We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Longridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a family of five who spent 5 nights at the Explorers hotel. On arrival, the hotel looks great from the outside. The inside of the hotel could be fantastic but is tired and shabby looking and in great need of a deep cleanse. The rooms were very basic, just like a travel lodge but with more beds in (we had a crew room) Although the sheets were clean, the bathroom tiles and shower curtain were filthy. The beds had been jumped on probably as my husband and I rolled into the middle of ours where it sagged. The room was serviced every day which was great although they were very stingy with the loo roll and towels.
The all you can eat buffet at 22 euros or 25 for the barbecue would have been ok had we not opted for the bbq, this was a side plate with 2 uninteresting sausages and a spare rib. The rest of the buffet was ok but we only went the once. The Captains Library restaurant on the other hand was very good food the only downside to this was a long wait. There is a takeaway pizza bar which is very busy and have to say went down well with most. The bar would have been great had there been more than one bar person, so this meant there was generally a massive queue, you would never get drunk any way!Breakfast was good and there was more food than you could imagine, the staff are hard working and did a great job of seating everyone.
The bar area, to us, likened to that of a motorway services, It would benefit from a cosier and more grown up feel.
The pool was great for the kids and there was a good play are outside, although mine are too old for this.
All in all, this is ok for people with young children who have lots of money! Its not bad but there is room for a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to help improve the service we provide at the hotel.

It’s nice to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and pool. We are sorry to learn that you experienced a few niggles during your stay with us, please be assured that it is not reflective of our usual standards to have one person on the bar during busy times.

We hope to welcome you again should you visit Disney another time. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    1,570
    826
    300
    199
See reviews for
2,951
201
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dad, Mum, 13yr old boy, 9yr old girl & 6yr old boy. Arrived for a 6 night stay (Too long!!) mid afternoon and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Entrance to Hotel was like entering a factory, bar didn't open until 17:00hrs and closed at 23:00hrs which was disappointing as you only had vending machines. Room was no different to a Travel Lodge Family Room but luckily didn't spend much time in there.
Swimming Pool, open until 22:45hrs, with Pirate Ship was our saviour as children preferred it to Disney Land!! Hotel Buffet Restaurant was good for breakfast but their advertised "Barbecue" buffet of an evening was a real disappointment. £22/head with not much BBQ food but a tasty Beef Stew??? Different but hey ho, on we go...... Disney Shuttle Bus was good and every 10min or so straight to Park. Little manic trying to get on for return leg but it was Peak season.

Disney Park was a little crazy due to the amount of people allowed in. Queues for the rides were unbelievably long (at least 75min) and the Fast Pass system was a nightmare. Closing time firework and show was fantastic, not to be missed.

Disney Studios was a great place. All the shows, especially the Stunt Show, were worth the 30min or so queuing.

Cafe Mickey was great for the children to meet the characters although the food was pretty poor standard for a huge price.

Annette's American Diner was our favourite place to eat if you have the Half Board tickets as well as the Cheyenne Hotel for evening buffet, great value for money with the children in mind.

To sum up our stay;

Hotel Staff friendly and helpful, Hotel not so impressive for the price, little dated but they are working on it. Disney Land a let down for the cost and queues but kids did enjoy themselves which is the main object.

We would return but off peak season next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAkehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear ChrisAkehurst,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Explorers with us. We appreciate your comments and take them in to consideration to help improve the service we provide at the hotel.

We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we do try to make sure each guest feels at home here. Our pool is a great way to finish a fun filled day – we are glad the kids enjoyed it so much!

We hope to welcome you and your family again on your next trip to Disney. We welcome you to join us on Facebook and follow our adventures!

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a fun filled busy day in disney, the explorers is an excellent place to choose. There is a pool in there open till 10 pm (make sure you take trunks for the males as swimming shorts are not allowed) and a kids play area with a decent seating area for parents. Rooms are comfortable and the restaurants in the hotel are great. Staff and cleanliness of the hotel were also great. The free shuttle bus to disneyland was always on time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Explorers. We appreciate your feedback and use it to highlight the things we are doing right and the areas that need improvement.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and found our staff to be so great. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests are happy with their stay.

We hope to welcome you all back again soon and invite you to follow our adventures over our Facebook page! Let us know once you have booked your next trip ;)

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just back from our trip to Disneyland Paris. We spent 5 nights in this hotel and could not fault it in any way. Was a bit sceptical going because of some poor reviews I had read but we had a truly great experience. Hotel was spotless and all staff were friendly and helpful. We also had a beautiful view of the countryside from our window. Breakfast was continental with the usual croissants and french chocolate breads on offer along with toast, rolls, fruit salad, cereals & ham. You could get a fry for 4 euro. Coffee wasnt great but it didnt matter. You get a kettle in your room with tea & coffee. A good tip is to bring your own powdered milk for your room as theirs isnt great. You also get a hairdryer, safe (instruction available from reception if not in room) & tv. We never watched tv as we never had the time but you can rent movies at a small cost if you want. Swimming pool was fantastic & like everyone says, boys, be sure to bring your
speedos & not shorts. Renovations still ongoing but were minimal when we were there. Had a beautiful meal in the hotel resturant (not the buffet) and very reasonably priced compared to prices in the parks. We would definately go back & stay at this hotel. A few top tips to save some money:

We brought a small suitcase with us full of snacks, pot noodles, biscuits, treats, scones (we brought our own butter but you could take some everyday from the breakfast) and we brought a bottle of squash with us which we put in our empty bottles everyday and then filled up with water when we got to the parks. When this was done we just filled our bottles up with water at the water fountains everyday. It certainly saved us quite a bit of money for a few days as bottles of coke etc are pricey but you can get them slightly cheaper in the shop in the railway station before going into parks.

Cheapest place we ate was Mcdonalds, for the five of us it came to just under 30 euro.

Tried to make a reservation at Cafe Mickey and was told fully booked but when we turned up personally ourselves we were lucky enough to get a table without one. They have 2 queues one for reservations and one for none reservations. Once reserved seats have been filled other empty tables are then available to whoever else is queuing up outside.

Hope this has been helpful & we cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank disney707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear disney707,

Thank you for telling us about your experience during your holiday at Explorers. We appreciate your feedback and use it to highlight the things we are doing right and the areas that need improvement.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much you could not fault it. We really want all of our guests to feel welcome and like they are staying in a home away from home. We are glad you that enjoyed our pool and all of our fun activities.

We cannot wait to welcome you and your family back again. Don’t forget to let us know when you are coming over our Facebook page!

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Took one and a half hours to check in. Reception staff attitude was a disgrace. Rude is an understatement. A very poor first impression of france- they should be ashamed.
Once checked in the hotel was fabulous. Kids enjoyed the pool and the buses into the parks were so quick and easy at all times of the day

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenLee-Chorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear KarenLee-Chorley,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. Please be assured that we take each comment in to account and use your feedback to improve the service we offer at the hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities, but are regretful that you experienced a such a negative start to your holiday. Please be assured that this is not reflective of our usual standards.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Disney. Once again thank you for raising these points to us.

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Explorers (5-9 Aug) with partner and two children (5 and 3) and we cannot fault it at all. We were lucky enough not to have to queue to check in, room was clean and was ideal for what we needed it for. Staff were very friendly. Excellent facilities for little ones, swimming pool a great feature and great fun after a long day at the parks. The pizza place was great value compared to some places in the parks and more edible!! Breakfast is continental but you can pay €4 extra for bacon, eggs etc but there is so much selection this is not needed. We booked a character breakfast in Cafe Mickey one morning so didnt have breakfast in the hotel but instead made up baguettes with ham to take with us to the parks for lunch. Yes things are more expensive than home but what do you expect you're in Paris! Tip: we bought drinks and snacks from shop in train station at entrance to parks - much cheaper than hotel and parks. The only mishap to our stay was our 5 year old daughter had an accident in the indoor play area on the slide and unfortunately broke her arm but I can honestly say the treatment from staff at the hotel and hospital was incredible and luckily didn't spoil our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We met a family who stayed at a more pricey Disney Hotel and they were dissapointed but we were certainly not. If you want 5 star then you pay for 5 star! We booked our trip separately rather than a package and saved a fortune. We booked fantasy annual park passes paying £250 for a family of 4 - this gives you 10% discount in restaurants and gift shops which saved us lots over the 5 days and also gives you the magic hours in the parks which helps avoid busy queues as August is probably the busiest time. We are going to return next year to make the most of the passes but already feel we have had our monies worth during our trip last week.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear catmassey,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Explorers. We appreciate your feedback and use it to highlight the things we are doing right and the areas that need improvement.

We love that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us even with the misfortunate accident of your little one – hope that arms doing much better now! It’s great to hear that you had so much fun in our pool and play activities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year – don’t forget to let us know that you are coming via our Facebook page! Also we have just updated our website so feel free to check it out!

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is perfect for kids, great swimming pool and play area, all staff we encountered were very friendly but a special mention must go to forina and the black guy on nights, they excel in customer service and are a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelHoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear MichaelHoban

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Explorers. Each comment is important to us and taken into account to help improve the service we offer to our guests.

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home so it is nice to know you felt our staff were a credit to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Disney – don’t forget to let us know that you are coming over our Facebook page!

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
984 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
5,541 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing