We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for money”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for two nights with family. It was our first time to paris so we did not know what to expect.
On arrival we were surprised of it's size, the entrance and reception is quite large. The check in was quite quick, but lacked in friendliness, they had also run out of English versions of their hotel information leaflets and we we're give a German version instead. The majority of guests seemed to speak English.
My partner compared the complex to a British Pontins resort, however I have never been, therefore unable to comment.
The two rooms we were provided with were fit for purpose as we were out most of the time and the free wifi kept the teenagers occupied.
Pros-
Large complex with things to do to keep you occupied when not at disney land.
Most of the staff were friendly.
Inexpensive stay for the family with breakfast included. There is a decent selection of food (continental style).
The buffet dinner at the Plantation restaurant was ok, but over priced.
The beds were quite comfortable.
Whilst we were there there were signs that the hotel was undergoing some updating as new mattresses and flooring were seen.
The free shuttle bus to disney land was regular (about every 20 mins) and only about 5 minute bus journey, which is also next to the RER station which is handy for transfers.

Cons -
The cleaning staff that attended our rooms failed to do any cleaning, they only provided clean towels (did not remove dirty ones) and very roughly made beds. They left rubbish, therefore we had to find a bin out with our room as there as an unpleasant odour by the time we returned home at night.
Drinks were expensive.
Cafe/restaurant closed around 11.15 - 11.30, which made it difficult to find snacks/drinks after this time. We only found one/two vending machines that were tucked away out of sight and very over price (€3.75 for a tin of Coke).

Overall the hotel was decent value for money, as we got a good deal through Lowcost Holidays by booking in advance. I think it would be best suited for families with younger children or for those on a small budget. The next time I go, I will probably go to a different hotel and pay more money, although it was better than I had expected.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Adelia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Adelia1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel. Your comments are valuable as we us them to constantly improve the quality of our service.

We are very pleased to learn that you had you enjoyed the food and shuttle bus of the hotel. It was also nice to read that you found our staff helpful.

We are sorry that your room was not cleaned properly during your stay and will share this information with the houskeeping department to prevent this from happening again in the future.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 4,132 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, April 14. family room (2adults, 2 kids, & cot). Room ideal for 2&2, but a little cramped with the cot, but then I haven't found a hotel where this isn't the case yet. Tries to be a themed hotel, but rooms have basic attempt at being themed. That being said, rooms clean, & comfortable. Staff not overly helpful, check in painfully slow (thank goodness it wasn't busy!). Pirate ship pool fab (tho slightly cold), make sure men/boys take speedo's. Childrens pirate play area, and soft play area - both good for kids. Ate in buffet at night twice which was good, plenty choice, though sometimes luke warm. Breakfast good, plenty tables (you can also book at reception to make sure there is a table for you) and yes, we took extra and made up some sandwiches for lunch - no one seemed to notice. Breads & croissant delicious! Hotel clean (being recarpeted when we visited), although the toilets were a bit smelly at night time. Spent 3 days at Disney Park, transfers easy, buses run regularly, and we never had any problem getting on, but were out of the parks before closing time. All in all, a good hotel for a disney stay, alot cheaper than staying at a Disney Hotel, would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGardiner494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear SGardiner494,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

Your comments are valuable and we are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We are happy that you liked our breakfast and activities for children.

The entire looks forward to welcoming you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Disneyland® Paris!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel in early April and have to say I loved the hotel, friendly staff, seemed to be recently refurbished, the breakfast was excellent and a great base for Disneyland with regular pick ups and drop offs. We had an evening meal once when we first arrived which was €42 for 3 of us which isn't bad at all for hotel prices generally. My daughter went in the pool a few times with me and it was great, not cold as I had read on other reviews.Ultimately the hotel is just a base for Disneyland and as such is excellent for this as we were out till at least 12 hours in the day. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Remember speedos if you want to swim, there does not seem to be a lifeguard as such,but there are ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobT3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear RobT3121,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable comments after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant time and that you could enjoy our swimming pool.

The entire team hopes to welcome you back soon so that you can discover our newly redecorated rooms !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

So me, my husband and 12 year old daughter stayed at the Explorers for 3 nights. We had 2 full days and nights in the parks and 1 full day in beautiful Paris,
I have stayed at the hotel twice before and at the Disney Newport bay hotel once. I often read reviews just to see what's happening at the hotels I have previously stayed at and I know it sounds silly but when I read a negative review that often has many spelling and grammar mistakes (which they very often do) I tend to immediately ignore them as I just cannot take them seriously.
I regularly stay at 4/5 star establishments in other places of the world but I know that this simply is not realistic at Disneyland Paris unless you want to pay an awful lot of money (money that I would rather spend at the shops in the parks).
So this is the 3rd time at the Explorers Hotel for us. We asked for a room for 3. On arrival the guy that checked us in was brilliantly helpful, giving us our e-tickets, a hotel map, a park map and schedule plus hints for spending a day in Paris along with popular tourist spots and what to ask for at the local station. It is 15 euros each for what is called a Mobilis which is basically return fares from the Disney train station plus metro tickets to get you all over Paris.
Our room was supposed to sleep 2 adults and a 12 year old. Due to the design of the hotel the reception desk is classed as the 3rd floor. Many people have criticised the hotel for having overly complicated instructions for getting to your room but just listen to the person who checks you in and its fine. We were situated on the 4th floor ( so basically one up from reception). Our room was perfectly clean although slightly dated and actually slept up to 7 people! we had a double bed, two singles bunk beds and a travel cot! we also had a separate bath/shower and toilet. The main room has a flat screen TV with about 5 English channels and a good hairdryer. We did have a kettle and stuff to make drinks but we had had enough at the parks and were so tired that we didn't use them.
We ate at the hotel pizzeria once which was 42 euros for three large delicious pizzas plus three non alcoholic drinks, we took these to our room to eat however the facilities were perfectly good to stay in the communal area.
Breakfast was surprisingly chilled out. No rushing or scurrying for food or drinks and plenty of choice. If you want you can make a packed lunch for later with rolls, cheese, ham, yoghurt's etc but we didn't bother.
We also used the pool which was good, just remember to bring Speedo style trunks for the men. Its clean and the facilities are good, its only 2 euros for a towel if you don't bring your own and the pool temperature is fine, not too cold at all.
In 1 day we visited the Arc de Triomphe , Sacre Coeur, Champs-Elysees (including Sephora make-up store and Laudree for macaroons) and many other small places too. Its good to visit the smaller streets for lovely cheap food.
The 2 other days and nights were spent in the parks. A good hint for the 21:30 dreams show is to get settled in for about 40 minutes before it starts. We had front row views which was amazing.
Shuttles from the hotel run every 10-15 minutes and we never had any issues with the service at all. All in all this was a fab stay, yes the rooms are not perfect but more than adequate for the price and we would definitely stay again. One last thing, try to speak a tiny bit of French, even if its just hello and thank you, it go's a long way :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scarletmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear scarletmoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us after your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

It is a great pleasure and a privilege to learn that it was your third visit among us and we are delighted that you had a nice time. It is great to see that your check in was efficient and that you liked our breakfast and swimming pool.

Your review will probably help lots of travelers and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a fourth stay. On this occasion, we would be happy to make you discover our newly redecorated rooms.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed here four times now . Rooms are average size unless you get the suite we chose to do this after the first year and now we have loads of room when we visit. Giant pirate ship , pool & play area for the kids is fantastic because you can continue to relax with your food while the kids are playing beside you within reach and view. Free shuttle bus to Disney is great but also for those who wish to walk it is just a short safe walk. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and beds are very close, for extra comfort upgrade to the suite its worth the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Mary F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your fourth visit at the Explorers !

We are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay and that you could enjoy our numerous play areas.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can discover our newly renovated rooms.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me my mum and little boy he's 6yrs , hotel lovely, rooms lovely beds comfy , location to Disney 5mins away great . My little boy absolutely loved the hotel , the play area, the big pirate ship and pool ideal for him , but so uncomfortable for adults having a drink or food watching their children, wooden tables and wooden chairs , but up by reception there was leather couches why not have a couple of them in the area , it's a nice big area lovely but uncomfortable some nights we were there for 2-3hrs my little boy never wanted to go to bed it was that good for kids but comfy For adults I think would be perfect , apart from that not much choice for good either , was sick of the site of pizza And chips haha, apart from that hotel lovely .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Dizza24,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel

We are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay and that your son had fun in our numerous play areas. We have noted your comments and will pass them on to the staff.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can discover our newly renovated rooms.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for the 2nd time and like the 1st time the kids loved it especially the pool and children's ball pit,this is fab for the adults who sit around the food and bar area u can relax with a drink and watch the kiddies at the same time.
The food is very nice with plenty to choose from.
There is a free shuttle bus that takes u to the parks these buses are packed with people as the bus picks up from another 3 hotels this didn't annoy me as I knew wot to expect lol so just jump on and push ur way thru but don't feel bad as it will be done to you..
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful at the back of the hotel is a beautiful walk with a large lake and there is also a park made in the shape of a boat.
The rooms were fine for just sleeping in and are clean there is a double bed and 2 single beds but you can get a room for 6 but that is like a cupboard with a bunk bed in it which is fine
The hotel has a 6d cinema as well that opens at. 6-10pm if u want to use it just ask a member of staff and they will put it on for you
Would defo return to this hotel and the staff were so nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales & marketing Asststant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your second visit at the Explorers Hotel

We are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay and that you could enjoy our facilities and numerous activities. We have noted your comments and will pass them on to the entire staff.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can discover our XD cinema and our newly renovated rooms.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#10 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
6,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: $95 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing