We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place with Delicious Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Sant'Egle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Sant'Egle
Ranked #1 of 13 Sorano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Beautiful Place with Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our stay at Sant'Egle was amazing. Their home made liquors and locally sourced meal were delicious. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

For those going, I recommend coming on a Friday or Saturday to enjoy their home cooked meal. And spend a day relaxing on the farm, hiking Tuscany, or driving to the many fascinating medieval villages that are nearby. Something for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
110
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Sant'Egle for 3 nights with our 2 children... and really regret that our visit was so short.

First and foremost, Erika and Alessandro are 2 extremely good hosts; there is always someone present to answer questions and they provide many helpful tips on how to visit this very nice region (that is not that well known to tourists visiting Tuscany). By the way, staying at Sant'Egle entitles you to reduced prices for a series of local visits, such as the Etruscan necropole close to Sovana and the vie cave which can be found at various sites close to Sant'Egle.
Besides their hospitality, they are also extremely efficient, as we were able to discover within the first seconds after our arrival with our dying dog in our arms. After a few phone calls, they managed to find a veterinarian for us on a Sunday afternoon in August, and Alessandro actually drove us there himself (almost an hour's drive on difficult roads unknown to us) and stayed with us, on his own precious time, until our dog's condition improved thanks to treatment.

Secondly, the accomodation itself: the house (400 years old?) and rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Piccioni room. The decoration is warm and has been chosen with taste. There is a small fridge in the room containing several local products (organic apple juice, beer, dried sausage), and which is very convenient to store excellent local produce bought in Pitigliano for example, to eat as a noon picnic in the garden at one of the tables made available to guests. As for the garden, it is absolutely magical: there are a series of spots to sit or lie down down, each with their own charm. The material used is simple and natural: no bright-colored plastic chairs here... just wood, hay, metal, cloth, cane etc. Each spot has a different view, for example on the grape vine, or towards the more distant horizon with a wheat field. Some spots are in the sun, others in the shade. We didn't have enough time to test each spot... too bad.
For those who are interested, there is a TV in the room... we forgot to turn it on... even the children. There is also wifi.
Breakfast is served in a pleasant well-decorated room; every morning there are fruit jams and conserves produced at sant'Egle (and which can be purchased in a little shop in a separate room), and excellent cakes (although I assume it is the case, I forgot to ask Erika if she makes them herself), in addition to cereal, bread, and very nice yoghurt. Given what we tasted for breakfast, we regret we were not there on a weekend when Erika cooks dinner... it must be excellent, and this is actually an excellent excuse for going back to Sant'Egle one day! You can also buy various fresh organic vegetables.

Another thing we appreciated at Sant'Egle and that we have already experienced at rare other farms where we have stayed in the past is that Erika promotes local producers, artists etc... products from neighboring farms like apple juice and beer can be bought. She was preparing to expose paintings made by a Florentine artist in the breakfast-room. We saw a program for concerts/representations that take place in the garden during the summer.
This is not an agriturismo... it's an ART DE VIVRE that we should all take a lesson from.

I'm sure I have forgotten some things about sant'Egle that are worth noting... not to mention all there is to visit in the region: Pitigliano is beautiful and this is an authentic town not only for tourists, Sorano Baths, Sovana with it's etruscan necropolis and museum, the lago di bolsena not far away, the vie cave with beautiful walks in the woods, Saturnia Baths are breath-taking, etc etc. Horse stables nearby. Bikes available at sant'Egle of you don't take your own to visit the surroundings.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Florence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a week with Erika and Alessandro, and enjoyed their warm hospitality. The accommodation was comfortable and breathed a genuine atmosphere. We loved relaxing and eating lunch in the comprehensive garden. We brought our bicycles, and made wonderful daytrips in the region. Visiting Pitigliano, Saturnia and Sorano. We can wholeheartedly recommend Sant´egle!
Agnes Kemna and Sietse Brouwer
Wageningen, The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SietseBrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Sant'egle is a great place to spend a weekend. I cannot remember a more relaxing short break. Erika and Alessandro are fantastic and the business they have built is a model for eco-tourism. They could not have been more welcoming nor friendly. Good advice and friendly chat. The rooms are really nicely decorated and our bed was one of the most comfortable we ever slept in. The food on Saturday evening was really delicious, 'kilometre zero' at its very best. Aperitivi are served before the meal in the lovely grounds, watching the sun set as the sheep are herded back to their fields for the night. Just down the road is the Sorano thermal baths where you can while away an afternoon, sunbathe, and have various beauty treatments should you wish. Pittigliano, the nearby town, is picturesque and the antidote to the over-touristy Tuscan circuit. There is a little shop at the agroturismo where you can buy home-grown produce. A final lovely touch was a gift to us of a bottle of home made beer to help celebrate our forthcoming nuptials. A great place where we will stay again and where we will encourage friends to try. Thanks

Room Tip: All look good, but the ground floor room with the 'low beam' door has a wonderfully comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Sant'egle was a great expereince. Erika and Alessandro were very friendly and helpful - providing lots of advice and information. The place is tasteful decorated and the homemade produce was delicious. Friday and Saturday evenings guests can chose to have dinner at Sant'egle. I highly recommend doing this. Everything is local and beatifully prepared - and we enjoyed taking an aperitif before the meal and coffee afterwards in the garden. Worth checking out the Spa / hotsprings nearby and exploring the area on the bikes available for the use of guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipani2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmantile, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Amazing location, very kind and friendly staff, very nice room and...the dinner was WONDERFUL! If you have the chance dont miss it...its a little paradise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiorenzo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sant'egle. It was only for one night but the staff were friendly and keen to serve our every need. It was a cold, wet day and a glass of red wine in front of the fire as soon as we arrived was a wonderful way to start the weekend. Well positioned, quiet, yet close to Pitigliano, Sovano and Sorana. A fascinating area. The rooms were lovely too although our bed was a bit firm and small for my liking. (Don't know the name of our room)
Also, an interesting selection of produce available for sale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorano
4.9 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#4 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel della Fortezza
Hotel della Fortezza
#1 of 7 in Sorano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
18.7 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
#1 of 6 in San Casciano dei Bagni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terme di Sorano
Terme di Sorano
#2 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Egle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Egle

Property: Agriturismo Sant'Egle
Address: Case Sparse Sant'Egle, 18, 58010, Sorano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sorano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic home was Customs in 1600 where those who crossed the border between the Papal States and the Grand Duchy of Tuscany, stopped in search of refreshment. The charm of a historic mansion so full of legends has been carefully restored and is the destination for those looking for an exclusive place, tastefully decorated, featuring organic Tuscan hospitality and genuine flavor. We grow spirulina , saffron , stevia RebA, fruit and vegetables following the method synergistic biological and biodynamic, we are organic certified from Suolo e Salute with operator number 31152. Sant'Egle is a eco-friendly, zero-impact and preserver of biodiversity. WWF Italia has rewarded as the best farm in Italy for sustainability and conservation of biodiversity. 100% of the energy used comes from renewable sources. The heating, as the hot water of santari is provided by solar panels, fireplace and a condensing boiler. The rainwater is used for irrigation of the agricultural part. The breakfast as all the dishes of our restaurant are made with farm produce bio or organic farms in the area. The garden, the property and each room create environments through objects, colors and communicative artifacts exhibited in rotation by artists from around the world. We have maximum 18 beds in double single use , double, triple and quadruple, all with private bath and private entrance . All guests have access to a porch furnished with comfortable sofas and pillows, a garden with an old tree under which there are tables, chairs, chaise long , hammocks , a gazebo to enjoy unique moments of relaxation and a theater where straw during the summer you can watch the movie under the stars and performances of various kinds . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Sant'Egle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing