We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - Inconsistent Food”

Fota Island Golf Club
Attraction details
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely views, but had lunch on three occasions but dishes lacked consistency.
Staff may require more training.
One occasion I did have a great fish, but that was after I returned my first choice as the dish as it was inedible!
Credit to the chef as the complaint was dealt with efficiently and produced an excellent alternate dish.

Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Fota Island Golf Club. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.

I am disappointed to hear your recent visit to our restaurant was not quiet up to your expectations at first. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the alternate dish. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse Staff.

In order to improve our services all your comments have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that the next visit will be to your highest satisfaction.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

What an amazing place .My son and daughter In law held there wedding reception in the clubhouse it was fantastic 'where do I start ' The staff were excellent the could not do enough for us .From the time we entered they made sure any thing guests needed was sorted .The wedding reception room was just beautifully decorated ,the tables were just gorgeous ,the service here was excellent .love the little touch of all staff wearing white gloves while serving the food.
The food was excellent real 5 star if I tried to find a complaint I couldn't .so well done to all involved in preparing and cooking the meal it was perfect for a perfect day .

1  Thank irishjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your review of Fota Island Golf Club is very much appreciated.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the wedding reception of your son and daughter in law at the Resort. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that the next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We played a friendly fourball here last Friday and despite all the recent bad weather the course was in very good condition. We played the Deerpark course and the fairways were very good, so was the rough as unfortunately we can testify too. But the greens were the best of all, like carpet. The course looks like lots of work has been done on it lately and the 18th is still a great finishing hole.
We had bite to eat afterwards in the bar and there's a new menu which absolutely lovely. Between the four of us we must've nearly sampled everything. The trio of deserts is a lovely touch.

1  Thank AJ&Keats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We appreciate your review of Fota Island Golf Club.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your game of Golf on our Deerpark Course. Your kind comments about The Spike Bar will be passed on to the Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
John O’Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a group of Golfers and non-golfers our weekend in Fota was one to remember thanks to all the staff in the clubhouse.
Food was gorgeous, and staff could not have done enough for us, nothing was a problem and everyone was so accommodating to our needs.

If you are lucky enough to get to see Fota we would recommend as a golfer and non-golfer to try the clubhouse menu for at least one of your evening meals.

Thank niamh833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your review of Fota Island Golf Club is very much appreciated.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at the Resort. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that the next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We saw advertisement on roadside for Lunch at FotaGolfClub priced at home€9.95. Decided to give it a try at this price. Manager showed up to seating and have up menus. 15 minutes later.. we had to approach member of staff to take our order. Staff member apologized and toll our order. Lunch Main Course was €12.50.
Meal duly arrived and was Stone Cold as was veg and gravy, which was chocolate brown and all over plate like a chocolate font. Nobody came to our table to enquire if meal was okay. No sign of Manager up to when we paid and complained. Usual reply to complaint,"I Will pass it on". This is a cliche i am tired of. What use is that to me after having to eat a COLD. MEAL. Hope they get act in order expensive Golf Irish Open.
Read Reviews of Nov. 2013 to endorse my complaint.

Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Fota Island Golf Club.

I am disappointed to hear your recent visit to our restaurant was not up to your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and I apologise if you did not experience this. All your comments have been taken on board in order to improve our services.

We have tried to contact you personally in an effort to discuss your review.

We hope you consider returning to our restaurant to experience the excellent service that is synonymous with Fota Island Resort.

Warm regards,
John O'Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fota Island Golf Club also viewed

 
County Cork, Province of Munster
 

Been to Fota Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing