We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced and poor bunkers”

Fota Island Golf Club
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“over priced and poor bunkers”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

had a golf outing for 10 people, played fota on a Saturday morning. we played the barryscourt course and the first 9 holes were an absolute disgrace. the bunkers looked like they had not been tended in months, lots of grass in them and there were deep gouges from recent rain. the greens were also very patchy.
the second nine were in much better condition. but to be honest you can play much better courses for €50.

as a group we were all very disappointed and won't be back!

Helpful?
Thank MayHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of Fota Island Golf Club. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.

I am disappointed to hear your visit and playing our Championship Golf courses was not up to your expectations.
In order to improve our services all your comments have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that the next visit will be to your highest satisfaction.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    14
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A welcome site”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A great break from the wind and rain on the surrounding links courses. Fota island was a welcome refreshing break. Easy to locate and a fabulous facility. I would go back when on tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LenKinSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your visit at Fota Island Golf Club. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last visit at Fota Island Golf Club. Your kind comments will be passed on to our course staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that your next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
162 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good food relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We just visited Fota golf club for lunch , it was busy with lots of large parties for lunch . The choice was good , but the food was better. The staff were attentive and friendly , all at a reasonable cost

Helpful?
Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your visit at Fota Island Golf Club. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last visit at the Spike Bar. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse and kitchen staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that your next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I recently stayed in the Fota resort for a wedding. The ceremony and the meal were superb. we enjoyed a meal in the golf club house, the service was excellent and we were made feel very welcome and special, we were served by the supervisor Deirdre who gave us great recommendation on the wine list and menu. We felt really at home and relaxed. just what we needed. I will recommend this resort to friends and family and I will be returning in the future.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate you reviewing your experience at Fota Island Golf Club.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last visit and the wedding at Fota Island Golf Club. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that your next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't get anything better!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Spent last weekend in the hotel/resort. It is top notch. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the room was comfy, warm and anything asked for was promptly attended to. The food in the bar and the restaurant was nothing short of exceptional, I even got to speak to the head chef Phillip brazil, and he has such a vision for the place. So friendly!! I will go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyboy256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Fota Island Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the food at Fota Restaurant and the Amber lounge. Your kind comments will be passed on to our kitchen staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that your next stay will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fota Island Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Fota Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing