We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic and good value”

Restaurante Bar Sardina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurang Sardina Alhaurin el Grande Spain
Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“authentic and good value”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dined here a few times and think it's an authentic local Spanish eaterie.

There's usually sport on the TV and plenty of locals at the front bar. This week we ate in the restaurant area at the back. TV sport on this occasion was evening football with local club Malaga playing somebody. Bar full of locals shouting on their team n we were the only diners in the restaurant.

We both had fixed 2 course menu at 19 Euro each. Lobster salad to start - very nice, plenty of lobster mixed with mayonaise on a bed of lettuce. Then sea bass for mains - 2 nice fillets each :-) with chips n veggies. Strangely, for a 2 course menu, the dessert was included but we had coffees instead.

Service was efficient and reasonably pleasant.

No complaints. Good quality food nicely cooked and presented,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eccobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The real Spain”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A typical Spanish bar/restaurant. The tapas are excellent as is the food. Excellent menu and staff very helpful. in the dining room, there is more atmosphere.One not to miss. Eat in the bar our outside, not

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good - but could do better”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lovely place in the centre of town. We booked a table on the night of the festival for Assumption. As such the street surrounding were very busy. Our timing was poor as the procession started as we ordered our meal. I feel that this delayed service as chef and others were outside watching the event!
Waitress was helpful if not a little abrupt - get the feeling she needs a new challenge.
Menu was extensive and I felt slightly cheaper than similar establishments.
Food was average for that of Alhurain and meats were not of the quality I would expect.
Restaurant did get very busy and very popular with the Spanish on this evening.
So, nothing overly bad, just could be a little better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyNorthener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been eating at this place for several years now. It's great food and good value. Excellent for families. Visited again this week and they did not disappoint. The tapas is very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was my mission having eaten here on the 10th of August to write a suitable review when I got home. Could not believe what i was reading, was this the same resurant?
Staff were so attentive they sorted out a table for 6 before we asked, the waitress was a godsend, suggesting we didnt need 2 starters, one was more than big enough to share! Was quite happy when I found out there was veal on the menu and I changed my mind. I even asked for it to be cooked a bit more, no problem. My husbands leg of lamb was enourmas, my ddaughters curry lovely, the fillet steak divine and the pork and beef kebabs were more than enough for the recipients. I only wish we had found the resturant on the first and not the last night of our holidays. Only downside is that we gave up on our daughters pancake as it was so late.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laidbackworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar Sardina also viewed

Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Sardina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing