We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a night with a friendly front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay for a night with a friendly front desk”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Memories of this hotel after 6 hotels in 10 nights were: friendly and warm front desk clerk who was very helpful in suggesting restaurant and several items my daughter wanted for our room. Location along river was good. Room was dated and on the small side and bathroom a bit crowded. Noisy in early morning with deliveries and car traffic. Other room location might have been different. Breakfast buffet was one of the lesser ones on our trip, service was less then attentive. Parking in front lot worked well. Hotel location in town was convenient enough. This hotel was more of a stopover than a destination so did not spend much time. For the money I would say it was an average value. Internet worked fine once we figured out how to log in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
45
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We found this hotel quite by accident when driving through the mountains one evening. The rooms were very clean and large,the staff friendly and accommodating and the food in the restaurant for breakfast exceptional. We would love to return to this hotel and Bad Ischl and spend more time exploring this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights: what a gem of a hotel! Our rooms were immaculate, with a sitting area and a view of the river. The bathroom - equipped with 2 plush bathrobes - was spacious and spotless! The staff at the front desk were ever accomodating and polite, as were all other employees. The breakfast was fab: everything you could imagine, plus champagne and fresh squeezed orange juice! There is a computer on the main floor with free internet access which was sooo helpful as we were travelling without any laptops etc. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of town. And when we needed a hot water kettle for late night tea, we were provided a whole tea tray!

Thank you to the folks at Goldeness Schiff: we had a beautiful stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Coatbridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel during a walking holiday for two nights.
Overall the hotel is pretty good. i would give it a 3/4 star . 5 stars for the food. the breakfast was brilliant. lots to choose from. but the 3 course meals were truey up there with the best. i am a fussy eater but honestly 5/5!

hotels staff are great, very helpful and friendly. the receptionst spoke good english and was able to help.

The only thing is the room was warm and i was hoping for something with abit more space. the hotel was happy to give me a fan which did help, because it was our rest day on the walking holiday i was happy that the tv had lots of channels. abc, bbc, etc.
even got to watch the british open!

overall we liked it. lovely food. and still a comfortable bed. ( with the fan on all night )
staff great. food amazin! especially the outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keanosmagichat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed in the hotel because of its location. The staff is very friendly, but that can not compensate the poor rooms. The furniture is out of the 60s, the bed is a joke, and the towels are so thin I thought they were sheets The shower is like out of a youth hostel and can not maintain a constant temperature. Expect to be frozen or suffer 3rd degree burns- your choice! If your have to stay there, make sure you are up early for breakfast, otherwise there will be nothing left!
It is the worst value for money I have seen in a hotel in years. They charge like a 4-star-hotel, but offer 2-star quality. If you can, avoid the "Goldenes Schiff".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustrianVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwingruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
I can not believe these extremely bad comments. We have opened all year round and most of our guest are loving our hotel. All of our rooms have been new furnished during the last 7 years. I never heard about a problem with the temperature of the shower. The towels are not older than 4 years and in a quite good quality.
In my opinion ths guest has had another problem during his stay. Do not believe everthing you read.
Kind regards,
Edwin Gruber, Hotelowner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Booked a night for stopover for me and my family. Welcome was friendly, baby bed was ready. Location very central, everything reachable by foot. Rooms are comfortable but renovation were be necessary soon - especially the bathroom. So for one night o.k., but for longer stay we would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

There is only one reason that I gave th is an overall rating of 4 instead of a 5, and it's only because the teal carpeting in the rooms and the furniture, while not tattered or really badly worn - it's a tad dated. Other than that, it was by far one of the most amazing hotels I had the pleasure of staying. First, we arrived via train at around 7pm. Apparently the town pretty much closes by 7, so nothing is open. We found this hotel, not too far from the train station, and located next to the river. We went in, they had availability (and this is one you're better off booking ahead of time and not walking into). We needed a room with two beds...my travel partner asked if she might have a room with a view, the receptionist hesitated, then smiled. She gave us the suite at the same price for the standard room. Granted while not likely as busy, after conversing with her a bit, she was just very interested in being accommodating. She was a wonderful gal. Never got her name, but she's the dyed redhead at reception, wears spectacles and is beyond nice. She offered to show us the room first to see if it met with our expectations. We went...the room was fantastic. It had a balcony that overlooked the river with a clear view of the snowy alps...it was BREATHTAKING. We loved it here. Their breakfast is definitely something to write home about. With quite a large selection of items to chose from, the breads, the cheeses, the spreads, the eggs, bacon, ham, luncheon meats, cereals, yogurt, fruits and a myriad of other things. Juices, mimosas, great coffee...and this was included in a very reasonable room price. I will let the room speak for itself as I've attached pictures of the actual room and the view from the furnished balcony. Service is 5 star all the way, and it is definitely QUITE clean. Given it's location, close to the train station, center of town, the river, the bus station, the post office, restaurants, etc...you just couldn't possibly find a better deal here! ;)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.3 mi away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Hotel Goldener Ochs
#2 of 9 in Bad Ischl
108 reviews
8.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
#7 of 9 in Bad Ischl
50 reviews
10.9 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
132 reviews
10.2 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 2 in Bad Aussee
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldenes Schiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Schiff

Property: Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Address: Stifterkai 3, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldenes Schiff 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Schiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing