We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorowwa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Newcastle, Austrlia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truely magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself, husband and parents spent 3 nights at Sorowwa in Feb 2013. Could not recommend highly enough. The rooms were clean and well presented. The staff excellent and the surrounds amazing. After long days out on the dusty roads in the hot sun it was a pleasure to return to this oasis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiCNewcaslte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    91
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
101
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to visit the major cultural and historical highlights of Sri Lanka. The room (including the attached toilet) was spacious and clean. Service was personal and friendly. As there are no other dining options nearby, we had dinner in the hotel which we did not regret as the buffet dinner was delightfully stocked and quality was good overall. There was a also a scrumptious spread for breakfast.

The resort is near a lake where you can go for walks/ take elephant rides around the bank of the lake if you so choose. My view is that the elephant rides are terribly overpriced compared to similar rides you can enjoy in India/Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved our stay at Sorowwa with its comfortable spacious rooms, lovely tranquil surroundings and excellent service provided by the staff. It is a quiet place to relax and enjoy the surrounding wetlands, natural vegetation and lake view. We could watch from our balcony the tourists on their elephant safaris passing by the whole day. We stayed 2 nights there, breakfasts included in our stay. There is no nearby places to eat which is within walking distance hence we had lunch and 2 dinners there as well. The breakfast and dinner buffets had quite a good selection of both local and international cuisine. I like the omelet station at breakfast and the vast variety of delicious fresh fruits served with the meals. There was also a live band playing in the evening. Toiletries and fluffy towels are provided along with 2 bottles of complimentary water, a kettle for making your own coffee and tea (sachets provided). We enjoyed our Dilmah tea at the balcony. The aircon was a bit loud, otherwise the room is perfect. We enjoyed our walks each morning before breakfast at the surrounding areas where we saw lots of birds (cormorants, snake birds, kingfishers, egrets), lotus flowers in bloom, a mongoose, buffaloes grazing. What a treat !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were given the VIP room, right at the top floor overlooking the swimming pool, having a view of a rocky terrain and a nearby village. A clean, peaceful hotel with good food n friendly staff. An ideal hotel for a family with young children who love elephant rides. Room was spacious...having a living area n a dining area. The toilets (2) were clean (tho' there was a dead lizard n we got it removed upon checking in). The 4 poster bed with clean sheet was comfortable. Its an ideal hotel for a family who wishes to take their kids to be close to nature...views of a great sunset, a lake, a small village depicting scenes of simple lifestyle of people and elephants taking people for rides around the lake. Lobby was open & spacious to get a good view of the sunset, the lake and the elephant rides. In the morning we got to see monkeys atop the roof of the opposite block. Location : Close to Sigiriya.Our trip was arranged through Miraculous Travel House, contact Sharon or our guide/driver, Mr. Gayan (+94722590904)

Room Tip: Request for the VIP room. Make sure the windows are kept closed all the time as otherwise you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalvirBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort for three nights and had a very comfortable, spacious room with a balcony overlooking a lake. The highlight of the view was that the overflow outlet to the lake flowed into a lily pond adjacent to the hotel and that local villagers and children swam here and did their laundry in the early evening. It was a lovely relaxing experience watching them from our balcony, as it seemed that they were having much more fun in this natural setting than the hotel guests were in the immaculate resort swimming pool. We could also watch the tourist laden elephants, departing on safaris every morning and and then heading out into the jungle each evening with their mahouts.

Our stay included breakfast and dinner each day and while it was obvious that the chef's had been trained in western hotels, we enjoyed the Sri Lankan menu choices much more than the western, especially the Sri Lankan omelettes and the red string hoppers.

This resort is a good base from which to visit the ancient royal cities/monasteries of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, the Sigirya Rock Fortress and also the Mihintale Rock Shrines and the Dambula Rock Cave Temple. It is like coming back to a little oasis every evening after the long, hot days spent visiting the significant sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Best experience. No word to describe the comfort elephant ride n view n elephant safari n hotel hospitality. 5 star. ...
The restaurant in the hotel had fantastic meals every day and service with a smile. Staff were very helpful n friendly. Lobby was big and facing the Lake and every hour you see elephant ride passing by. Just awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely place to relax and unwind. Rooms and service very good but food needs to improve...... Lovely location close to a lake. .... also in very close proximity to Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and the elephants of Minneriya. In short a really lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaan_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
14.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorowwa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorowwa Resort & Spa

Property: Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Address: Anuradhapura Road, Habarana 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sorowwa Resort & Spa is the latest addition to the hotels in Habarana. This 23 roomed boutique hotel overlooks the Habarana Lake. The hotel lobby commands a stunning view of the Lake and the route of Elephant Safaris. The hotel provides 24 hours room service and Restaurant service. Rooms are luxurious and provides a breathtaking view of the Lake and the the jungle beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sorowwa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorowwa Resort And Spa
Sorowwa Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing