We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK buffet food - but check that it's hot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACME Seafood Restaurant

ACME Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 17 Restaurants in Habarana
Cuisines: Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marlow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK buffet food - but check that it's hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stopped here for a late lunch. Buffet with several supposedly heated dishes for you to help yourselves - but when we got the food back to the table it was at best tepid (the rice was cold). Complaining to the waitress, she went round to find that most of the burners under the food dishes had blown out.

Having said that, our curries were good and spicy/chilli hot, with a small selection of sweets.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    25
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our driver also took us to this restaurant for the evening, we were pretty much the only guests there so the staff were attentive. We went for the Sri Lankan curry which was really good and enjoyable, we didn't have any qualms with the restaurant

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hj_freespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not too bad not that friendly , food ok, would rather the restaurant opposite who made us very welcome in the evening, the name escapes me but it is dead opposite and the owner is called Nimahl. He will also arrange a safari for you to see the elephants

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth avoiding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Like others, our driver took us there. Wish we'd read the reviews first. Our kids pasta with tomato was inedible, my veg biryani had no biryani and my wife's pasta was too salty. The best we can say is our kids enjoyed the gold fish while we waited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Buffet lunch was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Quite a good and cheap alternative to lunch at your hotel and the food was very good. When we went the chef was on hand to explain what was in each of the dishes and which were very spicy (= hot!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ACME Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Habarana, North Central Province
Habarana, North Central Province
 
Habarana, North Central Province
Habarana, North Central Province
 
Habarana, North Central Province
Habarana, North Central Province
 

Been to ACME Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing