastic and we literally had it to ourselves for two afternoons in a row. It's great for spotting wildlife too with monkeys etc all around.
The restaurant staff are lovely and always smiling asking what more they can do for you. The food is great, really well presented and loads to choose from if you like a buffet.


The only downside of the stay was the very loud AC, then because of the noise we used the ceiling fan which was even louder. This meant we struggled to sleep the first night. Also the room smelt a tad musty but that is us to the age of the cabins more than anything. Enjoyed the stay but would try somewhere else next time. Still a good hotel however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review & we are glad that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us.

Your candid & constructive feedback is indeed appreciated, points highlighted have been rectified
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights to explore the old cities from there. Nice rooms, friendly staff, great food. After staying one night in one room in the center of the "village", we asked to get a room at the lakeside and the staff agreed without any resistance. Only little drawback - you can hear the music into the rooms until late evening, either from the restaurant area or from a lakeside party but that could be handled easiy with earplugs and never lasted over midnight.

Room Tip: Lakeside room nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, the resort does have a central location for visiting sites of historical interest & the wild life parks, we are glad this fact helped you ehhance your holiday experience.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,444 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Habarana
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing