We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay room but food a real disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Habarana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Habarana Inn
Ranked #19 of 35 Habarana B&B and Inns
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Okay room but food a real disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

There are not a lot of budget places in this area so the choices are limited. We liked the price and hoped we could get good advice from the owner regarding visiting sites in the area as so many places are tied into the highest cost excursions.

The manager, Heidi, was indeed nice and pointed to a neat walk behind their place that led to a lake and a place where elephants give rides but she never pushed anything on us so that was appreciated. The room was pretty basic but nothing to complain about and the garden was a nice setting.

Our problem was with dinner which was not worth what we paid compared to almost anywhere else we stayed in Sri Lanka this past several weeks. I had noodles with prawns for 900 SR and it was not very tasty and the "prawns" were about as small as could be. My wife had fried chicken for 850 and the two very small pieces of chicken were dry and tough with mostly bone and skin.

I don't begrudge guest houses simply trying to rise to the higher price standard that areas close to major attractions support, but all I can say is that our evening meal and the breakfast with one egg in the morning was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am really sorry that you didn't like our food. But I have to tell you that our rice and curries are delicious. We have now a different company that delivers chicken with a lot of meat on. Kind regads Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    13
    17
    6
See reviews for
12
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and we were welcomed by Heidi, the very friendly owner. She had great advice what to see in the environment and she was an excellent help. Room was nice and quiet, located in the back of the garden.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RosanneV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I like meeting new people from all over the world. It was a pleasure meeting you! Kind regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a lovely little place. It needs a bit of TLC but Heidi and the staff are working very hard to improve it. We had one of the rooms out the back with a deck overlooking the gardens. We sat out side and saw a mongoose, squirrels, lizards etc. Very pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The food was great even when power went off cooked us dinner. Heidi organized our safari and suggested we go up the rock next to Sigiriya Rock as it was 200R per person as opposed to 3800R. We took photos of the loads people walking up as we sat there with 2 others. She has lots of local knowledge and happy to share it. We enjoyed our stay here and it needs some cosmetic improvements but you can't fault the friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: One of the rooms out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. This building is 20 years old. I am aware of the fact that this place need some renovation but I can't do anything about it because I am renting this place. The garden is the habitat for many animals. I am happy that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure having you here.
Kind regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It's one of the cheapest places in town and is pretty basic, but Heidi (Belgian owner) is really helpful and friendly. She doesn't try to sell you anything and is more than happy to point you in the right direction.

If you're on a budget it's perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is my pleasure of guiding and helping you so you can enjoy this beautiful country at the most. kind regards, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the tariff for bed and breakfast was 3000Rs. It was a fan room to the side of the restaurant, not in the garden area. The room was basic, just a bed, mozzie net, mirror and table with a concrete bathroom and cold shower. There was a lot of ants in the bathroom. The breakfast is the normal sweet, dry white toast, jam, butter and a fried egg with a pot of tea and a glass of cordial. The restaurant is lovely and you can get wifi in there, it is nice to sit and have a drink or pot of tea although the rice and curry was very expensive at around 900Rs, but very nice. The owner is friendly and welcoming and likes to talk to her guests. She is great at organising trips to the national park, even on short notice. The hotel offers a lot of excursions but is not pushy and they will help you organise what you want to do and your onward travel. It is the cheapest place to stay in Habarana but in our minds it needs to offer more to charge 3000Rs a night. It is the most expensive room we have rented in the whole of Sri Lanka and by far not one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for review. I rent this place so I can't change many things about the rooms without the approval of the owners. But what I can change, I will improve. To help you in having a great holiday here in this beautiful country is my pleasure.
kind regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the peace and quiet of our garden room verandah, we watched delightful birds, a giant squirrel, a mongoose, chipmunks and monkeys. We pitied the people staying at the 5 star hotel next door, as they endured abysmal late night karaoke. Perhaps you get what you pay for !!
Heidi was really kind and helpful. At very short notice she organised a jeep safari to Minneryia.
Really good bus access to Sygiryia and Dambulla from right outside.

Room Tip: Our garden room was away from street noise and had a lovely veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizard77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes,Our garden is very beautiful. You can observe many animals here.Thank you for coming to The Habarana Inn.
Kind regards, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stood in the guesthouse for three nights and enjoyed it a lot.
Heidi, the Belgian manager, welcomed us very friendly. We hab a nice bungalow in a great natural garden.
All the staff were pleasant and the food very delicious.

We felt very confortable and honestly recommend the guesthouse.

The location is also great to go sightseeing at Anuradhapura, Sigiriya, Polunnaruwa and Dambulla.

Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, General Manager at Habarana Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your review!! It was our pleasure of having you here in Habarana. We are happy that you like this beautiful country Sri Lanka. With tropical greetings, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Habarana hotels
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.3 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
0.5 mi away
Mutu Village
Mutu Village
#1 of 35 in Habarana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagle's Wings Guest House
Eagle's Wings Guest House
#6 of 35 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habarana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habarana Inn

Property: Habarana Inn
Address: Dambulla Road, Habarana 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the cross roads to all historical cities in srilanka, Habarana inn is ideally situated at the heart of Habarana.We at Habarana inn are committed to provide all our valuable patrons an unmatched service right throughout their stay.Our establishment is tailor made to suit all your travel requirements.Four rooms are fully air conditioned along with all amenities.The restaurant can cater all your dietary requirements.We also arrange elephant rides and jeep safaries to all major wild life parks in the neighboorhood.Come and visit one of the very first and well established hotels in Habarana. I am happy to announce that we have purchased new mattrasses so you will sleep peacefully. (July 18 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Habarana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing