We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decor is dated”
Review of Kouchi Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Kouchi Japanese Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“decor is dated”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been eating here for years, and nothing has changed , the decor, the staff, nor the japaneses pop music that they play. Every time I come here I feel like I just got out a time machine. Getting a bit dated.

Despite this the food is good and the service is good. Prices have increased lately.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NamalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A taste of Japan”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great sushi, Japanese style ambiance, decor, even Japanese contemporary music! Just to add to the atmosphere, staff clad in a Kimono sort of outfit greet you in Japanese as you enter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uglich, Russia
1 review
“good service hotel and best facilites”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

nice locatin with many varaity of food and friendly staff,rooms are in very good condition an hope to come back an spend my holiday again

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeni n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The service and quality and price of food. was good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Comparing to the other sushi bars in SL, its fine”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The food gets served pretty quick, the prices are pretty reasonable compared to all the other sushi bars, nihonbashi is pretty expensive, and I think the food tastes great. The restaurant also has some Japanese mangas for chldren, Japanese tv shows, japanese music, japanese-kimono-wearing-waitresses and..THE WHOLE RESTAURANT IS SO JAPANESE-LIKE! You know your in the land of sushi ;)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kouchi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sri Jayawardenepura, Western Province
Sri Jayawardenepura, Western Province
 
Sri Jayawardenepura, Western Province
Sri Jayawardenepura, Western Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing