We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Best experience. No word to describe the comfort elephant ride n view n elephant safari n hotel hospitality. 5 star. ...
The restaurant in the hotel had fantastic meals every day and service with a smile. Staff were very helpful n friendly. Lobby was big and facing the Lake and every hour you see elephant ride passing by. Just awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely place to relax and unwind. Rooms and service very good but food needs to improve...... Lovely location close to a lake. .... also in very close proximity to Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and the elephants of Minneriya. In short a really lovely experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaan_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best experience. No word to describe the comfort elephant ride n view n elephant safari n hotel hospitality. 5 star. ...
The restaurant in the hotel had fantastic meals every day and service with a smile. Staff were very helpful n friendly. Lobby was big and facing the Lake and every hour you see elephant ride passing by. Just awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a short stay at this resort. We had a loft room and my daughter enjoyed this facility. Rooms were facing beautiful lake with constant strong breeze. The staffs were very friendly to us. We were a group of seven families checked-in at late evening. When we requested to have a late dinner, they politely accepted our request and served us beyond 10 pm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudheerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had an enjoyable 4 day stay in this hotel and since my last stay here in 2011, was happy to note improvements in both the standard of service and food. The service provided by the staff (both reception and waiting staff) was good. They were friendly and helpful and I felt welcomed each time I arrived at the hotel from excursions.
The food was also great, much better than when I was there previously, with more variety and taste.I highly recommend the rooms facing the tank. They are not only well appointed but also come with a fantastic view. The large balconies are ideal to relax on.
Sorowwa resort is also conveniently located close to many historical and cultural attractions such as Minneriya, Polonnaruwa, Aukana etc and also to national parks such as Giritale and Kaudulla for those interested in wild life and safaris.
All in all a great place and one that I would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is beautiful the rooms large the staff outstanding and friendly the pool nice the view beautiful nice spa and gym very peaceful place to holiday the meals very good. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We liked this small hotel. The rooms are very good, the view from a terrace to the lake is amazing. We enjoyed the evening walk by the lake watching flowers, trees, birds and even domestic elephants. The food was good too. Both buffet and when not enough guests a la carte. I would not hesitate to return to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.9 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
66 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,648 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorowwa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorowwa Resort & Spa

Address: Anuradhapura Road, Habarana 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $101 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sorowwa Resort & Spa is the latest addition to the hotels in Habarana. This 23 roomed boutique hotel overlooks the Habarana Lake. The hotel lobby commands a stunning view of the Lake and the route of Elephant Safaris. The hotel provides 24 hours room service and Restaurant service. Rooms are luxurious and provides a breathtaking view of the Lake and the the jungle beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sorowwa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorowwa Resort And Spa
Sorowwa Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing