We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better?”

The National Folk Museum at Cregneash
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cregneash
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in beautiful countryside in the south of the Isle of Man you’ll find a number of thatched Manx cottages at Cregneash which are open for you to explore and enjoy.Visit Harry Kelly’s cottage where there’ll be Bonnag cooking on the fire, speak to the village’s joiner and blacksmith, explore Church Farm or take time out to enjoy a service at St Peter’s Church. You’ll often see the fields being worked with horse-drawn equipment, craftsmen thatching the roofs, spinning, weaving and wood turning and have a chance to learn about the growing and preparation of Manx food.In the fields surrounding Cregneash you’ll spot plough horses, shorthorn cows and Manx Loaghtan sheep, whilst Manx cats (famous for having no tails!)can also be seen in the village.A picture postcard village, with beautiful walks available in the surrounding countryside including to the Sound, Meayll Circle (a megalithic chambered tomb) and to the rock formations at the Chasms.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could do better?”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Disappointed that there was no real description of what we were looking at in some of the workshops, because there was nobody there to explain. Harry Kelly's cottage and farm were very interesting and the ladies there were full of information and very helpful. The cafe served lovely food, but the owners managed to seriously mis-spell 'Loughtan' on the menu as they also do in another establishment they run. As it's a Manx breed of sheep which is kept at Cregneash and heavily promoted on the Island, the least they could do would be to make sure they got the name right!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie_Dripping_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too early”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Going in March was too early but we did have a walk around and had a chat to a young girl who lives there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An heritage gem”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would love to live here! We spent a long time strolling, photographing and just enjoying the place. St. Pete's church is a tranquil refuge to sit and just 'be' for a while. Terry Kelly in the joiner's workshop and smithy gave a grand talk. Rewina in Harry Kelly's cottage was equally informative. The visitor's centre and tea rooms have lots to offer too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A lovely insight into a vanished way of life, complete with the genuine smells of fires and pigs!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really interesting glimpse back in time.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We found this "living museum" really fascinating, with all the cottages and farm buildings scattered amongst a real village, where real people live!
Unfortunately, the day we chose to visit was really misty - the village is quite high up and whilst the weather was clear and bright, if a little cloudy, down at the Sound and Port Erin (both only a couple of miles away, and both well worth visits, incidentally), the village itself was shrouded in mist / cloud / pea-soup fog!
Consequently we had trouble finding which houses were part of the museum and which were not! And I'm sure we missed some spectacular views!
Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our visit - all the cottages had a lady in period costume inside either knitting, quilting or cooking, who told the story of the cottage and their particular craft excellently.
The farm was lovely too, with chickens, ducklings, piglets and cute little lambs to pet! We also saw our first, and only Manx cat, curled up on a chair in front of a roaring log fire!
Once again, as with most of my reviews of the Isle of Man attractions, we would love to return on a sunny day!
We did get some lovely sunny days during our 12 night stay, and fortunately these were on the days of the TT races, which was our primary purpose of the visit! ( well, my husbands primary purpose - I came for the castles and museums!)

Helpful?
Thank SHELLYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Folk Museum at Cregneash also viewed

Castletown, Isle of Man
Laxey, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The National Folk Museum at Cregneash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing