We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca La Mota Country Inn
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Finca La Mota has recently changed hands and unfortunatley not for the better.  The new owners may have smartened the place up, with a bit of paint, but sadly the service and attitude of the owners leaves a lot to be desired, arrogance is the word that comes to mind.  They are quite happy to totally ignore you and offer no apology for the very bad service they deliver.  There is more atmosphere on the moon than at Finca La Mota.Coin, Spain

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank twp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Finca La Mota Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were staying close by and went for an evening meal.The setting is extremely good,an open,spacious, outdoor courtyard. The menu was varied and good value.We eat there again and can recommend giving it a visit.Note that you turn right, off the main road and appear to be heading for a dead-end but you will reach it within 2 mins at most.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cherringtonchez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we dropped in here one evening for a meal having found a flyer leaflet in the finca we were renting in alhaurin,absolutely fantastic, spacious outside eating area set amongst trees in a valley, food excellent, waitresses bi lingual and service first class, menu was varied and appetising, will definately visit again in the future

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NFFCLOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The food is to die for and the staff are lovely and friendly would recommened this hotel to everyone so they could enjoy the ambiance of this idillic place

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

(we didn't stay the night but ate ate here)

my partner and i went to Finca La Mota's restaurant by recommendation and we were not disappointed.
The weather was still warm enough for us to eat outside on the terrace surounded by gorgeous mountains and the staff are so lovely, so it's very romantic.

The drink prices were surprisingly good value.

But the food was ecellent. They grow many of their own veggies in an organic, botanical garden so the food is wonderfully fresh.

The highlight for me was the chocolate mousse - consisting of one scoop of dark and one scoop of white. This is like no other mousse you have ever had - seriously chocolatey, gooey yet fluffy - simply amazing and the best dessert i have had in a restaurant in years.

Thank you Finca La Mota :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lisalafemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Fina Mota twice in the last few months, our second visit was with extended family. On both occasions we have found the staff to be most freindly and helpful. It's in easy reach of Malaga, Puerto Banus etc on the coast and great roads links to inland places such as Ronda (great local red wine), and the beautiful fresh water lakes of El Chorro.

I believe that the family have been the recent owners for approx 18months/2 years and it's clear by the increasing number of visitors the word is getting around about this rustic location that offers a menu different from the norm with excellent presentation.

It's fair to say that if you like rose petals scatered on your bed at night, piped music, a manacured lawn a room boy to check that alls well before lights out then perhaps Finac Mota is not for you. But if you like a warm friendly approach where nothing is too much trouble with a laid back rustic feel, good local wines and beers, where you never feel rushed to finish your meal then it might be worth you visiting this up and coming eatery.

Based on the number of people who we saw eating at Finca Mota it's clear that they have become regulars and many travel from Malagas locality...............as they say 'people vote with their feet' !

The breakfast was never a problem, what ever you wanted was on the menu, freshly squezzed orange juice and real coffee and real milk in a jug (either cold or warm) none of those exploding tubs where you have to stuggle to rip the top off!. Eggs (any way you wanted), bacon, tomatoes, cheese, ham etc and freshly baked bread and preserves and yogurt.

Under the current economical climate I think that this family owned business has done very well to turn it around from where it used to be, yes you will never please everybody but if your looking for a break with good access to Malaga and all the surrounding areas where staff are always eager to help, then give it a go.

We will ceratinly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have stayed here for 3 nights and it was very nice. Very friendly staff and great food. It is also a cool place in this time of year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhaurin el Grande
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Alhaurin el Grande
179 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cortijo Andaluz
Cortijo Andaluz
#7 of 14 in Alhaurin el Grande
38 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Mirador Hotel
El Mirador Hotel
#12 of 14 in Alhaurin el Grande
49 reviews
4.6 mi away
Finca Rayo del Sol
Finca Rayo del Sol
#6 of 14 in Alhaurin el Grande
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca La Mota Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca La Mota Country Inn

Address: Lugar Urique 50, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range: $69 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special place to stay in the middle of wonderfull surroundings and yet less than half an hour from Malaga, Torremolinos, Fuengirola and Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finca La Mota Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca La Mota Country Hotel Alhaurin El Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing