We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breathtaking views-loud bells!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel della Fortezza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel della Fortezza
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sorano
Certificate of Excellence
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views-loud bells!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this impressive hotel. the opportunity of staying at a converted fortress won us over. The room was, as with all we stayed at in Italy, quite charming and adequate, but,
BE AWARE...this hotel does NOT offer air-conditioning....and in July there is not always a comfortable drop in temperature at night, so open windows are a necessity. PLUS, the bells of the church opposite ring every half-hour, all night long ! We did have a lovely walk into the town, through the archways and towers of the fortezza. Parking for this hotel is along the main road, up and behind the fortezza (not as the sign implied, up the steps of the wall!) Breakfast was good and served in a nice room with beautiful views. The people on reception were both charming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanner_4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    95
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
178
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was a stop in our bike trip from Rome to Livorno. Sorano is a really beautiful place (but not many tourists), and this hotel is situated in a part of the castle on top of it. Thus it really has atmosphere. It was also quite. Internet was only working in the reception area, but it was working.
We were welcomed very well by the lady at the reception, who also arranged a dinner in a nice restaurant which belongs to the same family (5 minutes walking). There is no airconditioning, but because of the thick walls this was not really a problem (later in the same week we got problems in the night with the heat in other hotels, but not here).
Overall, I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BramNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed one night in the Hotel della Fortezza in July 2012. Had some problem finding parking, as there was some construction underway, and the road sign was misleading. Other than that, the experience was extremely good. The room had a breathtaking view over deep canyon and medieval village. The room was clean and had a nice size for 2 people. The service was excellent, with delicious breakfast served by very warm and helpful hostess Jessica. The village (Sorano) is not a usual tourist destination and lies slightly aside from the standard routes. This makes it, actually, interesting, and gives an insight into life of an ordinary Tuscan town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

A recent change in management at La Fortezza has made a VAST improvement and restored the character, service and beauty that this incredible structure deserves. Brava Patrizia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Staying at the castle was a highlight of our trip, a break from the average tourist sites and a magical experience I would recommend.
The hosts were exceptionally and willing to go out of their way to ensure comfort and satisfaction. English spoken.
The room was the normal small size for italy, but clean, with an amazing view and the bed hard but serviceable with good quality bedding. The environment quiet.
Must have a car, good for a two night stay and we really really enjoyed our side trip to the hotsprings Saturnia! Beautiful, relaxing and unique.
The breakfast, was fine, average italy experience-bread-coffee-melon-slices of meat.
Not a location for someone using a wheelchair. You can drive down into down or take a walk down the castle stairs into down, stairs, cobbled roads, but for someone with average shape ability it is manageable. The restaurants in town are average, nothing note worthy, but the town is quite charming- though not touristy. There is a lovely creek at the base of the town which is very beautiful. Plenty of nice walks and hikes in the area. Feel free to e-mail me for more info....

Room Tip: Don't book the largest room which is their most expensive, a nice spot, but without a view and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussianRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night during a recent Tuscan tour and our night at the Hotel Fortezza was one of the highlights of the trip.
The room was amazing, giving you a real feel of staying in a old castle but still being clean and with modern bathroom facilities.
The owner was very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best we had on the 2 week trip.
The town of Sorano itself is great - it has all of the charm of a Tuscan hilltop town without the busloads of tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

A beautiful hotel in Sorano. The room was big and had a beautiful view! The owner was really great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorano
4.1 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#3 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 2 in Sovana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
9.4 mi away
Locanda La Pieve
Locanda La Pieve
#1 of 2 in Semproniano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Terme di Sorano
Terme di Sorano
#2 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Fortezza

Property: Hotel della Fortezza
Address: Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010, Sorano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sorano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Fortezza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortezza Orsini di Sorano è uno dei più imponenti esempi di Architettura militare dell’intera Toscana,e fu una delle più importanti piazzeforti.La leggenda della “Fortezza Inespugnabile”,si tramanda tuttora e se ne può leggere nelle cronache dell’epoca ( Niccolò dell’Antella nel 1608 Scriveva a proposito della Fortezza : ……..Gli sta sopra come un falcone……e quando si è per terra…..per cosa di stupore a rimirare una fabbrica a altezza tale che quasi pare che l’occhio vi si smarrisca….) ,per tanto tempo la Fortezza di Sorano ha difeso i confini della Toscana meridionale e il Paese sottostante,a renderlo imprendibile erano: La sua posizione rafforzata dalle antiche mura e la chiusura dell’unica via di accesso dai bastioni della Fortezza Orsini.All’interno della Cittadella della Fortezza nella parte più vecchia (precedente alla ristrutturazione dell’architetto Sangallo ) dopo aver oltrepassato il ponte levatoio sul fossato nella piccola piazza si trova L’Hotel della Fortezza,dotato di 16 Camere arredate con raffinata eleganza e mobili d’epoca , dalle cui finestre si può godere di una vista mozzafiato a picco sull’antico borgo di Sorano,inoltre l’altra particolarità dell’Hotel della Fortezza è quella di avere tutte le camere diverse,per potervi regalare un soggiorno unico……………………………….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel della Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Della Fortezza
Della Fortezza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing