We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that many elephants”

Kaudulla National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.25*
and up
Private Tour: Kaudulla National Park Safari
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Not that many elephants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I suppose other reviewers have been lucky to see herds of elephants; we saw only a few solitary ones on our "safari". It was OK, just not the true elephant safari we expected. Perhaps it's the wrong season, not sure. You can get a jeep from Ponnolaruwa for about R4000 per person all included.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayzen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    102
    31
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Land of the Giants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Best place to see Elephants in large herds and lovely picturesque forest.

If you intent to hire a jeep for the safari ask the driver about sightings of Elephants in the area and then decide which National Park to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohanj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
219 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Our best experience in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Sri Lanka. We spent almost half a day here. We went there in the afternoon after lunch on a open top jeep. The jeep was exclusively rented for us.

We spotted many elephants in herds, maybe 200 to 300 elephants in total. We also spotted an Owl, Peacocks, and many other birds. We were expecting many more animals. Maybe Minneriya is much better in terms of wildlife variety.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank webgenius_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habarana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“''Great view and Perfect for bird watching''”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Elephants stay in ''Kaudulla'' only for a couple of months,like in November-December will be the best time of year to see Elephants, but many birds and other animals like deers, fox, wild boars,etc... are always there. You will not be disappointed...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rukmal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loads of elephants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lots of really interesting birds, about 70 elephants near the lake shore, helpful driver. Sadly not many other animals but a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaudulla National Park also viewed

Habarana, North Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
Habarana, North Central Province
 

Been to Kaudulla National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing