We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to stay, not many eat out options though but the food is fantastic and the spa is just heaven. Great staff and great hotel. There are plenty of variety in the buffet. So if your a picky food person, no problem. This is sorted out. Rooms are very big and spacious. The hotel is sorrounded by plenty of trees and birdlife and even a beautiful lake around the hotel.

Room Tip: You have to use their spa....................
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShehanFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    556
    138
    26
    10
See reviews for
327
731
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the Chaaya Village for 3 nights as part of a tour and it's a great location from which to explore the area. The rooms are arranged in single storey rows spreading out from the reception and main area. They are spacious but fairly basic and dated - they gave the feeling of a lodge rather than a hotel so don't expect luxury, particularly in the bathrooms. The setting of the hotel is superb with grounds that run down to a large lake with plenty of bird life and a troupe of monkeys. It was lovely to stroll to the lake and around the grounds as the sun was setting. There are activities such as elephant rides and day trips but we didn't do them as we had a driver and were out every day. The food was excellent with loads of choice and some dishes cooked in front of you. The service was good too. There is a bar and drinks area but it lacked atmosphere, although there was a magic show one evening but it wasn't well attended. The pool is in a triangular shape and quite nice but not huge. The planting and grounds around the main area could have been better maintained. In short, it's fine if you are not planning on spending too much time in the hotel but if you are looking to spend the day relaxing it luxuty it may not be for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miscanthus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

You will not go hungry, the food is excellent served in an 'open' restaurant, always have the bread cooked freshly in front of you - delicious. You will see plenty of birdlife if you take a walk around the grounds (about 15 min walk). Hotel is well back from the main road and secluded. Rooms are spacious and well maintained but a little gloomy. Good base to visit the ancient cities, Sigriyia and Dumballa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Habarane is a good base for exploring the cultural triangle. This hotel had large, clean rooms that were well equipped, if a little dated. It is beautifully positioned, on a reservoir that attracts an array of birds, monkeys and reptiles.

The majority of guests appeared to be on package tours, with coaches, drivers and guides. Having arrived on our ownsome, we struggled to arrange trips to local sights that offered decent value; most of the reception staff seemed comfortable offering pretty extortionate packages with a straight face. However, one member of staff was able to arrange something closer to our budget. The hotel is deserted during the day, leaving the pool area quiet and relaxing.

The restaurant offered a colossal range of food, from local curries to Western staples. The food itself is fine, nothing special. It is, like most of Sri Lanka, very reasonably priced. The neighbouring Cinnamon lodge offers a dining alternative, or a prettier setting for a drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonkantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The setting of Chaaya Habarana is WONDERFUL. Right by the lake (actually, because of the flooding, our private bungalow was ON the lake), in amongst trees, bushes, and grass. Bicycles were available to ride around the property which was a huge hit for our 8year old. The elephant rides started just at the entry to the property, or you could stroll up the road a bit more to the place where the elephants got bathed. The view over the lake with glimpses of the elephants on the other side was great! We also spotted a couple of monitor lizards on the property -- nothing to be scared of, just something to be in awe of!

Food was delicious, though mostly buffet, We loved the Sri Lankan selections (made to Sri Lankan spice levels!). Service was GREAT. Everyone always had a big smile. I felt that the staff were actually HAPPY to be working there (even during peak Christmas period!), which I think is a great reflection on the management.

Considerate touches everywhere: plentiful umbrellas at every entry/exit point (it rained a lot), hot chocolate for the kids (as a suggestion!), french fries for the kids while they waited (just out of friendliness!), and even a Good Luck note on our beds on our last night there. Truly a personal place to stay.

Chaaya Habarana saved our totally botched-up reservations! Our initial hotel never got our reservation and was not helpful in providing an alternative (Ulagalla Resort), then my next booking was direct with another hotel which was also botched. THAT hotel was extremely helpful in providing an alternative, and sent us to Chaaya Habarana. Chaaya was WONDERFUL. Although it is definitely one-star less than our reserved hotel, the service and friendliness of the place more than made up for it. Truly a first-class place in terms of service and making the guest feel special and welcome. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: The Kingfischer Lodge! It is a one-room bungalow with a wrap-around balcony on 2 sides. It has the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Though not an easy ride from the international airport ( approx. 4 hrs45 wminutes) due to the bad road condition, the hotel is really pleasant. Smooth check in with welcome drink.
Rooms bungalow type with terrace- modest but comfortable, the bathroom with no shower cabin, but for someone who is trying to get positive emotions while in holidays that shouldn't be a problem. All amenities in site.
Little problem with Internet- every time there was rain it stopped responding but nothing really serious to my opinion. You are in Sri Lanka so keep your standards real and no need to compare with others places you've been to. No offense intended for those who like the comparing issue,ok?
Best rooms are those facing the lake, to the right of the reception/ pool. These rooms start with H.
Food is delicious here and it should be taking as an addition to any little issue you may have with the room- if any.
Breakfast offer includes 5 type of natural juices- papaya, coconut, pineapple, watermelon and apple, fresh fruits ( pinnacle , watermelon, orange), some conserved peach ,sausages, eggs,cheeses( not tons but tasty), meat, rice, delicious and warm bakery production. I may say that CVH has nothing to envy a five stars hotel regarding food choice.
Xmas eve was really amazing and once again food choice was TERRIFIC!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those facing the lake, to the right of the reception/ pool. These rooms start with H.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent Hotel. Rooms were nice and spaced out. Good food on their ala carte menu. They also had daily entertainment after dinner. Also location is good to visit anuradhapura etc. Also cinnamon hotel next door is excellent and makes a good change to go to for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vchandaria22Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,444 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Habarana
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing