We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”
Review of Fota Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fota Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I doubt if this hotel saw many stacation during Celtic tiger times.. But it has adapted well the family loved it only a short trip to park.. The leisure centre was fab and the patience of the waiting staff in both bar and rest was particularly commendable when dealing with "lively " kids thanks all!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the family friendly facilities, including the playground near the self-catering lodges and kids hours for the pool. It also pleases me that you received the personalised and caring service from our staff throughout the Resort, but particularly in the Amber Lounge. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another luxurious and relaxing holiday at Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    502
    316
    149
    93
See reviews for
610
882
21
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Myself, my partner and our 20 months old daughter stayed in Fota Island Resort on Sunday night of October bank holiday week end. It was a last minute decision to go away for 1 night so we only booked the hotel on Saturday but we managed to get a very good deal.
Overall, I loved the hotel and wished we could ve stayed longer. And we are definitely going to be back soon!
Location is very good, a short drive to/from Cork. We wanted to attend some of the live jazz gigs that week end and we found it easy to commute to and from Cork.
Overall, I loved everything about this hotel: lovely reception area, attentive and very professional staff, great dinner in the evening and a fabulous breakfast in the morning! Our room was very spacious, quiet and bathroom was amazing, with walk-in shower and deep bath with one of those waterfall type taps. Toiletries provided were of the high quality.
I didnt use the spa as we had too much planned for our short stay there but I so wish I did, and next time I will.
I had a look at the kids program which was available for that week as it was school holidays week and was very impressed.
We did visit Fota Island Park and if you tell at reception they give you a discount card for the park.
I am really looking forward to our return to Fota Island resort soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiasmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday here so much that you did not want to leave! All of the staff prides themselves on providing guests attentive service so that each guest is comfortable and feels at ease throughout their holiday.

It pleases me that you and your family enjoyed the facilities, particularly the bathroom's rain forest shower. Also pleased that you and your family had time to travel into Cork City Centre for a jazz performance and to take your young daughter to Fota Wildlife Park, where she was likely enchanted by the exotic animals. During your next stay, you will experience a relaxing treatment as well as enjoy the Hydrotherapy and Thermal Suites.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another luxurious stay that is synonymous to Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for a Wedding was very impressed as I heard so much about it before I stayed. Would definitely recommend service was unbelievable like clockwork. Rooms were comfy spacious and clean. Breakfast was buffet great variety and restaurant was also tasty. Staff pleasant and helpful. Would stay again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am pleased that you found the service perfect and the accommodation to be comfortable and spacious. Our chefs take great pride in creating seasonal and delicious dishes for each guest, it pleases me that you experienced this. We all look forward to welcoming you to Fota Island Resort again to experience another relaxing holiday.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

myself and my husband had a fab relaxing night away in fota. The spa was so relaxing, food was very good, room lovely and the staff were very pleasant. next time we will have to stay longer we just didnt want to go home. the hydro pool was the best yet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlizCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am delighted that you and your husband had a five star getaway at Fota Island Resort and took full advantage of our world-class Spa, particularly the hydrotherapy pool, enjoyed our talented chefs' creations and that the staff all gave you personalised service to make your experience memorable and relaxing. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Fota Island to experience another luxurious holiday here at the Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second time here. We got a 3 nights (including Breakfast) for 2 offer direct from the hotel's website. We also added in a 3 Course meal in the Fota Resturant, Afternoon Tea for 2 in the Amber Lounge and one Harmony Massage in the spa.

The staff are lovely and courteous. We are a young couple and sometimes young couples are treated differently for whatever reasons- but we were treated just as well as the people who were there for a PwC conference, families, golfers or whoever you like.

The food isn't cheap, but it is great value for money. Large portions in the Amber Lounge (Afternoon Tea is a must) and high quality meats in the Fota Restaurant (we had the beef and the lamb - highly recommended). The service is also exceptional. Breakfast is a great experience. Aside from the melon salad, this is something that all guests should look forward to.

The Spa is great. It is a great excuse to never leave the hotel. The gym is perfectly functional, the pool is long enough in parts to get a decent swim in and the Hydrotherapy Suite is a great place to relax.

The only complaint I would have is that room service is a bit steep - the food is very nice - but at €5 per tray (not per order) it can add up if you get it more than once, or if you have a family.

We will be going back in March and I have to say we can't wait.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms face the forest, wildlife side of the hotel. The standard rooms are slightly smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmccDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. It delights me that both of you enjoyed your holiday with us. Our staff all pride themselves on giving the best personalised service to each of our guests, including couples, families and business travelers.

It also pleased me to read that you experienced excellent dining. Our chefs are continuously creating new dishes for the upcoming season and to excite the diners.

Our Spa Manager cares deeply about making the Spa a relaxing and luxurious experience for guests and she will be pleased to read that the Spa was reason for you to stay longer.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back in March for another relaxing and re-energising getaway at Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful surrounds, lodges available also, however on this occasion it was more cost effective to stay in the hotel. Stayed as part of a 3 night special with buffet breakfast included. Place very clean, lovely atmosphere, food delicious. Staff extremely courteous, exactly what you would expect from a 5 * hotel.
Breakfast each morning was a busy affair but I am pleased to say that standards remained high, despite all the kids running around! Ate each afternoon in the bar, (really liked this room, designed like a study, nice relaxing open fire, another open fire in the lobby), not by choice but just the way it worked out. Once again the food was top class. Would have liked to sample the main restaurant delights however not this time.
All in, very pleasant stay, fine gym, spa and swimming pool. Will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your five star holiday at Fota Island Resort and that our staffs' personalised and friendly service made your stay memorable. Also pleased that you tried many of the facilities here, including our world-class Spa. Thank you for your kind review and hope to welcome you back soon to experience another luxurious stay which is synonymous to Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from our stay in Foto Island Hotel. From the moment we entered the lobby we relaxed. A girl named Sabina on reception was unbelievably lovely and helpful a real treasure!
Our room was fab spacious and comfortable and what a great bathroom! Just great. The pool was great but the kiddies pool was not in use last night. We ate in the Amber Lounge last night and again the food lovely and staff very attentive. Breakfast - where do I begin fresh orange juice, watermelon kiwi strawberries raspberries pineapple blackberries all beautifully fresh. Any bread you could possibly want. Hot food bacon eggs hash browns pudding tomato mushroom. Cereals what ever you want! one of the waitress Cherry was her name was so lovely and she got pancakes for my daughters, so yummy. Again Cherry was so lovely like a ray on sunshine bright smile and so very pleasant. All the staff were so lovely and very attentive. Would go back again in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you, Anne H, for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am delighted that you experienced a wonderful stay in the Hotel and particularly enjoyed the varied breakfast selection in the Fota Restaurant. I have forwarded on your review on to Cherry and Sabina, who were both pleased to have helped you and your family have a fully enjoyable holiday.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Property: Fota Island Resort
Address: Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fota Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing