We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Ireland- and they served it for 70 of us!”
Review of Red Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Cliff Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Ireland- and they served it for 70 of us!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are just back from a friend's wedding in Ireland which was at Red Cliff Lodge. I am still amazed that they could serve such delicious and well prepared food for 70 of us. Luckily my boyfriend and I got different choices for dinner so we could pick off each other's plates. From the lamb that was so nice and tender (and pink for my American tastes), to the monkfish that was fresh and not overcooked main meals to the pea risotto with bacon and fresh crab starters, we were delighted. The staff was eager and helpful and never missed a beat on what was a large crowd of revelers for the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of our holiday in Co. Kerry (Parknasilla and Kenmare) and Co. Clare (Spanish Point). This is a fantastic luxury hotel, right over the beach at the Spanish point. The beach here is one of the best in the area, suitable for swimming, relaxing or long walks. There are only six suites in the hotel, from our room we could enjoy views of the Atlantic ocean. We slept and awoke to the incomparable sound of the waves breaking on the beach. Our suite was very spacious, with a kitchenette and generous living space. All the facilities in the hotel have a lot of character, beautiful furniture and good taste. There is a wonderful attention to detail in the entire undertaking. The restaurant is another great experience. The chef is top quality and the food served was gourtmet standards. This was fine dining in Spanish Point. Prices are fair for this kind of quality. After dinner we went for a nightcap to a local pub just a short walk from the hotel, so we didn’t need to drive. The propriator was a fantastic host, making us feel completely at home and highly attentive to our every need. Continental breakfast is provided in the suite. Delicious local products are provided and we could enjoy them while resting in our suite. All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel as a real treat right on the Atlantic.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room in this beautiful spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestoVdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night, the location is superb, right over looking the beautiful beach at Spanish Point, the service from the initial booking phone call was second to none.
The suites are very tastefully decorated and there are no corners cut, every piece of furniture is of the highest quality as is the bed linen and cleanliness is 100%.
The suites are equipped with a tiny kitchenette which has two hobs, a kettle, toaster, pots, pans and crockery, breakfast is a self service arrangement with cereals, freshly squeezed orange juice and milk in the fridge and breads and croissants are delivered in the evening, there is a nice selection of quality jams, however we did find that the amount of bread was quite small, a recommendation would be to have the freshly baked croissants delivered with the bread in the morning and preferably a little more of them, but there is no problem looking for some extra the evening before.
The TV has only about 4-5 channels which might be a factor if you were staying for a couple of days and wanted some quiet evenings in watching TV.
We had dinner in the adjoining restaurant and several tables are looking out onto the ocean, which would be very nice to catch a sunset while dining.
There is a comprehensive menu and the cooking was to perfection, and a nice wine list with wines available by the glass, one small criticism of the starters was on the scallops and pork belly (which is a beautiful combination) there were only 2 scallops on the plate, which does seem a little mean for the price of €11.00.
Overall we loved our stay here and would defnitely come back again, a beautiful tranquil relaxing luxurious place.

Room Tip: Cottage no 1 is quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms! Perfect location! We enjoyed everything about our time there my boys say it was their favorite hotel during our trip to Ireland. It would be a lovely spot for a honeymoon or just a trip to get away from it all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Only ate in restaurant but owner showed us the rooms. As nice as 5* doonbeg but more homely & better located. Food very good too & well priced.

Lovely place for a private party, small wedding etc.

I will stay here next summer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donalanseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had dinner here and had a look at the rooms. Place is gorgeous. Food is really really good. I had the duck terrine, delicious. It was served with a little salad of leaves, orange segments and candied walnuts. Yum yum yum. Had scallops for main, also delicious. I had the cappuccino creme brûlée for dessert, reminded me of a similar one in Pichet. Absolutely divine. All the wines are reasonably priced. We had the Malbec, which was recommended to us. It was pretty good. After dinner we had coffees by the fire in the lounge area. Very cosy, could imagine sitting there for hours on a cold evening. I will definitely be back, hopefully will get a chance to stay here too. I am trying to think of drawbacks to make a more balanced review... The tables are a little close together and if I had my way they'd change the tablecloths to cloth rather than the coated ones. And I'd prefer hand towels to a dryer in the bathrooms. Overall a very high quality experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1Susie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I can only comment on the restaurant since I didn't stay in the rooms. However, it was really top class. Also, reasonably priced. The decor is very tasteful and the food is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasherrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
580 reviews
7.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
6.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliff Lodge

Property: Red Cliff Lodge
Address: R482, Spanish Point, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliff Lodge Suites and Restaurant overlooking Spanish Point beach is a wonderful thatched property. Food served in the Sun-Lounge, terrace and restaurant daily. Guests can enjoy a glass of wine while they watch the sun set in the evening overlooking the Atlantic! Seaview Suites are arranged in a courtyard style, lovely setting in surroundings of luxury. Unique feature of the suites is the integrated kitchenette which is ideal for family and self catering guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing