We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inland beauty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inland beauty.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live close to the hotel and golf course.The surrounding countryside is very pleasant on the eye. The mountains are covered in trees.,The area is very green, something we did not expect in the sunniest part of spain. The golf course is challenging, because it is carved out of the mountains.You have to hire a golf cart to really appreciate how well it was designed by Sevi Balasteros.The hotel is comfortable with good sized bedrooms.We regularly dine at the restauarant and have never had a bad meal in the past 10 years, service has always been good.The golf club is very attractive with great views over the golf course.For people who are into horse riding, there is a stable close to the hotel called Juan Barracal, you just follow the signs for Finca Lamota which incidently is a quaint small hotel next door to the stables. Alhaurin Golf Hotel is ideal for you if you enjoy good food,good service, you enjoy mountain scenary, and you want to relax and you only want to be 20 minutes drive from the seaside town of La cala de Mijas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
64
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel because of its quiet location in the hills near Mijas. It was the ideal place to stay. When we saw 4 stars we thought this was the place for us. It was really comfortable and most of the staff were friendly. Everything was neat and clean. Major drawback was that there was no bar or restaurant facilities for those staying at the hotel. Some of the guests, including myself, had a meeting with the manager, Mr. Soto, and complained of these basic lack of facilities. We were informed that there was staff layoffs and no one could be employed in the bar/restaurant. Something to do with their labour laws. The dispensing machines for juices, water, etc, broke down so we had to go the petrol station close by to stock up with refreshments. They eventually opened the bar for coffees, wines beers etc. This would be kept open for 10 days from 2.pm. to 6.pm. We had beautiful food each evening in the Golf Pavilion which we had to be transported to. This hotel was quiet and relaxing except for paper thin ceilings where you could hear somebody above you going to the toilet etc.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, it will be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marypatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Alhaurin Golf Hotel while on a reconnaissance mission ahead of our impending move to Spain. A perfectly pleasant hotel, it's very comfortable with large, clean, airy rooms and only a short drive from the golf course and clubhouse across the road and through the complex.
I didn't play the course, but it's got a reputation as a toughie, but the hotel's a great spot to use as a base to play this course and a few others locally.
The staff are friendly, although the discounted half board price we got included buffet-style dinners, which were considerably less appetising than the a la carte menu food appeared. There is a plentiful buffet breakfast too.
A large pool area and comfortable lounges inside make this a decent three-star. It's a couple of miles outside the fairly busy little town and 15 minutes drive from the airport and coast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nealbutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I visited this hotel in March 2012. Nice big rooms and big terrace, Huge bathrooms. service is OK. Breakfast and Restaurant as well. Very good prices in spring/winter season. Take care with valuables in the car, several robberies have been reported during my stay. The Golf court is 5 mintues by car, not directly on site. However it is nice and in good shape. Good offers as well in spring / inclluding buggy and lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Wales
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at this hotel at the end of April and were very happy with the standard and the service we received during our short visit. Good sized rooms, spotlessly clean and an excellent breakfast.

When we had arrived at our next accommodation my wife found that her pink leather sandals were missing and remembered that she had left them at the side of the bed when packing. Our fault, I know!

As it was less than 24 hours since we left, she immediately telephoned the hotel and asked the receptionist if the cleaner had found them. She was told that nothing had been found but that we would be called back after investigating. Disappointlingly, she was not called back and after two attempts to call back, the receptionist said that the cleaner had found the sandals "by the bin" and had thrown them away!

After 2 exchanges of e-mails the receptionist confirmed that when items are left, they keep them for 12 months and even post them on to customers. So why was this not followed in this case?

We have had an offer to stay at the hotel if we get back but we have no plans to travel to this area in the foreseeable future so we have asked for an alternative suggestion. Since then, it has gone quiet.

As I say it is a good hotel and we are disappointed that our short visit ended this way.

If staying, just make sure you double check that you have not left anything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a small but comfortable hotel situated next to the Alhaurin Golf development. We stumbled upon it in May while exploring Costa del Sol and decided to stay there when we returned in September. The hotel is very Spanish in its decoration. The room is quite large, the breakfast is great and the lounges are comfortable. A visit to the Club House of Alhaurin Golf is a must as the stunning beauty of the mountains and valleys surrounding the Club took our breath away. The drive to Mijas is only ten minutes but it was a hair raising drive along a high cliff with many bends. Mijas Pueblo has a lot to offer. We still can't get over the cheap price of Euro $13 for a three course meal which quality is comparable to that of a 5- star hotel in Australia. With the Euro tumbling, it is even cheaper now. Look for the restaurant run by the Canadian - I can't remember the name but the locals will be able to help you find it. If you want to get away from the mad crowds in the coast, or are lovers of mountains and golf, this would be the place for you. The towns of Alhaurin El Grande and Coin are only about 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conniemcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel was very friendly basic and perfect for a few days playing golf. The golf course is one of the most difficult in Spain set in the mountain, make sure you have lots of balls as it is almost impossible not to lose 4. The course in mid september was full of divers and impossible to walk unless you are an athlete. The marshal was very unfriendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suesie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhaurin el Grande
2.6 mi away
Apart-Hotel La Palmera
Apart-Hotel La Palmera
#4 of 4 in Alhaurin el Grande
23 reviews
4.7 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
6.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
#15 of 37 in Fuengirola
186 reviews
4.4 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort

Property: Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
Address: Calle 3. 4, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort is located just a few steps from Costa del Sol, in an exclusive setting in the mountains and just at some minutes drive from the beach, Malaga, Marbella, Fuengirola, Benalmadena or Mijas. This resort includes magnificent facilities including 38 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, gardens, 3 function rooms, 18-hole golf course designed by Severiano Ballesteros, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, Club House, Caddy Masters, Pro Shop, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, gym, sauna and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing