We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heritage building, so-so housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Senago
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel grounds and the building have much character, charm and history (almost 900 years old). The deluxe room (room 109) is spacious with a view of the atrium. The hotel is just a 30-minute drive north of milan downtown, making it a nice break from the hustles and bustles. The in-room Wifi works well. The furniture and decorations are also very tasteful and carefully chosen. The room rate is also a steal given, compared with other castles and heritage villas.

But housekeeping leaves something to be desired. The bed cover had holes on them. The bed sheet was stained. There were only one pair of slippers and one toothbrush in a double room. There aren't many sockets for charging your electronic devices. I had to unplug some of the lamps to charge my phone and camera battery.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium or the garden are the best. Deluxe rooms are a lot more spacious than classi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think this was the "FIND" of my travel this decade. I felt like I was living a segment of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous". The villa was built in the 14th century for a bishop but has been made into a posh hotel complete with a long tree-lined driveway, formal gardens, fountains and statuary. It is not visible from the street below and I do not recall any signage out front. We had viewed the street entrance from Google Maps so we were familiar with the surroundings and knew what to look for but still came up to the "wrong" entrance first. GPS definitely helps too. There is a big iron fence and gate to maneuver in order to gain entrance. This jewel is just minutes outside Milan and is easily accessible from the autostrada motorway. Romantic, resplendent with ornate details everywhere, hand-painted art on the ceilings, crystal chandeliers, this 5 star property was affordable luxury at it's best. Breakfast is included and can be enjoyed indoors or outside on the shady patio. Great service, excellent and warm staff, you just won't want to leave. There is a rather large covered pavilion on the grounds that is ideal for many types of events. Go ahead, splurge just a little. You won't regret thisl

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay here but went for a dinner. Wow this place is very impressive. An absolutely beautiful building and grounds. Even for such a huge group the staff were very attentive and extremely well organised. The food was very good and well presented. Definitely recommend for a corporate or private function. Fantastico!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank londontownchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four from 26 December for three nights essentially so we could go to La Scala on the 27th. The place was almost empty so we had astoundingly nice rooms, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is stunning, quite exquisitely beautiful and immaculately decorated. The food is excellent; breakfast is a buffet, but with speciality coffees and fresh pastries, and lunch is superb traditional Milanese food, again fresh and well made. So too with dinner. The staff are endlessly helpful and willing to go to all kinds of extra trouble. The older waiter was terrific, even though he didn't speak much English. He never once gave us the look because our Italian is soso. All In all this was a delightful place.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sthenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear,

we would like to thank you for spending your time in writing your rewiew! That's a pleasure, for us, that you enjoy our services, meals, rooms, eg.
But please, accept our apologize for the "older waiter" - we know that English must be mandatory in a 5 star hotel. We are working with Houskeeper mgr for it!

Thaking you again for choosing Villa San Carlo Borromeo, we hope that you will stay again with us!

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Good: This hotel really has great grounds! Beautiful garden, breathtaking rooms; both the bar, the breakfastroom and all of the other common areas. The room is not the most luxurious and updated you can imagine, but that is totaly ok and a part of the style of the hotel..the bathroom is very modern and nice. The service is also super, and all of the workers speaks perfect English, which is really nice. You really feel that you are back in time, and that you are a part of an old italian fairytale. Perfect for a romantic get-away!! It is not pricy either!
Bad: The location is a bit remote, 20 minutes from downtown Milano, and it was not easy to find the entrance to the hotel, as the property has gates and high walls. and with only one open entry- and no signs, we where driving around quite abit before we found the right gate. There could be some more ameneties, because it does not live up to its 5 stars when it comes to this area. No room-service, gym, internett, SPA, or other common things you would find in a 5star hotel. But, on the other hand, this is a part of the charm too...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norwaytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I believe they advertise five stars which is absolutely a no go. I would rate this at 3+. it clearly misses some of the benefits of modern four and five Star hotels and the location is very far from City centers. Probably good for a wedding, but not for travelling...at least not in my opinion. The breakfast is not even worthy of 3 Stars, but their lunch was pretty good.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speximule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

this is an historic property so not at all easy to run: housekeeping is therefore of paramount importance. Happily, it is of an excellent standard and much higher than in most of Milan's 5 star hotels. The manager is also very pro-active and helpful. The nice rooms are pleasing and are as shown on the hotel's website. There is quite a sophisticated little bar. Breakfast is pretty spartan and dining is redolent of Fawlty Towers. The hotel is set in quite extensive grounds and the ambience is more like that of a well maintained stately home with good plumbing than of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gettingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo

Address: Piazza Borromeo 20, 20030 Senago, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > Senago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Senago
Price Range: $248 - $1,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fourteenth-century historical residence surrounded by an age-old park, 12 km north of Milan's city centre. Unique restoration work has returned the Villa (10,000 sq. m) to splendour and quality. 30km from Malpensa and Linate airports. A modern art museum with 20 rooms for meetings and a conference room of 650 seats complete a unique historical congress centre in a charming atmosphere. Cultural programs upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo Senago, Italy - Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing