We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel della Fortezza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sorano
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were really amazed by the location of this hotel. Spectacular views over the town of Sorano. i've never stayed anywhere like this before. It is an old fort, so it makes complete sense that it would overlook the rooftops. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. A bat did sneak in the window, which was a bit of a surprise, but my partner got it out without too much trouble...the pitfuls of an historic fortress I guess. We'd very much recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sliceofpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    104
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
199
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was great to stay in a real castle. You have to cross a moat to get to it. They gave me, as a single traveler, a great room with a million dollar view over the entire city and countryside. It was extraordinary. Being a castle keep in mind a number of things. There is no air conditioning, but a nice breeze, even on a hot day. The internet works in the public areas. It is best to park your car on the street behind the castle and wheel or carry your luggage to the hotel. I just brought an overnight bag and left the rest of my luggage in the car. It is a great experience and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very friendly welcome, comfortable rooms with the most amazing views down onto the old town. We dined at the local restaurant associated with the castle (turn left & 250yrds on left) which buzzed, served wonderful food & was really frequented by locals. For those touring in the area, thoroughly recommended in every way

Room Tip: just ask for a room over looking the gorge & old town - you may have to pay a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I am flabergasted to read the review prior to mine, but all I can say is "to each his own". My opinion of this hotel couldn't be more opposed to the one previous.

We were just blown away at how lovely this hotel was. It is charming and you feel like your living a fairy tale. The views from the rooms (which were very comfortable and clean) was out of this world. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice and included the usual Italian fare - cakes, yogurt, breads, cappuccino etc.

If I ever get back to Sorano the Hotel della Fortezza would be my #1 choice of accommodation, however if you are the type of person who can't walk 3 minutes to your car, you should probably miss out on this unique gem and take yourself to the nearest Motel 6.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view (although I suspect they all do)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Restauration of building is poor, Rooms are unconfortable, cleannesss need to be improoved. Ugly decoration and no parking really nearby. You need to leave your car at hundreds of meters appart and walk through unpaved road to reach hotel.

Room Tip: Better to look for another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

And we did relax and let down our hair (not out the window though - the windowsill was too wide!) Jessica in reception was very friendly and helpful, from our first internet enquiry to helping with information of the area and arranging discount at sights.

Great experience to stay in this old castle. Rooms were large enough and comfortable with neat bathrooms. Breakfast was good - some of us just could not get used to cakes for breakfast but the kids loved it.

Plenty of parking right next to the road so you do not have to negotiate your car in narrow streets. From there it is a bit of a walk to the hotel itself but entering over the bridge and under the tower was inspiring, from there the title of my review (we relived some fairy tales during our trip in Italy...)

We had dinner in the restaurant just down the street, recommende by Jessica, and found it very pleasant and good value for money.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MywaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A wonderful spot, a charming hotel with staff to match. Had a large room, with wonderful views, good breakfast. The only quibble is the steep approach to parking in front of the hotel entrance. In the Winter it must for very good drivers only. Highly recommended for a stay. We found the people in the town of Sorano also obliging and pleasant.

J Fisher

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorano
4.1 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
3.9 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 2 in Sovana
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#4 of 6 in Sorano
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
18.4 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
8.9 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Fortezza

Property: Hotel della Fortezza
Address: Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010, Sorano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sorano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Fortezza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortezza Orsini di Sorano è uno dei più imponenti esempi di Architettura militare dell’intera Toscana,e fu una delle più importanti piazzeforti.La leggenda della “Fortezza Inespugnabile”,si tramanda tuttora e se ne può leggere nelle cronache dell’epoca ( Niccolò dell’Antella nel 1608 Scriveva a proposito della Fortezza : ……..Gli sta sopra come un falcone……e quando si è per terra…..per cosa di stupore a rimirare una fabbrica a altezza tale che quasi pare che l’occhio vi si smarrisca….) ,per tanto tempo la Fortezza di Sorano ha difeso i confini della Toscana meridionale e il Paese sottostante,a renderlo imprendibile erano: La sua posizione rafforzata dalle antiche mura e la chiusura dell’unica via di accesso dai bastioni della Fortezza Orsini.All’interno della Cittadella della Fortezza nella parte più vecchia (precedente alla ristrutturazione dell’architetto Sangallo ) dopo aver oltrepassato il ponte levatoio sul fossato nella piccola piazza si trova L’Hotel della Fortezza,dotato di 16 Camere arredate con raffinata eleganza e mobili d’epoca , dalle cui finestre si può godere di una vista mozzafiato a picco sull’antico borgo di Sorano,inoltre l’altra particolarità dell’Hotel della Fortezza è quella di avere tutte le camere diverse,per potervi regalare un soggiorno unico……………………………….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel della Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Della Fortezza
Della Fortezza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing