We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alhaurin el Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent two nights at Casa de Laila at the end of September, the end of a trip around western Andalusia. What can I say! I am not sure what part of the phase glamping Benjamin and Anna Marie don't understand but this is definitely not glamping by any stretch of the imagination. We have camped around England and in France and I have never experienced shower and toilet facilities like the ones here, they are appalling. The tents are poorly equipped with home made futons and inadequate mattresses. My own camping inflatable mattress is much more comfortable than the ones here. It rained the first night and most of the next day and the tent was sodden when we got back in the evening, leading to an uncomfortable second night. The kitchen area is poor and the breakfast mentioned on the web site was inadequate for the 4 couples staying there. Outside of the large ' entertaining tent' there is not enough room, or comfortable seating, for potentially 10 people to relax in the sunshine. The nearby town, whilst there are a selection of restaurants, is very average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeLaila, Owner at Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Denise and Tony,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Casa de Laila. We take your comments very seriously, and wish to extend to you our sincerest apologies. However, we do feel it necessary to put your review into perspective.

It must be mentioned that the weather you experienced during your stay was extreme, resulting in widespread flooding across the region killing ten people and inundating many homes. You can view an article here detailing the terrible disaster - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-19767627

Along with many other holiday accommodations in Málaga, Casa de Laila was inundated by the flooding. We are the first to admit that under these extreme circumstances it was a terrible time to visit. As a result we made the decision to turn away all guests from the day of your check out onwards, as soon as it became apparent it was no longer suitable or safe for guests.

It must be taken into account that during your stay the vast majority of our venue was affected by the rains. All our outdoor seating areas, which include private tabled seating and a two-persons hammock at each tent along with poolside seating for up to 12 persons were not usable, the swimming pool flooded along with all our bell tents. Casa de Laila is designed to cope the typically long hot summers here in Andalucia, rather than the torrential rain which occurred during your visit.

In regards to your other comments - Our tents have been fitted with purpose built-beds, made from quality timber and ergonomic slatted bed bases - not futons - with simple mattresses. Each tent is complimented with meditation seats, a small table and a lantern.

We provide a complimentary breakfast included in the nightly price consisting of muesli and cereals, a variety of breads, jams and cheese, fresh fruits, as well as yoghurt, coffee and tea. If a breakfast item is running low, we are always more than happy to provide more if necessary.

The kitchen is fully equipped for self catering holidays with gas cooker, fridge, and all utensils required. Our amenities are shared between guests and are cleaned on a daily basis.

We are very sorry to hear of your feedback now, especially in light of the circumstances. If we had been made aware of the severity of your discomfort during your stay we would have happily given you a refund and assisted you in finding alternative accommodation. As mentioned, directly after your check out measures were taken in regards to other bookings.

We are truly regretful that you did not experience Casa de Laila at its best. We would like to extend an invitation to you to return as we are sure with our usual weather conditions you will thoroughly enjoy your stay here, either in our luxury suite or in one of our bell tents. Please feel free to contact us via email, we hope to hear from you again.

Kind regards,

Anne Marie, Benjamin and all the staff at Casa de Laila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Alette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Shalaen og pool området er helt fantastisk. Teltene er eventyrlige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensRude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SoLe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
Thank RVlieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeLaila, Owner at Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank teciongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeLaila, Owner at Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhaurin el Grande
11.5 mi away
Camping Cabopino
Camping Cabopino
#10 of 68 in Marbella
279 reviews
28.6 mi away
Camping Valle Niza
Camping Valle Niza
#2 of 4 in Benajarafe
34 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Camping la Buganvilla
Camping la Buganvilla
#26 of 68 in Marbella
49 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camping Malaga Monte Parc
Camping Malaga Monte Parc
#5 of 7 in Alhaurin de la Torre
18 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Camping Iznate
#1 of 2 in Iznate
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Laila | Glamping & Retreats

Address: Camino de Ardalejos 7 | La Chichara, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range: $81 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Laila offers an intimate and comfortable ‘Glamping’ (glamorous camping) experience, at affordable rates. Enjoy the best of camping – but without sacrificing any conveniences. Casa de Laila offers unique accommodation on a small scale in large white canvas bell tents, that sleep up to 4 people each. At 5m diameter it’s suitable as either a couple’s hideaway or a comfortable abode for a small family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing