We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fota Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fota Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four who spent three nights in a three-bed lodge in Feb 2014. The house was spacious, clean and well-equipped. We enjoyed the spa pool, although be aware that the pool hours are restricted for kids. There is a playground, tennis court and plenty of space for the kids to play outside. Our lunch at the clubhouse was quite good. Since only a few sachets of coffee, milk and tea bags are provided, ensure you do a quick grocery shop when you arrive in Cork. The staff were courteous and helpful. Nearby Bramley Lodge is great for lunch or early dinner. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightfamily0f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our Lodges are always a great family getaway, especially for the kids!

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments. Please visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    495
    309
    146
    92
See reviews for
597
870
18
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent two night stay here. Reception area is lovely, and we liked the fact that there were sectioned off check in areas- not just one desk everyone queues behind. Staff were so polite and friendly, and were very helpful with anything we asked for- from directions to restaurant recommendations! Restaurant was lovely- the chocolate fondant was to die for!! The room was nice, although I think for a 5 star hotel they could be slightly better. The bed was massive and comfortable though! Nice little touches by the hotel make it very pleasant- chocolates on the pillows and given a rose in the restaurant. Definitely spend time in the spa, it's gorgeous! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brickej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the special touches we added to your Valentines weekend stay. We are most pleased to learn that guests have a great experience throughout all aspects of our resort.

Thank you for taking the time to review our services and facility. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff are great, the rooms are fab. The restaurant is on the pricey side and the food is not "the best", not on par with the hotel anyway, but that's a choice. On the other hand breakfast was great with plenty of light in the room and vast amount of choice. Variety of newspapers laid out for your choosing. We had passes to the VIP SPA, where we indulged in the relaxation rooms for hours! There is no sauna but the steam room is pretty good. There are 2 pool areas: VIP and regular (I guess), which looked lovely and not too busy.

The surrounding grand are great, went out for a run on the Saturday morning and hit the gym on the Sunday morning (I appreciate most people would not care about those facilities.. certainty I wouldn't few months ago).

We had massages done at the spa, which were Ok but nothing amazing.

Overall the hotel itself is lovely, the staff is brilliant and the breakfast is to die for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAntova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am happy to hear that your overall stay at the resort was enjoyable. I am disappointed however to hear that your experience at our restaurant and spa was not up to your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, and I have forwarded your concerns on to the appropriate managers.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fota Island Resort soon.

Warm regards,
John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Recently we stayed at Fota Island Resort Hotel, a 5 star hotel! Not in our opinion. There is so much wrong it will take forever!. Bar area, non existent! Food overpriced! Kids allowed to run riot. Only reasonable thing was the staff were doing their best. If this hotel is to succeed changes are needed ASAP. We left our comment card with the assistant manager and we hope he passes on our thoughts. For now best avoid this place!.

Room Tip: Look for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We take the opinions of our guests very seriously, and I have forwarded your concerns on to the appropriate managers. We did have an extremely busy mid-term break period with families which accounts for a large number of children at the resort during your stay. I’m sorry to read of your comments on our Amber Lounge area, as its high-quality decor and relaxed atmosphere usually appeals to guests very much.

I hope you will visit us again so that we can have the opportunity to improve the impression you were left with on this occasion.

Kind regards,
John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Myself And my Sister went to the spa today for a relaxing spa day. I must say on arrival we were waiting a while to be seen to then we got pointed in the direction of the spa changing area which was quiet messy and filled with kids personally from working in spas myself your experience should be relaxing from start to finish this includes changing areas we then briefly got shown around the facilities which were not great and quiet cold the only positive was the treatment and the therapist which were both fabulous!!!! We then had lunch in the clubhouse the food was fab but terrible service half cleaned off our table and then didn't even ask did we want tea/coffee when we asked for them we waited a further 15 minutes and then noticed or coffees sitting at the bar going cold so we went up outselfs and took them!!! Very poor quality for somewhere that says it's 5 star

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our facilities and services. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your spa treatment, but I am sorry to learn that your experience with the Spa facilities and the Clubhouse were not up to your expectations. I have forwarded your comments and concerns to the appropriate Senior Managers.

We are experiencing an exceptionally busy mid-term break period which may have had some bearing on your experience today. Our Resort Sales Manager, Helen Murphy would like to discuss this further with you and would be most grateful if, at your convenience, you could contact her at the Resort on tel (021) 488 3700. She looks forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for your feedback and review.

Warm regards,

John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Contacted by representative from Fota Island acknowledging the disappointment with our stay in September and was advised that we would receive an e-mail communication from them. That was back in October and have still had no contact from them....... What can I say....

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hollydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments. We always try to follow up with our guests on their concerns, and I sincerely apologise for not getting back to you in a timely fashion. We hope you will return to Fota Island Resort to give us a chance to improve the impression you were left with from your previous visit.

Thank you again for leaving you comments.

Warm regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by lovely, warm, friendly staff. The reception area was very welcoming with giant fresh flower bouquets and a warm open fire. The room was spotless, with a huge bathroom, large walk in shower and separate bath. The little touches like magazines, bottles of water, i-pod dock and chocolates on the pillows made this hotel stand out. We had access to the hydrotherapy suites with our stay, which was just what we needed, it was so relaxing. There is also a large, very clean, pool and changing room area. We didnt have time for any spa treatments on our stay but would definitely try them the next time we are there. The bar area is lovely, the live lounge music was very nice and the mojitos were to die for! The breakfast is definitely worth getting up for, they have literally everything you could think of, we had a four course breakfast which set us up nicely for our day at the wildlife park! The waiters/waitresses were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Raoul. We had absolutely nothing we could complain about, except the weather, which didnt bother us at all because we didnt want to go outside and leave this hotel! We have stayed in some four star hotels recently in Europe, and this was like a 7 star hotel in comparison. Well done to all the staff at Fota Island, and thank you for a memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Im not sure if there is a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable experience staying with us at Fota Island Resort. We are most pleased to learn that guests have a great experience throughout all aspects of our resort.

We hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

John O’Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Property: Fota Island Resort
Address: Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing