We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food and very helpful staff”
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely food and very helpful staff”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at Armada Hotel with husband and 3 kids. We had a lovely break and really enjoyed our time. Had a large family room which was clean, spacious and very quiet. The food in the hotel was lovely and the staff couldn't of been friendlier. We also has an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious. One aspect of the stay that I could see being improved is to make it more appealing to families by maybe having a play room or small playground on the premises.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 265 and it was perfect for families large and quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BredaLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    343
    137
    66
    54
See reviews for
295
630
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

After reading the reviews, I wonder if this hotel has a range of different-quality rooms, because the room we stayed in really wasn't great. It was small and old fashioned, with very little actual furniture so it was very spartan. There were chips in the black wooden table and chairs and our view was of a car park. The bed was very narrow and there was no sign of the promised slippers. Neither was there a shower cap, soap or facecloth -- there was only a hair/body wash and a body lotion. Neither was there any 'welcome pack' with information about the hotel and things to do in the area. It took two goes to get through to reception to order breakfast delivered to our room, but then it never arrived the next morning (the sign had fallen to the ground from the door handle, but nobody had thought to pick it up from the ground). It's all too bare and a bit mean-looking.

In contrast, the reception room for weddings is really lovely with beautiful sea views, and the food and service at the wedding were great. The bar is also lovely and quaint. The breakfast, was pretty good too (although, again, it's a bit mean to charge €3 extra for an omelette or anything cooked to order). Even on the actual wedding menu itself, they were offering to sell us their brown bread! There was also the seaweed bath soak for €9 in our room! We were told we could buy the glass bottles in our room (in which there was complimentary water) for €5 and there was another sign enticing us to buy a bottle of wine.

To sum up, it's a lovely place to go for a wedding -- the food, service and public areas are lovely. But I'd stay somewhere else -- too much of the 'hard sell' and not enough attention to detail!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rosdubh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked a room through booking.com, were confirmed a double room with sea view, instead at check-in, were shoved in a tiny room overlooking a wall. Called reception and was dismissively told they did not guarantee seaview rooms only for bridal parties! Since the moment we checked in, it was clear only interest was wedding guests, poor service at reception, the receptionist didn't even bother asking how our stay was when we checked out, just took payment, poor service at breakfast, unfriendly staff, do not recommend at all. 4* hotel? Q

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erinna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for my cousins wedding last month. The wedding guest package was just brilliant value!

We arrived late but had such a warm welcome from the gentleman on the desk which made me feel right at home.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and jolly. Nothing was too much for them e.g arranging taxis for us, booking us in for dinner etc.

The food was delicious. Couldn't fault it! Beautiful breakfast buffet, everything you could want. Hot food was continuously topped up by the chef. The homemade granola was amazing, best I've ever had! We had a meal in the evening as part of our wedding guest package. Good menu and lovely food, tasty and hot. We were served by a wonderful gentleman who had us smiling and laughing each time he came to us.

We were surprised to have such a nice room considering we were booking as a package. Even had a lovely view of the sea. This hotel is in a stunning location and was the perfect wedding venue!

We arrived back from the hotel to cocktails and tea, mini scones and cookies... Lovely! Dinner was delicious and plenty of it, seconds were even offered which you don't often see. The staff were brilliant. The evening party was wonderful and it was just a wonderful celebration.

We spent our last night in the attached bar listening to fantastic live performers. You forgot you were even in a hotel!

Thank you to the staff at The Armada for making the trip everything I wanted it to be

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I went for a mid week break with my boyfriend to the Armada. The location is beautiful and we went for walks along the beach. Our room didn't have a beach view which was a pity as we looked out to the car park. I think it would be worth paying a bit extra to get a view the view at breakfast was beautiful. Breakfast was great an amazing spread. Somethin for everyone. Cereal, fruit, pastries, a full Irish and an amazing home made granola. We had food in the bar 2evenings. Both times we went for small bites, I had fish cakes he had chowder and they were yummy&a good portion. The last nite I wasn't too hungry and we shared the cheese board at 6.50 great value and a few drinks. The bar is nice and cosy only downside no sea view. To stay in the armada you would need a car to see all the sights.a beautiful relaxin break.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Armada hotel is situated overlooking the Atlantic ocean amazing view to wake up to. The staff at reception were very helpfull giving us directions and of places to visit. The room was very comfortable with bathrobes and slippers a lovely touch which a lot more hotels should pick up on. The breakfast was very good, a buffet but all the food very freshly cooked. There was a wedding reception in the hotel quiet a large gathering but it did not interfere with the attention given to the guests staying at the hotel. I would recommend the Armada hotel for touring around Co. Clare.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gint06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

First and foremost the staff were exceptional. Everyone we met was extremely helpful and friendly which made our stay. We were there for my mother's 65 with grown up kids and grandkids and everyone had a great time. The staff treated her like royalty too. The little ones were taken care of in their play room and had a movie in the evening too which was invaluable to the rest of us having a proper break! The beach location is also fantastic especially on the first day of the year where the sun came out:-)
The bar at the hotel was also great in the evening with live traditional music and an open fire.

Room Tip: Go to the bar in the evening with the locals. Also, we all got beach views automatically but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cullinanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.6 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
584 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,019 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
365 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing