We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly people, guesthouse could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Rated according to the price paid.
This is apparently a relatively recent addition to the Habarana offerings and the guesthouse has only a few rooms. Neat & tidy & cheap at around $30 Aust a night plus meals. The setting is actually great, off the road & fronting a garden of fruit trees & palms it is very peaceful. The rooms have hot water (although not much pressure), a big “asian-hard bed" and a good verandah to enjoy a quiet sit & drink. However drainage of the shower is poor & our driver is less than impressed with the organisation of his accommodation-apparently it is actually the cooks quarters. The soundproofing between rooms could also be improved. The night meals (curries, noodles etc) are very tasty and well prepared, served at the time nominated & served by smiling friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dishant, Manager at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Sir,It was indeed our pleasure having you here and thank you for your review with the recommendations on TripAdvisor.
Actually, we always try our best to offer a good service to our guests. We will check with the hot water shower.
We normally give logging and meal for free of charge for drivers. We cannot give them a room with qualities like we give for our guests and the impression varies from person to person. Some drivers are very annoying and some are very decent and friendly and are very satisfied with the logging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and on both nights the shower heater was only working intermittently. On the first night we were told that the problem will be resolved the next day but it was not. Temperature at night hovers below 20C so showering without hot water was not a good experience. This was quite a letdown as we specifically requested for rooms with hot shower. The rooms are relatively big and clean. However do note that at night there are lots of mosquitoes and other insects so do bring along your insect repellent. I think the owner is aware of this therefore mosquitoes coil and net are provided in the room. You really need it.There is no restaurant nearby but the staffs are friendly and more than happy to cook up a nice Sri Lankan meal at your request. Read about the hospitality of the owner but did not get to meet him on my trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rejuvenate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dishant, Owner at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

First of all, we apologies for the inconvenience you suffered. We have already rectified the problem in our hot water supply system. We thank for your comment on the cleanness, spacious rooms and the meals. We have determined to observe this kind problem toughly in-order to avoid repetition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Grand Meaulnes.
We arrived quite tired from our day, walking all the stairs up to Dambulla caves and Sigiriya.
Just the time to take a shower and our dinner was ready, so the kids could be in bed not too late.
The dinner was excellent. People are really helpful, the dad speaks french.
Enjoy your stay at Le Grand Meaulnes as much as we did.
Marie

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dishant, Manager at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for your review on our bungalow located in the Cultural Triangle , it was a pleasure to host your family at our property. We appreciate your feedback on the place and the foods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed one night and had a very good stay. The rooms are very big, clean. It is very nice to sit on the porch and have a drink after a long day of travelling. Paul is very helpful and good to talk to. They can arrange anything you ask.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaLine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dishant, Owner at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Le Grand Meaulnes Holiday bungalow, we hope that you will return for a second visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Wow! What a place! It was hard to find a reasonable accommodation in Habarana and I got very few replies to my emails from the guesthouse owners in Habarana. But one of the replies came from the owner of Le Grand Meaulnes, a very pleasant person living in Colombo, who called me twice just for asking if we are feeling well treated and telling us that everything we need can be arranged. But the administrator of the guesthouse was the person who made our stay so nice- he cooked a very good food for us and told us a lot of stories about Sri Lanka.
We've also arranged our safari trip through the guesthouse and it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dishant, Owner at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Hi,
Thank you very much for your review about our bungalow. Hope that you returned safely and enjoyed in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. Although the owner wasn't there for the days we were, we very expertly looked after by Peter. And between the two of them they organised trips for us very successfully. They have a car and driver for people staying to use and it is a great place for being close to all the Cultural Triangle sites.
The food was really yummy here, and you should definitely try some of their squeezed lime juice!!
The room was fantastic, really large, smart and quite modern - looked really classy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiToCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Habarana Holiday Resort for 3 nights in August and really enjoyed it. Habarana is a good basis for visiting the cultural triangle, located not further than 1 hour-drive from all sites.
Our room was spacious and clean, with mosquito net plus coils provided by the staff.
We had dinner there for the 3 nights, and the staff got us to try a variety of Sri Lankan food, which we all enjoyed: it was much and it was good. So was the breakfast. All meals are served outdoor, right in front of the garden. DIshant and the other staffs are extremely friendly and wam (sometimes even too much!).
Be aware, though, that if you are travelling with a driver, he will be most likely asked to pay for his accommodation, which, according to ours (who was aked 500 Rs per night) is not a common practice at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lucapaolo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Habarana hotels
1.4 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
1.3 mi away
Mutu Village
Mutu Village
#1 of 47 in Habarana
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dudley Guest House
Dudley Guest House
#5 of 59 in Habarana
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amba Sewana Resort
Amba Sewana Resort
#2 of 47 in Habarana
86 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oak Ray Elephant lake
Oak Ray Elephant lake
#6 of 9 in Habarana
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Address: Green Path | Trincomalee Road, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Habarana
Price Range: $21 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dreams a reality while holidaying with your family and friends at Habarana in Sri Lanka. Le Grand Meaulnes Holiday Bungalow is situated in a 2 acre land with coconut and fruit cultivation. Besides, full of trees and brushes you may feel the cool and windy climate though it belongs to the dry climatic area. Habarana is probably the best destination for safari, wildlife, bird watching, nature lovers and situated in the centre of Sri Lankan cultural triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing