We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a nice and comfortable stay at Chaaya Village Habarana... the cottages that they have are very nice and cozy... the ambience of the entire resort is lovely and very nice!
The food and service is good... we had a very smooth and easy check in and check out...
We requested an extra bed for our 3 yr old son.. and they were happy to provide us with it as soon as they could.
The pool is nice, but small...
The food was excellent... we enjoyed all the local food as well as the continental cuisine at the restaurant ... and the staff is very helpful!! We loved the experience there...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    557
    140
    27
    10
See reviews for
333
737
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kind and welcoming staff. The rooms are nicely decorated as is the bathroom/shower. Breakfast in the siting area around the pool, with view on the lake, is perfect. Very extensive, all sorts of bread, fruits and sri lankan food like egg hoppers to choose from. Dinner is nice , you can choose between buffet and a la carte.
The only disadvantage and is missing is a nice view from your room. There are comfortable chairs in front of the rooms but the view from there isn't much .
The staff is very friendly and they decorate your bed with flowers before going to sleep..
It is a very good base to visit Minneriya national park with lots of elephants and other animals. Very worthwhile. The best you can do is go to arrange this tour is walk to the mainroad where there are quite some touroperators who can take you for a tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, but first for my sister. What really appeals to me was the little bungalows set up. Although the area had not had rain for 5 months, which affected the lake and the grass outside the bungalows, this did not detract from the overall beauty of the place. On arrival right through to departure(our stay was for 2 nights) the staff was friendly, helpful and genuinely cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was good. Buffett style service with a decent choice for all sittings. I can not find anything to complain about. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 5 stars from me.
I would also like to thank all the staff who made my sisters stay so special on her birthday. We had a bouquet and cake provided by the the tour guide company and from the hotel. The houseboys even arrange my sisters bed with flowers spelling out "Happy Birthday" This was very thoughtful and really made my sisters day. Thank you all for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srilankabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Habarana Village by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 22, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a ceylon tour with Kouni. Public areas nice. Hotel reception staff were very efficient and friendly but the rooms were a bit tired especially the bathroom. We felt the food and drinks were a bit expensive compared to other hotels we stayed in, but I suppose they had a captured market. We went on the elephant back safari ride from the hotel which was great and not too expensive, if you take this trip buy bananas for the elephants. We also went on a nature tour arranged by the hotel this was excellent. I don't think I would stay here again, I would pay the bit extra and stay at the adjacent hotel, Cinnimon Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Chaaya Village as part of a Go Lanka Holidays package. It is a convenient location for visiting Dambulla Caves, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and the Gathering of the Elephants. Our room was clean and the air conditioner adequate. I asked for a room away from any loud music as other reviewers had advised and the desk clerk graciously complied. Our room rate included the dinner buffet, which was delicious and beautifully served in an open air dining room. If you want the buffet it is good to get a half board rate through a tour company because the buffet is expensive if purchased at the hotel. There are no other restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Best to get a rate that includes the dinner buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas-SanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived at around 7pm (it was dark) and were greeted with a cold towel and a warm greeting. We were offered a welcome drink but this never arrived...?

The rooms are a good size but in need of refurbishment as described by other reviews. The bed is large and comfortable but the furniture has seen better days. The bathroom is again functional but they have used what looks like polished concrete and it needs a face lift.

The public areas are good. We had a swim at night which was heavenly. The restaurant serves an extensive buffet for both dinner and breakfast and although there is a wide selection of foods available it seems like it is geared towards large parties / coaches if you see what I mean.

All in all, it was a fine place to stay for one night. The tour guides get free accommodation here so it will more than likely be on your itinerary if touring the country...go for it but only one night.

PS - watch out for the monkeys, you walk around them, they don't walk around you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a deluxe room for two nights which looked out onto the dry grass down to the dried up lake. The room was huge with a great bathroom and wifi. I think I would have been happy with a standard room though. The monkeys outside stole my wifes bikini top left out to dry and were hilarious raiding the tea and coffee from the cleaners carts and eating it in the trees. We saw a huge monitor lizard by the lake too. We didn't have the buffet at night but ordered curries off the menu at less than half the price which were some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. Good breakfast buffet. Staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
11.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,491 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
46 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Habarana
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Village by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Village by Cinnamon

Property: Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Address: Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Habarana Village by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habarana Village by Cinnamon lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Habarana Village by Cinnamon boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Habarana Village by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing