We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Returned !”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We've been before. We're both quite particular and the place ticked all the boxes, so we returned and were not disappointed. It's a pity the bloke in an earlier review didn't receive a better response to his apparently legitimate complaint about the bright light outside his room during the night - could have been better handled. However, we have been fortunate on our visits to not have reason to mention anything to the staff. All staff were excellent, but special mention to the young woman who waited our table throughout our stay - she may have been the head waiter and if not, should be! Everything is welcoming and spick and span - rooms, public areas, grounds, swimming pool and staff, from reception right through to cleaners.
Visit Alnwick for the amazing gardens and Barter Books for the equally amazing former railway station bookshop.
I'm looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: We poke our noses into bedrooms when they're being cleaned in the mornings and didn't see a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmblerBonnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
There are newer reviews for Doxford Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here at the end of July for the weekend as a surprise treat for my wife. Advised to check in after 12 so got there early afternoon, friendly welcome from the staff who took our cases up to our Executive room which was Spacious and superbly tastefully decorated to match the northumberland surroundings with rooms named after places. Nice big comfortable bed, Beautiful Bathroom with large roll top bath and separate japanese style shower enclosure and all facilities expected with a quality hotel.
Headed down to the spa facilities which are in the basement,there is a steam room, sauna, two jacuzzis and a pool.
My wife then went for an hour's treatment of a facial followed by a body massage which she said was good, while she was in there I checked out the gym which was upstairs. This was probably the only area which could be improved due to it's small size and only one cross trainer/rower/ treadmill and stepper but there is a big tv in there to watch while you work out. I was told there is plans to upgrade the gym facilities but if you really want to run while you are there, the hotel is in a quiet rural location so you could go for a run outside.
On the evening we went for a few beers in the bar before our three course meal in the restaurant. Good choice of beers available including a swiss lager which I have never come across before called 1936 it was crisp and refreshing and the wine we had with meal was good too.
The service and food was First Class. I had scallops with chorizo for starters followed by with a saddle of rabbit with black pudding for main (all meat and fish locally sourced too) fresh vegetables selection side order and to finish off we had a taster of desserts which simply melted in the mouth.
Settled in the lounge area for a few Nightcaps which had a nice relaxing chilled atmosphere to it as there was a wedding party in there having a few last drinks before the big day ahead tomorrow.
Slept well in the large Queen sized comfy bed. Went down for breakfast (the hotel also can get you a Sunday Newspaper ordered to your room) and the food for breakfast was top quality and locally sourced again I had the full english while my wife had the pancakes with maple syrup.
After going for a walk in the grounds including the maze (fun to do) we had another few hours in the spa before heading home.
Overall we had a lovely break everything was great and will definitely go back again, went home feeling nice and refreshed.Would recommend this hotel
Big thank you to all the staff who were excellent

Room Tip: I would bet that all the rooms are of superb quality, if I said we had the "Alnwick (14)"...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulandLesleyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Doxford Hall is set in beautiful grounds surrounded by lovely countryside. The hall itself is very impressive, nicely decorated and filled with superb furniture.
Our bedroom was very comfortable although not quite as big as we had expected and the bathroom was well appointed and quite large. What a pity that with such a large bathroom the shower, which was powerful and good, was over the bath and getting in and out was a bit of a trial for us elderly and arthritic. A walk in shower is much more acceptable.
Dinner was of a high standard although a bit over elaborate sometimes with all the extra touches and breakfast was very good.
Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing and we found the staff to be extremely helpful and efficient. A big asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My mum and I spent an enjoyable day in the spa, having been a few times before we knew what to expect. Arriving at 9.30am whem it opened, meant we were lucky enough to have the whole pool to ourselves for the first hour. There are two jacuzzis, we had a swim in the pool and there is also a steam room. Just as well we were there first as because of the pool layout, there are only four lounger beds to lie on, the rest of the furniture being upright plastic chairs.

We both had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was very good, with a choice of massage oil.

The two course lunch was the highlight of the day, in the well appointed restaurant with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts. I opted for a starter of terrine of ham hock and pigeon and a main of pork with a herb crust, both delicious. The service was excellent.

Thanks for a great day - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Suzy3637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding and our party had booked 3 double rooms. We were told by the bride that arrangements had been made for us to access our rooms at 10am. Unfortunately, on arrival rooms were not ready. This was apparently due to a mix up with the wedding planner. Two of us had luckily showered prior to leaving the previous hotel and I managed to change in the toilets. That left four of us not showered or dressed for a wedding that was starting at 1.30pm.
Having said this Staff did endeavour to provide a shower room in order for us to get ready but hairdryers etc were not available. We were unable to get into our rooms until much later and therefore it was not the relaxing start to the day that we had envisaged.
Having had a difficult start, once we reached our rooms they were lovely. We all had a whirlpool bath (which all of our family enjoyed) and spacious rooms. We were all happy with the accommodation and the grounds were beautiful. The wedding was fantastic and service good and we all had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour. We all enjoyed a lovely breakfast the next morning which was included in the price we had paid. (Unless you added salmon which my son decided he would like!)
The only let down, I felt, was the spa. In no way did it match the quality and luxury of the hotel. This needs some updating.
The communal seating areas are lovely and relaxing and all in all a peaceful and comfortable place.
Our eldest son visited Alnwick castle and gardens on the Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were lovely and all had whirlpool baths. Not sure if this is standard th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our second trip to Doxford Hall this year as we enjoyed our experience so much,the rooms are spacious with fabulous bathrooms,and the overall atmosphere in the hotel is restful and chilled.Starting our visit this time was afternoon tea in the morning room ,followed later by a meal and a few drinks in the bar ,so peaceful and a feeling that the staff were there just to make your stay the very best.

We can heartily recommend the Doxford Hall to anyone wanting a country retreat ,whether it's for a family or a couple

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trickydickycars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent 3 nights here to explore Northumberland. This is a fabulous hotel which has been lovingly and sympathetically restored. There are lots of comfy lounges to relax in and the bedrooms are of a very spec. Ours had a whirlpool bath! We had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant and the breakfasts were of a high standard. Best of all however were the staff who were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrummieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
23.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range: $161 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing