We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney trip”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights in December using the hotel as a base to visit Disney land Paris. In summary this hotel has excellent reception staff, good public areas with excellent pool for children. Food was average but ok for the hotel and price paid. Hotel has a happy hour 7-8pm which was a bonus after a long day at Disney. The shuttle service to Disney is quick and regular.The downside to the hotel is the rooms are very very basic.My only other issue was not the hotels fault, however we were the victims of bag theft in the hotel bar. Very upsetting but not the hotels fault. Be warned that its a major problem in the local hotels around Disney. Another excellent tip for travel is if you want an utterly reliable taxi service from the airport or around paris use a company called Iris shuttles.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank tonybeardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 4,099 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Family of 2adults & 2children aged 4y & 8y. Stayed at the Explorers from 21/12/13-26/12/13.

First impressions: on arrival at the hotel i was impressed, the entrance/reception were well decorated & clean. Checking in was a little slow but plenty of seating for the children to rest whilst we queued. Check in staff very polite & happy, spoke to both our children, introduced himself & briefly explained the lay out of hotel, very entertaining chap.
We were asked what time we would like to go for breakfast & I think the options were anytime between 7-10am? We chose 9.30am but he said this was only to give the hotel an idea and we didn't have to keep to the exact time, if we wanted to go earlier or later that would be fine.

Rooms: very basic but clean. No fancy interior but fine (think travelodge standard) Our room consisted of 1 double bed & 2 singles. Bathroom with overhead shower & sink. Separate wc. Large mirror, hair dryer & dressing table. Not a huge amount of storage space but we managed.
Maid service daily, plenty of clean towels.
(We stayed at the dream castle hotel last time we visited & the rooms were far nicer but that's the only negative i have on the explorers!)

Swimming pool: absolutely loved the pool! Children would happily have stayed in pool for hours on end, great splash area, water guns & small slide for younger kids. 2 fun water slides for kids & adults also. Pool opens early morning & closes around 10pm so plenty of time for a dip before or after hitting the parks.
Gentlemen beware!!! There is a strict policy at the hotel that no swimming trunks are to be worn :) speedo's only, think this caught quite a few British men out & sheepishly they had to buy speedo's at pool reception desk for 12 euros.
Free lockers at pool changing area & clean changing rooms & showers.
Loungers at side of pool so towels can be taken in.
Photos can be taken in pool area.
Pool towels can be rented if you don't have your own.
We found that during the late night swims a lot of families would take the children's pj's & slippers down to the pool and after swimming & showering they would get straight into pj's before heading back to room. Nobody seemed to mind this as its an extremely child/family friendly hotel.

Bar area: lovely little bar area, very relaxed & casual. Happy hour every evening on cocktails between 8-9pm :)) at the bar area you'll find Marco's pizza which is an extremely busy pizza parlour. Pizza started from about 12euros which I felt was very reasonable & a perfect late night snack. Pizza could be eaten at the bar area or taken back to your room.
There's also a kids soft play area so the children could quite happily play whilst you enjoy a drink. Soft play intended for younger kids but both my children enjoyed this facility & made friends here.
There's a pirate ship which I believe is more for decoration than anything else but all the kids found it amusing to climb high on this despite the signs saying 'no climbing' accident waiting to happen really but parents responsibility!

Restaurant: we were bed & breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on the dinner here but as far as breakfast goes it was pleasant.
On arrival at the restaurant you would wait to be greeted and allocated a table. Once seated you can go back & forth as you please to the continental buffet.
Many nationalities catered for as you would expect so breakfast options ranged from cereal ie coco pops, frosties, corn flakes, Rice Krispies etc to yogurts, croissants, bread/toast-jam, chocolate spread, butter...meats, fruits & hot & cold drinks (juice).
English breakfast can be purchased for around 6euros but we never bothered with this.
Restaurant is busy but being in disney I didn't expect anything less.

Disney shop & amusement room: small disney shop in hotel selling same as shops in disney village & parks. All same prices. Decent size amusement room for older/teenage kids in hotel, we didn't go in here as our children not interested. all games extra charge.

On Xmas eve the hotel put on a free Xmas party in the bar area which I thought was fantastic! They put up a projector screen & sound system attached to a wii console for all the kids to take part in a dance off, dancing along to some kind of 'just dance' game, there was a santa walking around, dancing, having pictures taken with guests etc, a face painter & balloon modeller.
The party went on until midnight & I have to say it was fabulous, all the children were so excited and what a great way for them to release energy on Xmas eve!

Free transport to Disney: no54 the bus picked up outside the hotel every 15mins.
During our stay the explorers seemed to be the first pick up and first drop off at the end of the day so that was a great bonus as the last time we stayed at Dream Castle hotel we literally had to fight our way onto bus! :-/
When leaving the parks & heading to bus you need to stand at the 1st bus stop on the right hand side (opposite train station) and again look for the no 54, Very easy, free & efficient service.

Overall I would most definantly recommend the explorers hotel to any families looking for a relaxed, child friendly, family oriented hotel. Yes the rooms are very basic but this is literally the only negative i can think of. If we return to Disney I will 100% book the explorers again, what a fun hotel.

Ps we booked direct with the hotel on hotels own website & got a very good deal for a Xmas stay! Saved more than £300 booking directly rather than via a 3rd party site ie booking.com/travel republic.

We also used prestige travel for transfers to & from airport. Again booked directly online with prestige travel, no money taken at time of booking just all info such as name, flight numbers, flight times etc... A confirmation email was sent to me & we paid the driver directly in cash once we arrived at hotel & then again once we arrived at airport on way home.
Both drivers were on time, spoke English & supplied booster/child seats. On way back to airport the driver even gave the children headphones & put on a disney DVD which I felt was a lovely gesture & kept the children entertained the entire journey. Both cars modern & very clean!
We paid 75 euros each way for transfers and the journey took no more than 1 hour.

We booked flights from the Birmingham uk-Paris CDG with air France who we had never flown with before but would recommend, a lot less hassle than the likes of easy jet, excellent baggage allowance & free hot drinks/water & snacks such as biscuits on board.

Park tickets booked with attraction-tickets-direct.co.uk, second time we used this operator & would use again without question. Very competitive prices.
I used the 'print at home' option for our tickets, this was extremely easy & efficient. Big thumbs up!

Hope my review helps & you have a great time in Disney!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank lejjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 30, 2014

Dear lejjmj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a detailed review from your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

It is such a great pleasure to read nice comments like yours and we are really happy to learn that you had a good time with us for Christmas.

Your review will certainly help lots of travelers as it includes many useful tips for people who wish to stay in our hotel.

May we thank you again for your positive feedback. The entire team can't wait to welcome you back for further adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Well done to all the wonderful staff at this hotel it was a pleasure staying here rooms are specially designed for large family's spacious great play area and the swimming pool with water slides was fantastic !!
We will be back for definite..
It's was our sons 4th birthday on the 8th jan and when we arrived back after spending the day in Disney there were balloons and a birthday card left in our room which was a nice little touch....
Thanks again ..merci ..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank Johnflanagan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights on the 26th Dec. This was our second stay at this hotel so we knew what to expect. Last year we stayed at the dream castle but were disappointed that it was the last stop for the peps bus, so at busy times we couldnt get on the bus as it just passed by. So we decided to stay this year at the Explorers hotel as its first stop for the peps bus, or so I thought. Looks like they must alter the route as during our stay the Explorer hotel was last stop, so yet again at busy times(usually in the morning) the bus just didnt stop because it was full. If you are travelling to the parks by car then this wont be a problem for you. That aside, kids loved the hotel. they loved playing in the soft play and on the indoor pirate ship. The bar has a happy hour for cocktails and beer, so in the evening you can sit with a cocktail and order pizza and have a drink and food whilst the kids play away. The room were cleaned daily and comfortable. Breakfast was continental but you can upgrade to cooked for four euros. we didnt use this pool this time but other guest told me it was freezing. Sometimes in the evening it was a little loud with other guest running around, screaming and banging doors. However I will be returning to this hotel on my next disney trip as the kids do love it and hopefully this hotel will be first stop for the peps bus again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the explorers for 3 nights over the new year. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor this was not taken into consideration. We were put on the middle floor next to a noisy stairwell so we askef to move rooms we were moved to the next floor up mid coridoor again it was very noisy at night with people coming and going at all hours slamming doors and running around we found it difficult to sleep hence asking for a quiet room. The breakfast is continental and was fine it can upgrade to english for 4 euros but was very busy with people rushing around. The restaurants are quite expensive about 100 euros per family to eat. Drinks were expensive but they do have happy hour which makes the prices more bearable. They have a pizza place which was nice and costs about 11 euros per pizza. You have to pay the hotel a small tax on arrival. Reception were friendly but on occasions quite slow. The pool is great but you cannot wear swimming shorts you have to buy drunks for 12 euros from the hotel. The pool has some good slides for the kids and is clean. It costs 2 euros to hire a towel. There was an indoor play area for the children and also a wooden pirate ship to play on. There is an outdoor pirate ship as well. There was a small childrens gym for the children and also a video games area. The hotel was decorated nicely for Christmas. The shuttle buses to and from disney were fantastic. Our room was fine and cleaned on a daily basis with tea and coffee making facilities. The only fault with have at disney park which is nothing against the hotel was the rudeness of other guests in the park everyone was out for themselves and a lot of pushing at the parades etc this unfortunately is just society and the way its going. We had a nice time and would probably stay here again as its good value for money. The kids had a wonderful time and thats what it was all about.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Famlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Explorers Hotel between 19th - 21st December 2013. After reading some of the negative reviews we went expecting little more than a very basic travel lodge type hotel and were pleasantly suprised. We found check in on arrival very quick and the staff very pleasant. We were allocated a family room on the 2nd floor in the West wing of the hotel, it was very clean and spacious and over looked the gardens. On first attempt though we found it a little tricky to find due to the vast size of the hotel! The room was serviced each day which was great. The pool was a great plus, which our 9 year old enjoyed immensely with the slides and pirate ship. The indoor play area was also great and was 2 storeys suitable for children up to 12 years of age. A limited range of cereals, breads, croissants and yoghurts provided a continental style breakfast which was perfectly adequate. We travelled on the No 54 pink bus which picked us up from outside the hotel and dropped us in the Disney Village. This free service worked very well. Overall this was a great hotel and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone thinking of booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJB1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel seems to get very mixed reviews which I think are sometimes a bit unfair.
Our experience (staying around 14th December, so a very busy time) was:
Room size was great - infact bigger than we expected based on other reviews
Decor was absolutely fine - it all looked quite recently refurbished
Breakfast - great. Busy if you go later, so my advice would be to go early and go back to bed! There was absolutely plenty of food (despite many people desperately packing as much away as they could!). You could pay to upgrade to a cooked breakfast, but frankly the breakfast provided was so nice, I can’t imagine why anybody would want to.
Cleanliness - superb. You could have eaten your dinner off the floor.
Beds - they must have been extremely comfortable as I slept like a baby
Location - excellent. Busses were frequent and efficient. Even after the fireworks show in the evening, it was a tight squeeze, but everybody got on.
Public areas - all seemed great to me
Recommendation - YES - stay here. It was fabulous value (maybe we got a special deal)

Room Tip: We had a romo that was quite a walk from reception - but the bonus to that is that it was wonderfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicmanbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#10 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
6,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: $93 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing