We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Morocco Tour - Nov 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in M'Hamid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nick put together an adventure for us that even the most experienced travel agent would be hard pressed to match. My husband and I placed a great deal of trust in him and he didn’t let us down. After 3 days in Marrakech our driver, Hicham, picked us up in a clean and well-equipped Toyota Prado. Our drive over the Atlas Mountains included stays at Kasbah Ellouze (delightful), a backpacker style hotel in the Todra Gorge (good food, great wifi), and Bab el Oued Guesthouse in Agdz (dreamy little eco-resort). We stopped for lunch in the country, bought rugs in Ouarzazate, and listened to Hicham’s brilliant collection of regional music along the way. Then we drove out of civilization and into the desert. Bobo and Tine soon appeared in their 4WD and we felt as though we were in a National Geographic film as we sped into the dunes. We spent two nights at the main luxury camp, ate delicious hot meals, sand surfed, rode well mannered camels, photographed the sunset, and were treated to a drum concert beneath the stars at night. Bobo and his team were warm and personable hosts who cared for us like family. Then Hicham drive us out of the desert and up over the Tiz n’Test Pass (do it, you’ll love it) en route to Marrakech. Nick made it all possible by listening carefully to our hopes fro the trip and choosing a route and driver that fit them exactly. Do it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Erg Chigaga is magical for a pure Sahara desert experience with lovely Berber hospitality, luxury tented camps, delicious food, camel riding, hiking up large dunes at sunset. We experienced their luxury main camp and also their private camp by candlelit, both unique. Nick and Bobo have raised the bar for pure desert adventures - our midnight hike by full moon, barefoot was memorable at our private camp - very sensual to feel the texture of the sand but also be guided by only the light of the moon. At the main camp, we so enjoyed hearing the Berber staff sing and play their musical instruments with the Sahara desert as a backdrop. We are holding on to these special memories from having experienced the Sahara through Erg Chigaga.

Marsha and Rick
San Francisco

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

In early April we set off on our adventure to Morocco,a few days in Marrakech a night in a Kasbah and then en route to our main destination for three nights at the Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp on the edge of the Sahara followed by a further two nights at different Kasbahs before returning to Marrakech,the whole of the itinerary was tailor made for us by Nick the owner of Erg Chigaga Camp,after three days of being pampered and thoroughly spoilt by the staff of the stylish and immaculately restored Riad Siwan we were collected by Lachen(known by everyone as "Little Lahcen") our bilingual driver for the rest of the holiday.His arrival in full Berber attire and a very comfortable Land Cruiser immediately set the tone for the rest of our trip taking us safely and with great skill through the Atlas Mountains via the Tichka Pass down the Draa Valley and through the Valley of the Thousand Kasbahs,on to the end of the tarmac road and the "last village in the world" and finally on to "the other world"the Sahara and Erg Chigaga,during the whole of our journey we felt totally at ease and were most impressed by all of the information Lachen had given us,his passion for his people and their way of life,on route we enjoyed many stops giving us the opportunity to visit sites of historical interest combined with enjoyable "pit stops" for coffees and lunches,all the time being entertained by an eclectic range of music from Lachen`s ipod.On arrival at the camp we were met by Bobo the manager who introduced us to our large Berber tent which was to be our home for the next three nights,very well equipped indeed,a huge comfortable double bed,good quality linen and towels.The attached bathroom tent was also well equipped to meet every need,the "Berber Shower" was great fun.All of the staff at the camp were helpful and at all times attentive and polite.The food was excellent and plentiful,all of the meals were most enjoyable being taken in the company of like minded fellow travellers.During the next two days we were able to scramble up and down the dunes even climbing to the top of the "big dune" towering some 300 metres,watching the sun set whilst enjoying a cool glass of wine.The night sky was a deep blue with a crescent moon and millions of twinkling stars,hard to believe that we have the same sky over the UK.We have happy memories of the camel rides,playing boules, golf and being taken to an oasis for a restful afternoon.Who would have believed that you would be able to receive such five star treatment deep in the Sahara,the sheer logistics of transporting every grain of couscous,bottle of wine and water are totally mind blowing.A BIG thank Nick,Bobo and Lahcen for making our trip to Morocco and Erg Chigaga Camp a Real Adventure memories of which will remain with us for many years to come.

Fatima Couscous & Ali Baba

Seasoned Travellers from UK.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The trip started a little rocky as our driver seemed a little sour. However, the camp's manager Nick, went put of his way to address our concerns. From then on out it was perfection. Both Bobo and Nick seem genuinely concerned about the guest experience and helped to create one of the most spectacular experiences of my life. It seems expensive, but for what you get it is actually a great deal. If you want a pristine Sahara experience like they offer you simply have to spend for it.....but it is well worth it. You can be assured that these gracious hosts will do everything they can to ensure a wonderful treat. They are true professionals.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

These guys are giving a whole new meaning to hospitality. The scenery is fantastic, the crew is fantastic, the food and the service are truly over the top. We spent two night here in March 2013 and we had a wonderful time. It was part of a six day package with Kashbas and unique hotels on the way.
The organisation books all the kashbas and small little luxury Riads for you and with a private driver from Marrakesh -what in the desert is highly recommended- the only thing you have to do is to sit back and enjoy the the scenery.

The camp is partly locally owned and you know that the money flows back into the local community; the best way to travel is when you know you give something back.

Everybody should book this over Merzouga what is more crowded and much more touristy.

Room Tip: You are surrounded by sand dunes. All rooms have their own ensuite and the only thing you care about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our second trip to Erg Chigaga Luxury Camp and this time opted to stay in the private camp for two nights before going to the main camp for our final night. Our two nights in the private camp was a truly magical experience. We had our own private en suite tent and a lounge tent, which were perfectly positioned beneath a sizeable dune and we really felt we were secluded in the middle of vast sand sea with nothing for miles – apart from of course our own personal chef and waiter who had their own tent a little away from our tent. We arrived at the end of the day and after settling in we scrambled barefoot to the top of the dune with a glass of chilled wine in hand and then watched the sunset over the desert. This was one of those experiences that will stay with me for a long time.

The bedroom at the camp was very comfortable with a huge bed and in the en suite tent we had a toilet and a simple yet effective shower. Hot and cold water was left outside our tent each morning in big metal buckets and we doused ourselves with a mixture of each which was invigorating to say the least!

The service at the private camp was discreet yet attentive and we were able to be on our own to relax and take in our environment. The chef produced some of the best food we have eaten in Morocco and it never ceased to amaze us what incredible freshly-prepared food kept appearing at meal times! Full marks to Youssef the chef.

Our last night was spent at the main camp which we were due to trek to but chose to be driven to as it was somewhat windy. The staff at the private camp were very accommodating and didn’t mind at all that we had changed our plans and a 4x4 magically appeared to whisk us away across the desert to the main camp.

The main camp was even more luxurious and our tent not only had what we were used to from the private camp but also had kilim-covered armchairs, a full-length mirror, electricity from solar panels plus a load of other things to make our stay perfect. Outside there were reading tents, dining tents, sunbathing areas and even some new hammocks which were brilliant for just resting in.

We had a great last night at the main camp. Not only were we fed well but we also met some interesting fellow travellers with whom we shared time. At the end of the evening the Berber team (who seem to be adept at everything) broke out into spontaneous singing and drumming around the roaring fire.

The drive to the camp in my view is a beautiful experience in itself and one not to be missed. Although it can be done in one day, I would recommend breaking it up into two days if you have time. We chose to make a trip of it and drove from Marrakech over the Tizi n’Tichka pass down to Agdz and stayed in the ancient village of Tamnagoult nestled in a palm grove and the next day we continued down through the Draa Valley stopping off from time to time before finally arriving at Mhamid where we left our car. This route is absolutely stunning and worth taking the time to enjoy. Also, breaking it up into two days made it feel that we really were travelling somewhere and the approach down into Mhamid with the dunes in the distance is particularly memorable.

We would highly recommend this camp to anyone who would like seclusion and comfort and a real experience of the Moroccan Sahara.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotSharqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

¡What an experience it is to spend a couple of days in the desert ! To have the fortune of walking barefooted at dusk in the warm Erg Chigaga dunes as the outside temperature drops and millions of stars appear. To be bewitched by the Sahara desert in the luxurious comfort provided by the Erg Chigaga Luxury Camp excellent facilities, under the care of Bobo and his crew of polite and amicable Berbers. WWWWWOOOOWWWW.

My most sincere congratulations to Nick and Bobo for their partnership and vision. There good vibes and determination are the foundation of this unique venture. I highly recommend this camp to nature and adventure lovers. Keep an open mind, open your senses and you will also be captivated by the desert.

I include one photograph with Joseph, one of the Berbers that works at the camp

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianaViale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near M'Hamid
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Sahara Services
3 mi away
Hotel Chez le Pacha
Hotel Chez le Pacha
#3 of 6 in M'Hamid
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Azalay
Hotel Kasbah Azalay
#4 of 6 in M'Hamid
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tabarkat
Hotel Tabarkat
#2 of 13 in Zagora
101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Desert Bivouac
Desert Bivouac
#2 of 40 in M'Hamid
227 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camp Adounia
Camp Adounia
#4 of 40 in M'Hamid
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp

Address: Bp 1493 | Hay Mohamdi, M'Hamid 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > M'Hamid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in M'Hamid
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is small and intimate. It can accommodate 18 people in 9 tents. The tents are spacious. Each has a king sized bed, and is equipped with the highest quality mattresses, linen and pillows. And there are also wall to wall rugs, solar lighting and hand crafted furniture. To each tent is attached a walk in bathroom. As part of your trip to the desert, we can help organize your entire Moroccan itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erg Chigaga Luxury Desert Camp Morocco/Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing