We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
220
24
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
24
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenin townshared kitchenwhite sandself cateringthought of everythingown mealsgreat hostscouple of daysquiet beachbeach towelsstayed longerall sortsmain reasonsdown to earthidyllic locationlive upstairs
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We spent 3 nights in a wonderful new beachfront studio apartment. Very comfortable and practical furnishings. Kenn and Karen were extremely helpful in every way, from chauffeuring us in town and to arranging a personal fishing trip and the absolute best tour of the natural life in the area. Alex, the guide, gave us insights into the Mayan salt farming and understanding the plant life in the salt flats as well as calling in birds and showing us the many flocks of flamingos. Casa de Celeste Vida is not air conditioned but was not too uncomfortable, even though the temperatures were in the upper 90 degrees F, thanks to a strong ceiling fan and ocean breeze through the breezeway. The beach had small shells at the shore but was nice and sandy once in the water. A very relaxing stay. Good value for the money, especially compared to other establishments in the area. Enjoyed the restaurants in town as well as cooking our own meals.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The first thing I must say is that the owners, Ken and Karen are wonderful! This place is cozy, charming, and right on the beach. We wish we could have stayed longer. The room was clean and beautiful, and the kitchenette had everything you could need. Ken and Karen set us up with a boat tour to see the flamingos, and horseback riding on the beach with the horses brought right to our door! If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time in Celestun. Its a do-it yourself atmosphere. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils/gadgets. I don’t cook on a vacation, but I did use this kitchen more than usual. It was nice to stock the fridge with cheese, meats and beer. You could have breakfast and lunch at Casa de Celeste Vida and splurg on dinner in town. It was far enough away from the village to be quiet, but close enough that you can hike into town. We had a rental car and did drive to town rather than walk. Karen and Ken work hard to make your stay the best. Every time we went to town they would either went with us or told us where to find what we needed. Ask about the Saturday chicken and get the cookies and fresh bread from the bakery. There is not any air conditioning but we felt safe sleeping with nothing but the screens. They have dogs but if you are not a dog person you won't even know they are there. If you like dogs you will have a companion on the beach or in the water if you want it.

Save some money for all the beach jewelry vendors. It is not your typical Mexican beach silver but more interesting natural material and beads. I loved the beaded bracelets and necklaces. The best jewelry I have seen in Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glacierEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Having travelled extensively and for the most part exclusively to all inclusive resorts these past ten years.
Casa de Celeste Vida totally weaned us from that need and shook us back into the reality of what the true value of travel was meant to be.
We have just spent one of the most memorable 2 weeks of hospitality in a long, long, time.
For this we have to thank, Casa de Celeste Vida and Karen Strauss part owner and hostess during our stay.
The property is a hidden gem, built obviously with great love, passion and attention to details for their guests.
Karen, was always one step ahead of us in anticipating our needs, all the while being very discreet and non intrusive about it.
She recommended awesome sites to visit as well as the better dining facilities of the village, Casa Peon definitely has our vote as a must visit.
She was also a great resource as far as driving directions to various sites and facilities, forget your TomTom's, Karen knows it the best, the best roads, the least topes and the most scenic.
Her introduction to some of the locals lead to some very humbling and grounding experiences.
The accommodations and the beach Palapa's & their comfortable "Matrimonial" hammocks were just great.
We would highly recommend Casa de Celeste Vida to anyone and all that want to have a truly memorable vacation, total relaxation, and great cultural experience with the locals, and exceprional value for their dollars.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OttawaChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We thoroughly recommend Casa de Celeste Vida and we are trying to figure out when we can go back. We cannot thank Karen enough for her generous spirit. We were both inspired by her creativity and energy. Another gem is Casa Peon, a restaurant in town: we had great meals by its fabulous chef and owner, Peter, and we wish we could have tried everything on his menu. Peter was charming and kind. All and all, we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziplizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews