We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surroundings”
Review of Fota Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fota Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fota island resort and golf club is set in a lovely area,some 15 km from cork airport about 35 euros for taxi,if you are going during school holidays be aware of the little elves known as children, at times lots of them.As sweet as they are,not always welcome when you want a peaceful drink at the bar,so next time my wife and I visit we will try term time,apart from that our stay very pleasurable,food excellent,staff friendly,nice pool,sauna,room service,also went to clubhouse which could do with a new carpet and a buff up,staff a little away with the fairies.If you have time go to Cobh and visit the Titanic museum, Good time had and well worth a visit.Only bad point is no access to Fota rail station from resort but can be got to via wildlife park about 2km away with trains every hour as the hotel will pick you up from here if arranged prior.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the members of staff as they take pride in giving a warm and personalised service to all our guests to ensure that they feel at home during their stay. I am delighted to hear that you experienced this.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again soon.

Kind regards,

John O’Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here with a couple of friends on a leisurely afternoon to have coffee. Beautiful surroundings and beautiful hotel and the food is excellent. What lets it down hugely though is the service. We had to get a staff member's attention to get menus, again to give them our order, then when our desserts came...one was missing. It was only a simple order. And then to get our bill, yet again we had to get someone's attention, and believe it or not when we wanted to pay, we had to get someone's attention again!! Quite incredible for a 5 Star hotel. It meant we couldn't really relax and enjoy the experience. Because the hotel is beautiful, I would really like to return because it has the potential to be an excellent place to go for afternoon tea, but I really hope the service improves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lochmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your recent visit to our Resort did not live up to your expectations completely.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant Heads of Departments for their attention to ensure that you and other guests don’t experience any issues in the future. I can assure you that our staff take pride in giving a warm, friendly and personalised service to all our guests. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience this during your visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again in the near future and show you what great service we have to offer.

Kind regards,

John O’Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had the pleasure of visiting Fota recently for a two night stay. Room was lovely - bright spacious and clean. Hotel is the same. Staff were very nice, even offering our 17 month old colouring books to keep her occupied. Wife and I loved the food. We ate in the restaurant on night and the bar the next. Breakfast was very tasty as well. Fitness room and the pool were great, didnt visit the spa on this trip.

Would definitely go back and would recommend it to people too.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Raff_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff as they take pride in providing a warm and friendly service.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again soon. I hope you get to enjoy a relaxing Spa treatment as well then.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel and it won't be the last.Superb room,excellent food and the staff were very friendly and professional.We both enjoyed the spa facilities especially the hydrotheraphy pool.There is lots to do in the area,a visit to the Titanic Experience in Cobh is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little00715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us these kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff as they take pride in giving a warm and personalised yet professional service to every guest. They are always delighted to hear that their work is appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again on an occasion in the near future.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times- last Easter was the most recent. Location is great- it's so close to fota wildlife. Babysitting available (a must for us!). The food in the bar was great. Pool and spa facilities would be difficult to beat. Room was perfect. A reallyrics pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the members of staff as they take pride in making sure that every guest gets to feel at home during their stay at Fota Island Resort. They will be happy to hear that their service is appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again soon.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed on fota for 2 nights on our first family break, our baby is 6 months old. Spacious bedroom, fab bathroom which made our set up and stay easy. Pool is lovely, we didn't dine inhouse. Staff in particular deserve a mention, we found the very professional, helpful & friendly. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Fota Island Resort to the fullest. I will be more than happy to pass your feedback on to our staff. They take pride in giving a friendly and personalised service to every guest to ensure that they feel at home during their stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in November 2012 with our three young children (aged between five and eight).
Despite the hotel being modern, the interior decor is warm and inviting, with an old-world feel, without being a pastiche of some past time.
We had interconnecting rooms for ourselves and the children. These were extremely spacious and very well equipped for our needs. The bathrooms were big and luxurious and the beds extremely comfortable.
The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful in arranging local taxis, even shopping around to ensure we got the best rates.
The kids menu in the main restaurant offered great choice and we were made very welcome as a family.
Lunch in the golf club was more relaxed, but delicious food and highy recommended.
The breakfasts were memorable.
The pool and spa were really well appointed, very relaxing and with a beautiful vista.
There was a children's room, but not much going on there during our stay.
The proximity to the Wildlife park was a big plus for the kids.
You feel as though you are hidden away in the countryside, even though Cork city is no more than a short drive.
All in all we came home very well rested and relaxed and would thoroughly recommend the Fota Island Resort for a family weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us these kind words. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us fully. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the members of staff as they take pride in giving a warm and friendly service to all our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family to Fota Island Resort again soon.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,281 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,715 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Address: Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Price Range: $151 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fota Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing