We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay at its best”
Review of Mutu Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mutu Village
Ranked #1 of 38 Habarana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A lovely couple - the super efficient husband and his fantastic cooking wife - provide a fantastic homestay experience. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely breakfast and dinners and assistance in just about anything. I had a problem with my driver and although it was not Ajith's problem or mistake, he immediately offered his help sorting it out. Sleep quality was not that perfect (I could hear the noise from the family late at night), but the hospitality made up for it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Mutu Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 311 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Mutu is the perfect base for exploring the Habarana area and Cultural Triangle.
Ajith and his family make you feel very welcome and cannot do enough for you.
If you want to experience wonderful Sri Lanka hospitality, this is the place for you.

Ajith was not only an excellent host but also an excellent tour guide. He kindly helped us plan trips and excursions. The trips he booked for us were always professional, well organised and great value for money. He even came all the way to Colombo airport to pick up when we arrived!

Mutu is Ajith's wife, who 'cooks up a storm in the kitchen'. We took the half board option - breakfast and evening meal. Mutu cooked traditional Sri Lankan food- every meal was delicious. This was a fantastic opportunity to sample local home cooked food and recipes. The dishes were so good we are still talking about them a month later. I have even had to buy a Sri Lankan cook book to try and see if I can cook them at home!

Ajith's brother Gamini, is another bonus to any stay at Mutu (he's the driver). His driving was very safe & he was very reliable. He went out of his way to ensure we made the most of our time in Habarana. He picked us up from the airport and was our guide for the following five days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We would suggest this hotel and as read before,it is a very good location for a couple of nights! The place in itself is a bit isolated to find,but anyone knows directions!
New structure to adjust in a few things, but rooms are nice comfortable and clean! Food provided is very nice,homemade by the wife! He is very nice and needs to add few more rooms because the place is very nice! Remember they don t accept credit cards!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just finished an amazing 3 nights at Mutu Village. This is definitely the place to stay in Habarana and, in my opinion, is a reason in itself to base yourself in Habarana while you explore the Cultural Triangle.

The service at Mutu Village is exceptional. Ajith, Mutu and Gamini (Ajith's brother and the Guesthouse driver) went out of their way to make our stay 100% enjoyable. They even arranged a birthday cake on my birthday there and Ajith also traveled by bus from Habarana to Dambulla (about 1 hour) after we had checked out to bring us the sunglasses we had left behind.

Mutu Village essentially took care of our itinerary in the Cultural Triangle area. We had prearranged for Gamini to pick us up in Negombo and take us around the Cultural Triangle area, using Habarana as a base. He was a truly great driver. Always on time, great sense of humour and always full of suggestions of additional stops we might like to make along the way (including his brothers' hoppers restaurant on the main road in Habarana - delicious).

The location of the Guesthouse is set back off the main road in Habarana in a quite part of town. The rooms are great. Clean, tidy, nice bathrooms and plenty of wifi and hot water, if that's a must for you. We ate all our breakfasts and dinners at the guesthouse. The food was delicious. Breakfasts were eggs, hoppers, and delicious breads. Dinners were a variety of delicious Sri Lanka meals prepared expertly by Ajith's wife, Mutu.

I cannot recommend this place enough. It's a small property but with great amenities and service, at a reasonable price. STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This place is hidden away from busy roads, in a peaceful part of the big village that is Habarana. The house and garden are very pleasant. The food was by far the best we had in Sri Lanka, i still dream of the coconut and honey noodle pancakes... We went to Sigiriya by tic-tuc and to Kaudula National Park, not in a tuc-tuc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Very recommend this place to stay.It is very clean,comfortable, calm and very-very nice.We had absolutely fantastic breakfast. The owner very friendly and helpful and he try to make us feel as at home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bora_bora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Imagine a clean and comfortable room, in a lovely tropical villa with a garden filled with all sorts of tropical fruit trees;add a charming village where everyone greets you and where you can buy hoppers and other delicacies;then meet the owner Rajit and his sweet and shy wife!Now you have the perfect combination for a few days of supreme peace while discovering the natural and archeological beauties of this amazing region in Sri Lank. If in doubt, talk to Rajit anf his genuine enthusiasm and deep felt friendship will win you over.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samanmali s, Owner at Mutu Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thanks so much about very positive comments about my place.
Hope we can see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
1.6 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 9 in Habarana
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
1.4 mi away
Amba Sewana Resort
Amba Sewana Resort
#3 of 38 in Habarana
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutu Village

Address: Kashyapagama, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Habarana
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mutu Village 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will not be disappointed. .we at Mutu Village take care you.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mutu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing