We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food in Sri Lanka!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
AlexCThomas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best food in Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was the first stop on our Sri Lanka tour and ended up probably being the best hotel we visited. We stayed in one of their chalet style bungalows which had a huge main room, very comfortable bed and an excellent modern bathroom. The location was great for us to visit the ancient cities but also benefitted from being in a nice quiet, rural location by a lake so we also got our first experience of Sri Lankan wildlife with chipmunks, monkeys and monitor lizards on view at breakfast. The whole complex was of a very high standard with a great pool and the service was excellent with very friendly staff, who spoke very good English.

The real highlight though, was the food which was simply outstanding (and the best we had on our holiday!) A fantastic variety of local curries and international options which were all very good with lots of variety and lots of fresh cooked dishes like rottis and naans. Our only criticisms were that it was a slightly long walk from our chalet to the dining room (was was made worse by the rain when we were there) but this is very trivial!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    553
    136
    26
    10
See reviews for
325
729
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely clean large rooms. Great location to see the local sites. Great food and friendly staff. Would definately recommend and go back. Set in lovely grounds. Lots of wildlife to see (and hear!) Food quality, standard and amount is vast. Be prepared to have trouble choosing what to eat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this village style hotel during our tour of Sri Lanka. It's very peaceful and you get the feeling you are out in the wilderness. The rooms were large enough and clean. Fabulous restaurant and bar area. Very good entertainment. Nothing tacky. The breakfast and dinner were buffet style and of a very high quality. There is a huge pool area. The hotel is situated adjacent to a lake. There is lots of wildlife on your doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookinWiGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our one week tour of Sri Lanka. We were greeted and checked into our room. The hotel is set upon wonderful grounds, large bar and restaurant area and a nice pool. The setting somewhat reminded me of a safari resort. Very beautiful.
We were walked pass the pool to our room. These were basically villas. Very large spacious bedroom with all the mod-cons and a minibar. Large bathroom with an outdoor open shower. All was spotless and very clean.
Breakfast and dinner were fantastic absolutely spoilt for choice. All cooked to a high standard.
We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this resort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CKHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We made the Chaaya Village our base for a couple of nights to take in some of the local sites. The food was excellent and service was second to none. It was in a perfect location for us. We could not fault the relaxation felt after a long hot day at Sigiriya and Dambulla. A recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lead_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is set in a beautiful location. We had 'lake-side' interconnecting rooms, but, through my lack of research, I didn't realise that the lake would be empty at the time of year we went. Still, it was lovely looking out at the trees and seeing groups of monkeys playing right on our doorstep! My children hired bikes to cycle around the lake, it's lovely to walk around too. We spotted all sorts of wildlife, like eagles and monitor lizards. There were even treehouses/look out points for the kids to explore. We wandered up to the organic farm, where they were happy to show us arond, and had a walk through Cinnamon Lodge too (the two properties are connected). The pool is gorgeous and the food is a good standard too. We used the hotel as a base to visit Kaudulla elephant park. Our guide and driver were lovely, and we did see elephants and water buffalo, but not as many as at Minneriya. The service wasn't as smiley as other places we stayed at in Sri Lanka, and, on the first night, the baby cots we had pre-requested (we have twins) still weren't in our room by 11pm (seven hours after our check-in), despite us constantly calling about them. So there is room for improvement in customer service. The rooms are also very dark and could do with a bit more natural light. The low-point of our three night stay here was when we booked an elephant ride around the lake. When we turned up, just within the entrance of the hotel down a track on the right side, we saw the sad elephant chained to the tree, rocking backwards and forwards, clearly distressed and unhappy. The elephant's owner tried to tell us she was 'dancing'. I cried I was so upset. My conscience wouldn't allow me to proceed with the ride. I made my sentiments clear and asked for (and received) our money back. If anyone else cares about animal welfare and wants to see these majestic creatures treated with care and respect, then please do visit this elephant when you stay at this hotel and voice your concerns if you feel the same as I did. I hope the hotel will help to improve conditions for this elephant.

Room Tip: The best aspect of this hotel is the view of the lake/trees and having it to explore right on your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamasChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our kids and loved it. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, though the shower could be improved. You wake up with all kinds of birds and monkey sounds, satisfactory buffet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing