We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great, but not so bad...”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not so great, but not so bad...”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went there with my family of 9, the Hotel isn't great, it has some cleanning issues with the toillets, and the breakfast it's just OK... But it's very close to disney park and the shuffle is a great help!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at the Explorers Hotel. We have noted your comments and hope to welcome you back soon !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,570
    826
    300
    200
See reviews for
2,952
201
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here 11th November -15th November and it was 'alright'. People on a lot of reviews do say the staff are rude which is something I disagree with they were friendly and chatty and couldn't be more helpful. The location of the hotel is great it's not on the park (avoid paying park hotel prices!) but it is literally a 5-10 minute bus ride and the bus is free, quick and regular. The only thing about the location is there are no shops near by as the hotel doesn't have a shop in it for things like a bottle of drink, toiletries or snacks etc. The shop they do have is Disney souvenirs which there is enough of at the park! The rooms are not as they appear in the picture all cosy warm spacious are not words I would use to describe them. They're small, cold and the walls are made from gravel that does scratch you if you catch yourself on it! Thomas cook have sold it to Algonquin and Algonquin have left it in the state Thomas cook made of it! The curtains were hanging off the pole, the shower was dirty with lime scale that the maids could clearly have washed off and the tv doesn't work apart from playing an annoying menu tune. We were in a crew 6 room and the second bedroom has bunk beds and not a double bed be warned! The wifi at the hotel doesn't work below there's a comment about it being 'down' I don't believe it works at all the lady at reception said any new phones it doesn't work on when new phones are the only phones that use wifi so it defeats the object do not go there expecting wifi. The pool is great for the kids has slides and a adventure bit for little ones, couldn't fault it. The restaurant is okay breakfast was lovely apart from my family paid the extra 4 euros each to upgrade to 'full English' that has no sausage in it an is not a great standard at all so I wouldn't bother paying it. Then dinner there is a lot of strange meals so we paid 23 euros a head for chicken nuggets and chips as everything else was weird. The desserts are nice however and the drinks were include which is great. The bars prices are ridiculous 7.50 for a pint 4.50 for a slush puppy for the kids and approx 3.80 for a coke! Happy hour is at 7 don't drink before then else it's not worth it. The pizzeria they have there is good though really tasty great prices around 12 euros a pizza nice sized tastes great and quick service. Overall I have rate it average because as you can see there were some good parts but some crappy. I wouldn't recommend it to a friend unless they were warned and comfortable with all of the above.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your opinion is valuable as we use it as a way to improve our services.

It is nice to read that staff, location, shuttles, swimming pool and pizzeria were to your satisfaction.

We have noted your concerns regarding the buffet and the room. The food that we propose for dinner is composed of a large selection of dishes so as to satisfy our international clients. We try to offer the best quality combined with the largest choice possible, however we are sorry that it was not up to your expectations. Please be assured that your remarks will be discussed and transmitted to our Chef, as guest satisfaction is our main priority.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We travelled to the explorers by coach and ferry with ledger travel although it was tiring journey it was made pleasant by the coach crew phil and Margaret .the hotel staff were polite and helpful the hotel was clean warm and the room comfortable .the breakfast was ok and the children liked it .we took the shuttle bus to the Disney park and that's when the long journey became worth it with the smiles of our grand children.after a fun filled day we went back to the hotel and took the kids for a swim in the great hotel pool followed by a nice pizza and a drink in the bar .we then watched the kids play on the pirate ship before a good nights sleep happy that we could do it all again the next day,we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at the Explorers Hotel.

It is a real pleasure to learn that you had a nice trip with your group. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the hotel for further adventure !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited Euro Disney and Stayed at Explorers Hotel. I must say, this Hotel is nothing out of this world, but is really of great value for money $$$. It also has an amazing pool to enjoy, before or after you have visited Euro Disney and need to relax.

The Breakfast was dissapointing and very simple cubes of cheddar and ham.

Danny

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you liked our swimming pool. We are sorry to learn that breakfast was not up to your expectations. Your comment will be forwarded to the Chef as guest satisfaction is our main priority.

The entire team hopes to see you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at explorers for 5 nights costing £100 per night! The room was basic, and the food wasn't good and everything was over priced!! Make sure you go to the hypermarket at val de Europe to stock up for snacks and drinks! The soft play area was great and also the swimming pool was of high standards!
The shuttle buses from hotel to Disney are free we called it the "crazy bus" as it literally is everyone for themselves, and when you think it's full another 20 people squeeze on!! This was one trip not for the faint hearted!
Having said that we have some memories from Disney we will remember forever, if we returned I would pay more for a better quality hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceicemaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review from your recent stay at the Explorers hotel.

We have noted your concerns regarding the prices and buses and will report them to our teams. Please be assured that we do our utmost to continuously improve the service we are offering.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon in order to improve your judgment.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for Disneyland Paris!

Only problem was the wifi was down and the milk powder they use was not good but did not spoil stay! Had a great room nice and tidy and warm!

Pizzas were good and the pool was not cold despite what others say!

Breakfast was fine! Had the continental cant believe people moan about having to pay for a fry up! Lol it's £4 for god sake!

All in All would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

The entire team is pleased to learn that you had a lovely time with us ans that the room, pizzas and breakfast were to your satisfaction. Thank you for pointing out the issue concerning the WiFi during your stay and the powdered milk. Your comments are valuable to constantly improve the quality of our service.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a five night staff with a party of 15 and each one of us were shocked by how rude and unhelpful the staff were. From reception staff when we first checked in to the staff in Marios pizza place who actually laughed in a member of our party's face when a query was made! Complaints were made at the time to the duty manager and he was just the same as his staff members rude and unhelpful. The hotel is well situated for Disneyland and plenty of choice for breakfast but this is the hotels only good points.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review after your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

We were pleased that you found location and breakfast to your satisfaction. Nevertheless, we were very sorry on reading your descriptions about the staff as we can ensure you that customer service and guest satisfaction are highly important to us.

After consulting the restaurant managers, we understood that there was a misunderstanding regarding the pizza you ordered and that you were finally refunded as you handed it back. Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience at the Marco’s Pizzeria and if you felt the situation was not dealt properly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so you can experience our real high standards and numerous facilities.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Magny-le-Hongre hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
987 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
5,549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing