We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel to explore the city and the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldenes Schiff

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel to explore the city and the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is spot on perfect. Centeral but quiet and with most amazing cake shop just around the corner.
At first we wanted to stay at Hallstat but all was booked so 15 minutes drive and we found yourselfs at this moder,clean and generally great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
43
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Very good breakfast with lots of choiches. Friendly staff. Lots of good walking tours around the area. The room was spacious and well maintained. If you feel it's worth it pay some extra euros and get a room with balcony.

On the negative side; no AC in the room. Got very hot and humid during our stay.

Will probably stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erathol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is right in the centre of the town of Bad Ischl. Ideal for exploring the lakes. The staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were spacious - we were on a hiking trip and had lots of gear with us. The breakfast in the morning time was very good. The dinner in the evenings was pretty limited with no choice for main course offered. Beds were made and room cleaned every day. The owner offered rooms with a balcony for an additional €100 which we didn't avail of as we felt our room was spacious enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achlum
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very friendly reception, wonderful room, beds A1, very well service, a fully good and healthy breakfast, welness center perfect and this Hotel is in the middle of this romantic beautiful Bad Ischl, you feel Sisi here.

The owners and their Staff will do anything to make your stay very welcome.

Room Tip: A room with overlooking the canal or mountains should be perfect, but I,ll think that all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breitenfurt
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not beeing the first time in this hotel, I selceted it due to its perfect site and free parking . The weekend choosen was perfect as to the theatre performance and the festival taking place at this time. The rooms clean, the reception staff very friendly. The room maid cleanded the room and throw the theatre ticket away, but the owner himself arranged a replacement and so the theatre evening was saved! This specila help has to be mentioned especially when considered that the hotel was really fully booked.
The buffet breakfast excellent as in our memory, we come again.

Room Tip: Can not giva any advice, no experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winetester_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a fine hotel in a nice little town, ideal for exploring the lakes. As previous reviewers pointed out however there is no way that it is a four star hotel. This wouldn't worry me normally except that we paid 540 euros for three nights. Four or five star prices without the service. Breakfast was fine but limited hot food - no bacon or sausages for example - that you would expect from a higher star. Leisure centre is small but good. Make sure you give them time to crank it up. The restaurant is top class if a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I received a nice size room after some room category confusion upon check in. No Air Con and Wi-Fi was really slow and intermittent. Very annoying. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. Situated in a nice area of the town. Bad Ischl is a good base to go and see the lakes if you have a car or other transport. St. Wolfgang lake is nice and you must take the train up top (35 minutes one way). Also Hallstatt is very pretty with nice town on the lake. There is also a salt mine which is supposed to be good but we didn't have time to see it. Great part of the world that is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.3 mi away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
#1 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#3 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Hotel Goldener Ochs
#2 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Hubertushof
Landhotel Hubertushof
#5 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
#7 of 10 in Bad Ischl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
10.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldenes Schiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Schiff

Property: Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Address: Stifterkai 3, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldenes Schiff 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Schiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing