We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty venison!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We came here for an evening meal whilst staying with friends who live in the area. When we arrived, it took a while for us to catch someones eye and let them know that we had a reserved table. However, after that service was excellent. We all selected the main course of venison fillet. it was beautifully presented,so tender and tasty, and served with delicious accompaniments.
Our bottle of wine was also good although a little on the pricey side. A selection of various desserts also got the thumbs up. Overall, a lovely evening!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank antano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldener Ochs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were looking for a stop between Vienna and Salzburg and happened upon the Goldener Ochs. We were pleasently surprised with cleanliness, friendliness and extra ammenities the Hotel had to offer. The pool and spa were a welcome relief from our travel. The early check in allowed us to go visit the area without all of our luggage and then come back and relax. We were travelling with three adults and the reception was able to suggest a Suite room that was perfect for us. It even had a outdoor deck were we could enjoy the cool evening in privacy. The town was lovely. We went out for dinner and then came back and really enjoyed the pool and spa. In the morning the breakfast included an excellent variety of hot and cold items and went far beyond my expectations of a Continental breakfast -superb!!! Thank you Goldener Ochs - friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you have more that 3 adults.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank levans20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We realy enjoyed our stay at Goldener Ochs. The spa area was amazing, as was the breakfast selection. The staff was very helpful with suggestions and information. Bad Ischl was a great town and the Goldener Ochs was a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just came back from Goldener Ochs and must say, we had a great time! We totally enjoyed our stay.
Hotel staff super nice - Monica, receptionist was very kind and prepared to help with good sense of humour. Frau Schweiger, as a property owner, was always around, having a smile, few nice words for guests and creating a real family atmosphere.
Our first trip with the baby and also my parents. They provided us with 2 rooms at the end of the coridor, next to each other, so we had a real privacy and close to get a parent´s help with the baby if needed. Couldn´t get better rooms :)
Rooms even oriented to a street are quiet (not much traffic), clean, cosy. Only thing you might miss is the mini bar or fridge. Some rooms also have a coffee maker.
Breakfast/Food. Fantastic! Wide variety of choice for breakfast! Fresh and delicious. I really appreciated diary free (lactose frei) and gluten free products. Brakfast was a highlight of the day for us! We also tried hotel restaurant and all the dishes we had (goulash, fish and cheese dumplings) were very delicious. Recommend to try their kitchen as well.
Wellness. Swimming pool with the mountains spring water. Nicely equipped. Steam sauna, finish sauna, massages. Don`t forget your pool shoes, they are not complimentary, but you can still buy them for 3eur at the reception.
Location. Centrally located, by the river bank. Everything is close.
Parking. If you are lucky you get a free parking spot on the street in front of the building. Otherwise you can still park in the hotel garage for 7e/day.
Very nice hotel, with such nice interior and great atmosphere. Thumbs up and our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from Vienna beginning our tour to Salzburg passing thru small villages such as BAD ISCHL. Great view from balcony. Everyone was very friendly i wish we could stay longer will recommend as a good choice to stay. Good!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We returned to this hotel after an absence of 10 years but to our delight, the pleasant atmosphere and friendly reception was still the same. A warm welcome, a clean and proper room and a healthy breakfast are very good. The lady manager is always busy in the breakfast restaurant to see that every customer is satisfied. Many guests are regular customers and are addressed by their family names. We had room 358, on the 3rd floor, and could relax on the wooden balcony after our errands in this nice little town!

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor you get less street noise but at night the hotel area is quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Bad Ischl is a calm place indeed. But a life concert in the center brought together everybody from 6 to 10:30 pm. A little bit to early to finish, but was fine. Because....
Bad Ischl is not Ibiza. Bad Ischl is a place that erase stress naturally. The recovery is guaranteed.
About the hotel- spacious rooms, well designed bathrooms. My room with a view at the river was perfect. A small, but well arranged spa - a swimming pool and a space to heat your bones in the sun.
People are really interested in your happiness. Truly. Thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms are all fine. Some are with a view at the river, the others are at the back side, but is f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaduPaunescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#2 of 9 in Bad Ischl
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Hubertushof
Landhotel Hubertushof
#3 of 9 in Bad Ischl
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
#7 of 9 in Bad Ischl
55 reviews
10.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
634 reviews
10.8 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Ochs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Ochs

Address: Grazer Strasse 4, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range: $154 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Ochs 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Ochs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing