We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and got a great rate. Absolutely fabulous location, very attentive and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. Lovely food to. The view from our seaview room was amazing. Definitely will go back and didn't want to leave. A water problem in our room was sorted out very quick and they also offered to move us if we wanted but we were ok. Thank you to all at the armada for a lovely couple days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleops2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Armada. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our unique coastal location and found that we offered great value for money. Our team of chefs were delighted with your comments on the food you enjoyed and thank you also for the compliments on our staff.
Hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again to Spanish Point,
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    331
    132
    60
    51
See reviews for
274
597
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Firstly, the location and hotel is very nice.

We booked our stay months back as a nice treat for my boyfriends birthday.
When we booked, we booked a sea view double room.

However, when we got our room, we got a triple room, to sleep 4 people. A huge room-too big for just us too, not cosy and quite cold.
When my boyfriend went to change the room, they had no more double rooms left as had given them all to d wedding party who were there for the evening.
Our option was to keep room and change in morning or take double room above the Wedding banquet room no sea view.
No apologies for mix up given, which was disappointing especially as we had booked a certain room and were looking forward to nights away.
Room was adequate but initially had no hot water until anther visit to reception.

Room we finally got on Sunday night was much nicer, and cosier, and was what we expected for both nights. Amazing view! So our stay on d Sunday night was a different experience.

Food was lovely at hotel, great choice for breakfast and dinner. Also serving staff were very nice and friendly.
So dining experience was very good.

Our lovely weekend was slightly set back back our initial experience.

Room Tip: If wedding on in Hotel, ensure your room is not over late bar or banquet hall as guest following mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolittle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member
Thank for taking the time to write a review and for you kind comments on the food which you enjoyed for breakfast and dinner . Thank you also for commending our friendly and hospitable staff. Sorry to hear that you were not allocated the correct room type on arrival and I hope it did not spoil your celebrations too much. Glad to hear that were very pleased with the newly allocated room on Sunday and that you had an enjoyable stay thereafter
Looking forward to welcoming you back to us soon again
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a very enjoyable stay in Ennis we moved to the Armada Hotel in Spanish Point County Clare for a family wedding .This is an extremely popular venue for a wedding and we could see why .Situated on the Atlantic coast with beautiful sea views it is a family run establishment and they obviously take care that their guests are well looked after . The food was excellent and could not be faulted . Staff were most welcoming and very friendly . We stayed there for a longer break some time ago and were most impressed so no surprise. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel but ask if there is a wedding on during your stay and ask for a room removed from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandp413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for your recent review of the Armada. We are delighted to have hosted your family wedding and to read that you all enjoyed our coastal location with the Atlantic at our doorstep!. We appreciate your lovely feedback on our excellent food and hospitable staff. The hotel is indeed family owned and only this year, we celebrated 45 years of the Armada with the opening of Johnny Burke's bar during Easter.
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and I hope that you will return to us very soon again.
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is to be commended for its attention to detail, friendly staff and spotless rooms. It is very obvious that "the customer" is the priority to all who run and work here. It costs nothing to smile but such a simple thing like this is sadly lacking from a lot of places today - not so at The Armada. It is refreshing to be greeted with a smile and "hello" when visiting. Added to this is the belief that the deed is genuine. The rooms are a credit to Marion and her staff. If you haven't experienced this hotel it would be worth while including it in your itinerary. Try their fresh fish and chip from the bar menu!

Room Tip: If you like the sea - request a bedroom with a view of it! Great start to a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for recommending the Armada to other members and we are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Customer care is very important to us here and there is nothing we like better than to welcome back a return guest ! Indeed we have gained many Armada friends over the years and hopefully now too, we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us too. Your compliments on the rooms, friendly staff and our Johnny Burke's fish and chips have been shared with our team here so 'thanks' from everyone here.
Looking forward to having you visit us very soon again.
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked a Easter Break for two nights for me and my girlfriend, we got a Easter break package for a standard room which included two breakfasts and a dinner.In total it cost me just over €300.

For the quality of the room, the service, and the hotel in general, the Armada Hotel is REALLY not worth it.

My experiences of the Armada Hotel were:
1. When I booked the room, I request and paid for a bottle of wine and bathrobes to be in my room for when we arrived. Neither were.
2. Twice more I had to ask at reception for the bathrobes until we finally got them.
3. Less then 5 minutes after checking into our room (and as were getting comfortable in our surroundings), a member of staff quite literally barged into our room (the person gave a quick single knock, opened the door, and walked straight in, all in the space of 3 seconds. The person did not say 'hello' or 'room service' or anything similar before entering the room. It looked like she was a manager of sorts and to be fair, she was very apologetic, although rightly she should have been).
4. I later enquired at reception as to the location of my phantom bottle of wine. The receptionist said that the wine was not suppose to be in my room for when I arrived, but instead would come with our dinner. Although I knew he was wrong on this, as the online booking clearly said it would be in my room, sa this was something i paid extra for, I was not going to start arguing over a €20 bottle of wine in front of my girlfriend (especially after already forking out over €300 on the room).
5. The following evening at our dinner, I asked the waiter for our bottle of wine. He had no notion of what I was talking about, so I told him what the receptionist told me. The waiter then went out to reception to enquiry for me. About 15 minutes later the waiter came back with the long awaiting bottle of wine. Clearly they realised the mistake they made at reception and told the waiter to just give me the wine. They did not acknowledged their mistake, nor did anyone apologies. It was clear they were hoping I simply would not realise their mistake, but by god I did, and I was not happy. It must be said though, the dinner and the breakfasts are great, lovely food.
5. The main light in our room was broken, I asked for it be fixed the second day while we were out, which they never did.
6. On one of the nights (a week-night no less!) two drunk and very loud girls had trouble getting into their room for about 20 minutes and they were quite loud. I assume they woke most people in rooms on and around the corridor, as we were. It was actually quite funny, as they first were trying for a good 10 minutes trying to get into clearly a wrong room as there key would not work. Then, a man came out, of what i assume was the door the girls were trying to get into, and the the girls proceed to argue with him for a another 10 minutes that he was in their room. Listening to the poor man trying to explain to the two drunk girls that they had the room was quite funny as the girls kept persisting that he was in their room. Actually I would love to read that persons review of their stay in the Armada Hotel! I think a member of staff finally came as someone directed them the poor girls to their correct room. Although i thought i was funny, that man could have had children in the room, and that would have been a very frightening experience for the poor children.

Also the room was not great, beds were comfy but the TV was small and had a poor choice of channels, there was no mini fridge, no thermostat, and the bath was quite small and disappointing for us.

Some pros of course, beds were comfy, food was good, the bar is nice. The area and scenery is beautiful two but there are many more better quality and cheaper hotels to stay in in west Clare. I definitely will not be going back there unfortunately, nor can I recommend the Armada Hotel.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your detailed review. We were pleased to read your nice comments on our food and choice of bars, also our scenic coastal location overlooking the Atlantic ocean. However, we were disappointed to read your comments on the pre-ordered wine and the interuptions during your stay as this would not be our usual standard of service. We do offer a variety of room types here to include our Tranquility Suites with oversized free standing baths to standard rooms with regular size baths. We do also feature mini fridges in some of our suites but as this is not a regular request from our guests and not a standard feature in hotels, we do not feature them in all of our bedrooms. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback which has been shared with our management team and staff and I hope that you will return to us at some future date. Please contact me directly on sales@armadahotel.com and I shall ensure that your requirements and room type are suited to your needs and that you have an enjoyable stay as many other Trip Advisors members have had.
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent,good value break with wonderful food.The rooms were very comfortable,clean, and well heated for the time of year.We will certainly visit again, and will reccomend this hotel for value and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for recommending the Armada Hotel to other Trip Advisor members. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our good food and found that we offered good value for money. We look forward to welcoming back to Spanish Point very soon again.
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent three nights at the Armada. It is a wonderful location to step away from it all & relax. The food is excellent. In fact the bar & carvery are on a par with the restaurant. We did not leave the hotel for any meals which speaks for itself. It is a very busy hotel on Saturdays as it is a very popular wedding venue. As a result the ocean view bar is not open when there is a wedding which is a pity as it is a lovely place to sit & relax, brighter than the traditional bar.
The service was excellent, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere.
Am really looking forward to returning mid week to sample more serenity in one of their ocean suites.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member
Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay in the Armada. Glad to read that you found our food to be excellent in our Pearl Restaurant, Johnny Burke's Bar and our Ocean Bar and that you enjoyed excellent service throughout your stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and delighted to read that you are planning a return visit to us. You will be most heartily welcome !
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.6 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
562 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
975 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
347 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing