We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for families”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Bangor Co Down Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great hotel for families”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel. We had a really good time and our room was perfectly adequate. There were 3 adults and 2 twelve year olds in our room which comprised of 1 double bed 2 singles and a pod with a set of bunks. The pod was actually another room off the bedroom. Another good thing was that the toilet and bathroom were separate.
The hotel is very spacious and the facilities for the children excellent especially the pool which stayed open until 10pm. Breakfast was a very busy buffet with pleny of choice.
The shuttle bus was frequent and there was a mini bus for anyone who was disabled. We used this and the drivers were more than helpful with the wheelchair.
The hotel is a little tired but we would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear akwaaba50,

It is always great to read comments like the one you shared with us.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write it on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you loved the location of the hotel, its surroundings and the services provided.
It will surely encourage other guests when looking for a good hotel near Disneyland®.
Concerning your last comment, please note the hotel will go under some refurbishment works in the next few months.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    1,587
    832
    304
    206
See reviews for
2,996
202
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading some negative reviews, I felt I had to have my stay. This was a fabulous base for Disney parks and for getting into Paris. Free shuttle bus was excellent. The rooms although basic were clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities.
The swimming pool was great fun with a variety of slides which my 5 year old loved. Although they charged 2 euros each for the towel hire, we were able to keep them throughout our stay for use every time we went to the pool.
Breakfast was good - lots of choice. The take-away pizza was lovely along with the happy hour buy one get one free cocktails and beer. Was great being able to sit and relax whilst son enjoyed the soft play area.
We loved it and are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell86x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear tinkerbell86x,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you and all your family enjoyed most of our facilities such as our free shuttle bus, rooms, swimming pool, breakfast, take-away pizza, happy hour and soft play areas.

Our work is based on giving the best customer service and your nice comments are the best reward for our effort.

Once again, thank you for your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Explorers Hotel.

Best Regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we stayed here on a family trip from march 10th -14th. cant fault anything about this place, especially being a three star. This hotel is good for kids and staff are very friendly, they go all the way to help,especially maxwell in reception. Dont belive the negative reviews, i was on room 451 and our room was spotlessly clean everyday. There is happy hour between 7pm- 8pm, but prices are steep. If you looking for a good 3 star hotel, this is the one for you. If you want to go shopping, go to the train station and get the train to VAL D EUROPE. It is the next stop on trains heading towards paris. it only takes 3 mins to get there and cost about 3.50euros return. This is a massive mall and there is a big supermarket there called AUCHAN which is biggest supermarket i have seen in all my life. Good selection on fine wines in there. you wont regert it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monavampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear monavampire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly satisfied with the bar happy hour, the cleanliness of the room and by our friendly team members.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed this hotel especially for the kids thanks to the numerous activities they can enjoy.

We would also like to personally thank you for your constructive feedback and advice, which help us improve our service and keep a high standard in terms of customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Explorers Hotel.

Best Regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are just after somewhere to put your head down well this place will do, a bit dirty and food expensive and could do with new carpets and a lick of paint, I would like to stay here for more than a couple of days.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gavin250,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We have noted your concerns and would like inform you that the hotel will go under some refurbishment works in the next few month to improve the quality of our facilities so we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Magny-le-Hongre hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights 19th-21st March.

Plus points are:
1. Found the room and bathroom to be very clean, although very chilly.
2. Bed was very warm and comfy even though the mattress felt quite thin.
3. Plenty of storage for the 2 of us.
4. Safe was big enough to keep our essentials in - passports, money, phones, and a 7" tablet fit fine!
5. Think we had an accessible room as the bathroom was a wet room really, shower was brilliant and hot water plentiful.
6. Great base for Disney, the buses only take 5-10 minutes to the hotel, and 10-15 to the parks (Explorers is first to pick up and drop off), and it is walkable if you fancy it - it took us around 35 minutes however we were dawdling! Go out of the hotel, cross the road that leads to the other hotels (Magic Circus etc.) then turn left, following the footpath. Cross the roundabout and walk past the Esso garage then follow signs for the Santa Fe hotel. Walk straight through, between the hotel buildings then turn left at the river and keep going.
7. The pizzas from Marcos are divine!
8.The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Standard continental fare but you could pay 4 Euros for an English breakfast.
9. Wifi access was good, even in our room. They say that access is not available in all rooms so do be prepared for that. You do require a code for each device as they are different, there are always some at the 'Guest Relations' desk in reception in pieces of paper.
10. The gift shop sells stamps (post box is by the main doors), and also useful items like nappies, toothbrush etc.

Minus points:
1. The heaters are not the easiest to work out however I did figure it out in the end.
2. The windows could be dangerous if you have a young, curious child as there were no bars, the windows opened wide and there is a stool that could be climbed on. We were on the same floor as reception and near the rear of the building and our window was a good 15-20 feet from the ground.
3. The free buses are very good however they do get crammed and there was a huge scrum both nights we used the bus back. If you want to stay until after the evening show, I would suggest eating/shopping at the Disney Village after the show to allow the crowds to disperse a little.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and would happily stay here again. Next time we would also bring swimming costumes so we could use the pool!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidilou85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Heidilou85,

Thank you for choosing the Explorers Hotel for your visit and for taking the time to share such a positive comment on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the room, food and facilities.

We are sorry to learn that you had some issues to work out the heaters and that the buses were crowded at some peak times.

We will share your feedback with all our teams. It will serve as an encouragement to continuously improve the quality of our services.

May we also thank you for your advice regarding eating/shopping at the Disney village.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Explorers Hotel.

Best Regards,
The Sales Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Having just recently stayed at this hotel due to a as they put it "a technical error" I must admit it was not my first
Choice for many reasons. But we were booked in for a night until our room at our original hotel was ready.
I'll start with the positives, my son loved the pool and we had lots of fun there. Although they did charge us €4 for some towels, as we couldn't use the the ones in our room. When I explained to the lady that I had no cash on me, as obviously I was in swimming trunks, she shrugged her shoulders and sat down.
The restaurant is like a school canteen and the food is about that standard.
Our room was functional, it had a bed and there was enough room to swing the proverbial cat, but only just. The bed was the end of the room, the beds were urrmmm clean ish.
I had to unblock the sink myself as it filled the first time I turned the taps on.
The toilet and bathroom were a throw back to the 80's plus separate, not seen that in many years. There was no fridge a single tea bag, a single sugar and a single hot chocolate milk.
There were stains on the carpet that looked like vomit, the room did not smell of it though, thank god!
We had no view whatsoever, well we kind of did as it was other people's rooms and a roof.
They charged my 12 year old as an adult for the buffet, which was a lot of comfort food, nothing special, but still cost the two of us €45.
Breakfast was a laugh, nothing hot unless you paid extra, otherwise the usual cold buffet, with a decent enough selection, but the clientele were not altogether appreciative of how one should conduct oneself, some even arrived in pyjamas.
I was given a bottle of champagne for the mix up, but to be honest it did not even come close to covering the poor service and standard of this hotel.
All in all, it does the job of giving you a room for a night, but not very well. I would not recommend anyone stay there. Spend the few quid extra and get somewhere decent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnathonMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JohnathonMcDonald,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent stay at the Explorers Hotel.
Comments like yours continuously help us improve our services where necessary.

We were sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations in some points such as food. We will inform our Chef about it as we strive to always give the best quality to our customers.

On a positive side, we were glad to read that you found our pool great.

Please be sure that all your comments will be transmitted to our teams.

We can ensure you of our best efforts to meet and exceed guest expectations and we do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your concerns. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
The Sales Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for 4 nights on 11th march. We were due to be in room 129 but appeared to have been moved to 626 which was a nice room double bed and two singles. I've read many reviews regarding the cleanliness but I have to say our room was immaculate. First thing I do is check the bathroom in hotels and it was spotless (an investment in bath sheets would be beneficial as towels are very small). The location of the hotel is great as its first drop off from the park and only a short shuttle ride away, we never had a problem getting on shuttles either side! The hotel has an excellent pool which my daughter loved there is a small charge of €2 for pool towels. There is also a soft play area which again my daughter loved. We didn't eat in the hotel except breakfast which was fine plenty
Of hot drinks from the machines and various juices. Breakfast consists of toast, pastries, fruits, hams and mini baguettes and various Kellogg's cereals. The restaurant area staff ate friendly and although busy there were plenty of tables and it was kept clean and food was replenished constantly. There is a charge of €4 for an English breakfast and a few tables around us had it, I'd personally recommend you don't as it looked grim to say the least. Congealed beans, hard eggs and fatty strips of bacon! As said we didn't eat here in the evening but the pizzas looked nice that were being served. There is free wifi in hotel, just get the code from reception, it says available in public areas but worked perfectly in our room room too. We also took 2 ipads which during the day were left in our room with no issues. There is a kettle in the room with a little pack containing 1 hot choc sachet, 1 tea bag and 1 coffee sachet so if you drink the same as anyone else in the room or you want more than one drink take your own, powdered milk is also supplied (there are no fridges in rooms) paper cups are also provided. the rooms were boiling hot at night so turn down the heater. The only problem we encountered was upon leaving we went to Disney express at the station to collect our bags only to be told the hotel had informed them there were no bags to be collected that day! The two girls on reception were too busy talking amongst themselves instead of paying attention I think. This was quickly sorted and someone went and collected our bags - good job we left plenty of time!! In a nutshell would I stay again?? Hell yes why not! What you get is travel lodge style accommodation but then if your at Disney you literally do just sleep there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, The Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Nat M,

Thank you for choosing the Explorers hotel for your stay in Disneyland® Paris and for providing us with your feedback. Comments like yours are highly important as they help us to continuously improve our service.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the room, the great location of the hotel, the excellent pool, the friendly staff, the breakfast, the happy hour and the restaurants in general.

We are sorry to learn that you had an issue with your luggage upon leaving that made you lose some valuable time. We trust you will accept this was an isolated event and we hope this did not affect your general positive impressions about the hotel.

Our entire team would be happy to welcome you back in the hotel.

Best Regards,
The Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
5,738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing