We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money - make note of their special offers section!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money - make note of their special offers section!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute for a Sunday evening - and were not disappointed. A special offer running for Sunday nights cost us €60pp and included a three course meal. The rooms were large and clean - luckily we had made note to ask for a second storey, sea-view room (a definite must). They also included a spacious jacuzzi bathtub - which was a nice surprise!

The hotel is in a great location, right on the beachfront and minutes from Lahinch village, the Cliffs of Moher, Aillwee Caves, ferries to the islands, dolphin watching etc.

While there is a separate menu for the special offer three course meal, we didn't even ask for the à la carte (available for a small supplement) - as the set menu was fantastic. We were very happy with the food - the fresh local fish is especially good. Breakfast was also a treat with a large variety of hot menu items available. The staff were very, very friendly and helpful on our stay. All in all, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a second storey room with a sea view. Rooms with jacuzzi bathtubs are available. The hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeoutofmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on your stay with us. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and that you managed to secure one of our seaview rooms on a special offer, which we do from time to time in low season. We appreciate your nice compliments on our coastal location, our breakfast buffet and dinner and delighted to read too, that you are planning a return visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    319
    131
    59
    50
See reviews for
259
575
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The location to us was absolutely perfect beside the ocean....what made it for us was the staff and how friendly they were, the room / rooms were lovely and clean..... and we were there just 2 days after our daughter got married.... and she has now gone to the Armada for a short "honeymoon break" on this recommendation .... :)

Room Tip: an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Im just back from a night in the armada hotel...it was a fab location and a very clean hotel... The staff where friendly on the front desk and answered any questions I asked...the room was lovely and we had a ocean view which we enjoyed...
when we arrived we had a drink in the bar and watched the rugby bar staff where friendly and we then went for a quick bit to eat in the ocean bar where the person serving the food was not very pleasant we asked for sandwiches she hardly replied more grunted... The salad that accompanied the sandwich was limp and dried up... :-/ !!!
the bar in the evening was very quite and no set atmosphere eg. background music etc... We had to ask for some to be put on..
but on return after our meal in the town in a fab bar cogans we returned to a great nights entertainment as there was a charity Boxing night on... I would say it would have been a very early night in bed watching tv if not for the charity night far to quite and I would be great if the bar had some sort of music on Fri -sunday eg one man band...for the visitors to hotel....
This morning the breakfast was to die for and staff couldn't do more for us...but over all our stay was pleasant.

this hotel would be a fab location for a relaxing spa and I feel would trive... I will be back In the busy season to see the differance as it is a fab place overall...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely compliments on our unique location, good accommodation standards and the great breakfast which you enjoyed. Our staff are regularly commended for their friendliness and I am sorry that this was not what you experienced when you visited our Flagship Bar. We did have a very busy night for the boxing event which was a charity fundraising night and although there may not have been music earlier in the bar, i believe it commenced after the event so I am sorry that you missed this as I believe the atmosphere became very lively. Glad to hear that you are planning a return visit to us as we are always delighted to welcome back past guests.
Looking forward to seeing you soon in Spanish Point again,
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Armada Hotel for a short Febuary break. On our arrival we were upgraded to an Ocean view room. What an amazing view. The sun glinting off the waves of the Atlantic. The beautiful sunset with it's mixture of oranges and blue. The walk along the beach is accessable from the hotel, it is sandy and popular with walkers, families and early morning horse riders. When booking I was surprised not to see pictures of these views, they are a selling point. We took photographs of these views.

The hotel facilities are good and the staff are welcoming. The food is good and breakfast in our room was fresh and tasty. The bar facilities were popular with both vistors and locals. The local area has a lot to offer, "The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Kilkee" all worth a visit.
As writen by a previous reviewer the hotel is an "undiscovered gem" and I know we will visit again.

Room Tip: "Rooms with an Ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligeach, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location was beautiful right beside the sea. The hotel itself was a three star at best. The room was big but there were stains on the carpet and it look unclean and it was noisey at night where we were located.
My girlfriend who booked the hotel requested a sea view room, we got a room looking onto the other side of the hotel with a limited view of the sea. The Breakfast left little to the imagination. Over all the location is worth the trip but id be staying else where next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co_ClareFiona, Manager at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for your recent review and I am glad that you enjoyed our location overlooking Spanish Point beach and our spacious rooms. Our accommodation staff are very thorough so apologies if the carpet was not cleaned to its' usual standards, all our rooms are checked daily by our Accommodation Manager and in her absence the supervisor completes the task, so we will continue to ensure that the standards set are delivered to all guests. We do have a variety of rooms for guests to choose from and apologies that you were not allocated a full seaview room which would have afforded you some stunning coastal views. I do hope that you will return to us so that we can match your needs and ensure that you have a very pleasant stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i shall personally assist with your booking.
We appreciate your feedback,
Kind regards,
Fiona Buckley Kitt
Armada Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the Armada as part of a tour. It was definitely an OMG experience of the best kind. I had read of the hotel being part of our itinerary, but was unfamiliar with this part of Ireland. It is right on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. At first I was assigned a room overlooking the road, but when I spoke to the very friendly front desk clerk, requesting a room facing the water, she was able to find one for me. The luck of the Irish was with me that day!

The room was fresh and modern, but for me it was the view and the peaceful atmosphere of the whole hotel. They had an excellent pub and wonderful restaurant. It seemed to be occupied by many Irish travellers, and I can understand how Irish residents would seek this place out. The area is somewhat isolated and sparsely populated. I walked to a nearby beach with a cousin who was on the tour with me, and we both braved the chilly Atlantic and walked out in the water in our bathing suits, but what a thrill that was! I finally achieved my goal to swim in the Atlantic off the Irish coast.

I slept with the windows open, and the temps did drop at night. The staff at the hotel were top notch. The servers in the restaurant were good natured and attentive to special requests.

I would categorize this hotel as generally an "undiscovered gem" which is an overused term, but in this case, I think it fits.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms offer outstanding views and an opportunity to connect with nature. Ask in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for three days last week and had a really great time. The staff are fantastic, efficient, helpful, friendly and courteous at all times.The room was well equipped, spotlessly clean and a really good size. The breakfast was second to none - superb! and the dining room has the best of views - out over the bay, swirling seas and huge Atlantic waves!!Lunch/afternoon snacks in the bar were excellent with a varied choice on the menu - suited us down to the ground.Thanks to all the staff for the warm welcome, the professional approach to ensuring our stay was first class and special mention to Marian who ensured our room was well looked after and we were well catered for.Excellent value and a truly worthwhile experience. Thanks again and we will be returning!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the sea - but any room would be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferryport354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.6 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing