We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Fota Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fota Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night in September with my wife as a birthday treat. Being from Cork, we had no desire to go exploring anywhere outside the hotel and this suited us perfectly.

The reception area is very nice on arrival and staff are helpful and polite. The rooms are lovely, well sized and well appointed. One disappointing aspect was that despite having a mini bar, no bottle opener is provided and among the toiletries, no shower gel or shampoo were provided. It took 2 calls to guest services and 90 minutes to rectify but this was only a small issue.

I had a 1 hour swedish massage and as mentioned on a previous review 110 euro is a bit on the pricey side but the treatment afforded to you as a customer if excellent and again staff were friendly. It is worth going a few minutes early and making use of the thermal suite. Afterwards, it is a nice touch to get a fruit plate and some juice in the relaxation suite.

There are 2 restaurants (the cove and the fota island) we ate in the Fota Island and this is casual dining with a 3 course set menu costing 47.50. A 750ml bottle of water comes in at 5euro and the mark up on wine looks to be a bit steep with the average bottle costing 35euro. The food was excellent and service great.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel. It is well worth staying here as a base in East Cork but you will need a car. There is nothing within walking distance for visitors and a taxi to Cork City is roughly 30-35euro

  • Liked — Staff friendlieness
  • Disliked — pricey wine
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CorkPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    523
    329
    160
    104
See reviews for
658
919
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We set off from the West Country early in the morning, arriving at the hotel well after 11pm the same evening, and after a long day of travelling, the greeting by the staff was tremendous.

We were staying in one of the lodges on Courseside, and were not given directions, but actually taken there by the concerige! and shown around. What service!

The lodge was spectacular, 3 large Bedrooms, all with on-suite, large open plan living/dining room, and spacious kitchen. We even had a room to store the Golf Clubs with drying room (which we needed!). In the daylight, the patio, with ouside seating led to a wooded area at the back, and across the road behind the other lodges was one of the golf courses.

Having travelled to Ireland several times before, this was the firsd time our daughter, her partner, and our grandchild of 10 months had visited. We had wanted a family holiday, but not too hot for the baby, plenty spa treatments for the ladies, and of course golf! They loved it, and the spacious lodge meant plenty of roaming around in her walker, which was great fun.

Customer service at it highest was demonstrated when one of the showers leaked, causing the security alarm to be activated. The Security staff were there within minutes, shortly followed by the Maintenance staff, and all repairs concluded within a couple of hours, with, I must say, plenty of compensation for the little inconvience we had suffered.

We only ate in the hotel restraunt once, as it was a little expensive, and not a lot of choice. Whilst the meals in the golf club house were 'large in portion', again not much choice, but better value, and we didn't really make use of the facilities. When we did the staff were very good with catering for our grandchild.

You definately need transport to get out and about, as the number of attactions are at least 30 mins away, with Killarny, Kinsale and Kenmore a little futher a field. Not far from the Jack Lynch tunnel is a fabulous shopping centre, cinema and Tesco! We also found a number of other out of town shopping centres on our travels.

Anyone with children, or teenagers, may find the resort 'short' in facilities or activities to keep them entertained on a regular basis, more so in the evenings......

Would we return.... You bet! A great get away, in a fabulous resort.

Overheard in Fota Island Wildlife Park, two ladies exchanging details of where to go/stay, remarked on 'how the other half must live' in the resort!

  • Liked — Luxury feel
  • Disliked — Remoteness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank arkgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Clare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 19 month old daughter and was very impressed. The rooms are really nice and the black-out curtains ensured that we all had a lie-in in the mornings. The staff were also really friendly. We had a lovely stress-free few days.

  • Liked — Child friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My Husband and I took our children to stay here as a treat for 3 days.We found the hotel beautiful,rooms lovely and bathrooms were fantastic,Hotel set in lovely surroundings on a golf course, only a mile to fota island park and a couple of miles to beautiful Cobh. Initial greeting on check in was excellent, Food was superb Breakfast in particular, we had dinner just one evening the service was diabolical even though restaurant was not very full we waited 50 mins for soup as a starter and then had to wait 40mins more for maincourse my children meals did not arrive until both adults were finished, they had all ordered pasta not too difficult for a 5* hotel chef to produce, we concluded it was not the waitresses fault but the kitchens, we found that the young restaurant managers were snooty and unapproachable and full of their own importance,we were not asked how our meal was and given no chance to voice a complaint .On check out I was not asked had we enjoyed our stay or thanked for my custom. Would I go back I do not think so. We will go where our patronage is appreciated

  • Liked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sanlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed in the Sheraton for three nights in July. The hotel is very nice, in a lovely setting. Taxis are required if you want to go out in Cork City as it is about 10-15 miles away. Rooms are lovely and bathroom is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful although when we rang for directions to the hotel on the day we drove there we had to speak to 3 people before anyone could direct us!The breakfast was really lovely, so many options and everything piping hot! My partner loved dinner in the restaurant although I was disappointed with the vegetarian option. The bar food menu also only has a panini as a vegetarian option! We both had treatments in the spa which were wonderful. Overall it is a lovely hotel to get away from it all and the level of service, decor and rooms make it a definite 5 star.

  • Liked — Rooms and setting
  • Disliked — lack of vegetarian options in restaurant and bar
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We travelled in a large family group to celebrate a birthday. Our room was fine with a connecting room for the children.

Breakfast was fine - just ask for anything you want. We asked for porridge, poached eggs, milk shakes, hot chocolate and the staff were happy to oblige.

The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful. The Concierge suggested places to eat and visit. They were happy to make a special chocolate birthday cake for our birthday meal in the Fota Restaurant.

We only ate once in the Fota Restaurant and it was a bit hit & miss. Some meals were excellent and some were disappointing. The Amber Lounge serves meals and snacks until 6pm or 8pm depending on which night it is. The food there was lovely - with a good range of childrens meals. The Golf Club serves meals all day and children are welcome. We ate there several times and the food was fine.

The golfers enjoyed the golf at the hotel. There are 3 courses to choose from.

The Spa facilities are fabulous. If you have a treatment you get free use of the hydrotherapy pool and facilities - otherwise it costs 25 euros. So its worth it to book a pamper!

The pool is available for children from 9am to 11am and 4pm to 6pm. Some mornings there was a Cheetah Club for children which was a room of toys with supervision. My 5 yr old enjoyed it.
There is no outdoor play area for kids.

The nearby Wildlife Park is worth a visit. The Concierge will give you a lift but only if he's not busy. You really need a car as there isn't much around the hotel area. Only a 10 minute drive away is Cobh - where the Titantic berthed for the last time. There is a Heritage Centre there and a few shops. You can take the ferry to Cork from there or take a boat trip around the harbour.

We managed to keep the young children and the teens entertained whilst the golfers were out on the golf course. We loved the hotel but there is not much for youngsters to do in or around the area.

  • Liked — The staff - lots of local people worked there
  • Disliked — Lack of children's facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights we have 3 kids so booked 2 rooms, the rooms were clean and bathrooms very smart and modern with walk in showers. We eat in the bar and were surprised to see many familys there as we have found other cork hotels to be very un family friendly. The service was superb and food very good for bar food. We used the pool with the kids (restricted times) twice a day and the hotel even supplied arm bands. The breakfast was great you could order eggs cooked or just help yourself. Bar prices were reasonable we had family over and the were surprised to see beer at almost pub prices. We eat in the golf club as well were we had the place to ourselves. The hotel is handy for cobh and fota wildlife park is right next store (tickets inc). South cork is just a short ferry ride away. We have stayed in many cork hotels and this is by far the best (not cheap) with the best staff mix of irish and old europeans. We shall be staying again and will try and book a lodge next time as you have use of the hotel with privacy of a house.

  • Liked — Staff and cleaniness
  • Disliked — lack of linked rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inishfalleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,674 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Property: Fota Island Resort
Address: Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fota Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing