We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safari Experience”

Minneriya National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Jeep Safari Tour: Elephant Gathering Safari in Minneriya Park
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Sigiriya and Minneriya from Kandy
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Great Elephant Gathering Safari in Minneriya
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari Experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The safari experience in Minneriya as well as Kaudulla national parks is amazing - with the right guide and jeep safari company. I have been in the area several times now as I have been doing project work in the country for the past three years. The elephants move in groups in this area and the ideal time to see them in large numbers is when the water is receding in the large tanks or reservoirs and the new grass appears on which they feed - usually June-July, but it depends on the rains. All kinds of shore birds are also attracted to the sites at the same time. So you need a reliable guide to take you to the best places to see wildlife. We went out with Piya Special Green Track and saw more than 100 elephants in Kaudulla and thousands upon thousands of shore birds - species of pelican, heron, ibis, eagles, and many, many more. He has a lot of experience and respect for the wildlife and for nature - and he charges fair and honest prices. Contact him at piyaspecialgreentrack@yahoo.com +94 77 7918257 Thanks Piya for a wonderful experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    407
    140
    45
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Apparently the elephants were elsewhere”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I don't think Sri Lanka is quite geared up for safaris. All trucks travelled in convoy meaning only the people at the front saw anything. The guides seemed to be under the impression that we only wanted to see elephants,which unfortunately we didn't.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 119Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Must have seen 50 wild elephants up close. Cost £100 for 8 of us to hire two jeeps plus guides. Great value. Stunning park. Will never forget it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Elephant gathering is a must see !”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited Minneriya national park in Aug to witness the elephant gathering . We stayed at Chaaya village habarana which is about 30 mins from the park . The entire ride inside the park takes about 2-3 hours but your guaranteed of seeing hundreds of elephants in the wild . I think the gathering, happens only in Aug is a beautiful sight to see where elephants from all over gather near the lake . The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves . We spotted several calf's and one feeding off the mother .Living in Sri Lanka , I have seen hundreds of elephants and I didn't think I will enjoy this but it was a truely magical experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajikadesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This certainly has the WOW factor”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a marvellous safari into the national park. The jeep contained just us two, the driver and our guide and was an experience in itself, bumping over rough terrain and through water-filled mudholes. We were able to stand up and grip the bar, far more exciting than sitting. Our knowledgeable guide pointed out an abundance of wildlife, mainly vegetation, birds and, of course, wild elephants. We struck it lucky and saw around seventy at different times and in various groups, some with babies. On top of all this, the scenery was stunning. What a trip... and this was after coming straight off the plane from the UK and driving up from Colombo

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneriya National Park also viewed

Habarana, North Central Province
Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Minneriya National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing