We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I first discovered Casa Don Carlos when renting a BMW adventure bike through GS Heaven over 5 years ago. I now go back every year in the winter partly to enjoy riding in Andalucia but just as much to relax in the perfectly peaceful Casa Don Carlos. Everything about the guesthouse has been carefully thought about and the place is kept spotless every time I visit. Carlos cooking is delightful without ever being pretentious and the company is always good. If you want to use Casa Don Carlos as a base to explore Andalucia it is perfect but beware, you will want to make time to enjoy the guest house just as much as all the wonderful places you can see within just a days touring.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Don't worry about which way they face as you will want to get out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
170
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Carlo and Ronald are without a doubt worthy of the awards they are getting. They're attention to detail is second to none and the hospitality they provide is heartwarming. Especially noteworthy is the fantastic view making it thoroughly enjoyable to just hang around the B&B all day long. As such, there is no doubt that we will be returning to Casa Don Carlos in the near future whilst also promoting the B&B to all our friends and family. All in all a truly spectacular location to spend one's vacation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmijnHerruer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay in August 2012, 2 adults and 2 children. What a fabulous time we had. The view from the house is spectacular. The house is wonderful with 6 bedrooms. Due to the fantastic weather other than our rooms which were very comfortable we spent most of our time outside looking out at the view or sunbathing by the pool, but I can imagine in the winter months the dining table and comfortable sofas and log fire would be most welcoming.

The free WIFI was a real bonus and also the availability of pool towels was a bonus. Also air conditioning in the bedrooms was necessary as it was hot weather.

Donald and Carlo were the perfect hosts who speak very good English. I was particulary impressed with their attention to detail in everything that they do and their choice of decor was lovely.

The breakfast choice was good with the option of eggs and was taken outside on the patio infront of the outside kitchen. The honesty bar is a great idea with lots of choice of cold drinks and wine and beer and also you can have a choice of teas and there is fresh coffee machine. The children were very happy with the ice-creams!

The evening meal we had with other guests and Donald and Carlo on the 1st night which they cooked for us was very good and sitting there in the evening outside sipping our cold wine, eating the deliciously prepared food with good company, looking out at the view with the twinkling lights is something my family and I will remember for many years to come.

As they do not cook on a Sunday evening (as they have a well-earned night off!) on the 2nd night we ate in the town approximately 20 minutes away, there are roughly 30 restaurants to choose from and Ronald and Carlos were on hand to advise us and we opted for a very good Indian Restaurant. We then went across the street to a wonderful homemade ice cream shop.

We had spent 2 weeks on the coast which we enjoyed very much with family but when we arrived at the house by taxi it was really peaceful which was what we were looking for to finish off the end of our holiday. I guess most people would arrive by hire car so that they can make the most of travelling around and exploring the area.The property is close to the airport which was ideal.

We would highly recommend this guesthouse/B&B to everyone, I can imagine if you were travelling on your own it would be ideal also. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say this was a wonderful place to stay.

We will definitely be back!! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just back from our 7 day stay plus GS1200 bike rental - absolutely faultless! Each day started with a relaxed breakfast (large selection to choose from) and then a days biking. Dinner is an event not to be missed - Carlo & Ronald's attention to detail is very impressive and their guest service is second to none. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights in February. Carlo and Ronald know exactly how to be superb hosts. From the welcoming drinks sitting looking at that fantastic view, ensuring that they are there to provide an excellent breakfast (including perfect boiled eggs if you want one) to having a lovely fire burning in the sitting room where you can read or watch the TV. They speak excellent English and are happy to help with plans and routes for touring the region.
As others have said it is wonderful to have a meal with Carlo, Ronald and the other guests which really gives you the chance to get to know new people. And the food was great too!
Rooms are quite small but airy as the roof is high. Beds were comfortable and warm. Bathrooms are cosy but spotless and well appointed. There is no TV or kettle in the rooms. You go to the separate breakfast room where there is a honesty bar with a wide selection of drinks and tea and coffee. This might be a problem in bad weather but certainly was not for us this time.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Casa Don Carlos to anyone wanting a comfortable alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spiral2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balen
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Whe where here for the second time and this time we stayed 1 night at the b&b did make a tour to marocco for 8 days and stayed again 1 night at the b&b,greaat hosts,nice accomodation and easy trip to and from the airport with carlo&ronald,great!!
see you next year for an other trip
michel&heidi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

a great place to be! outstanding service and quality; value for money! good food; possibilty to have dinner together with all the other guests. very cosy and great to meet new people, if you want. clean rooms every day. the guys do a great job! check it out yourself!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhaurin el Grande
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Alhaurin el Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
24.3 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
L'escala Hotel
L'escala Hotel
#1 of 15 in Mijas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dos Iberos Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Dos Iberos Luxury Bed & Breakfas...
#2 of 12 in Alhaurin el Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa de Orange
Casa de Orange
#4 of 12 in Alhaurin el Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos

Property: B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos
Address: Avenida Constitucion 071, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast & More... Is located on a panoramic spot in Andalusia, facing Althaurin el Grande (Malaga). It has a breath-taking view over the hillside, giving you an intense sense of peace. Beside creating a warm and cosy atmosphere we try to make everyone feel at home, we offer more: lunch, dinner with the hosts, massage, greenfees, motorcycle rental... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing