We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We actually would prefer to to keep it a secret”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Celeste Vida
Ranked #1 of 9 Celestun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just came back from another amazing trip to the Yucatan and stayed at Celeste Vida for 2 nights. Where do I start? First, 2 nights was not enough. We have been to the Yucatan many times but had never been to Celestun. What a wonderful place. There are few beaches left in the world where there is little development and where you can walk on a sand and shell-strewn beach for miles and miles and not see a soul. And the sweet, friendly Mexican town is so charming, with most everything our family loves (fresh pan dulce, beautiful produce, every type of hot sauce!)
Casa de Celeste Vida is such a charming, pretty (and ecological, which is important to us) place with very friendly owners who indeed (just like other posts have said) make you feel like a part of their family. Our family of 3 was in a studio (it was all that was available) and were comfortable. The compact room was very well-planned and it was so nice to have a kitchenette in the room. We loved cooking our own meals because what better view to the water is there than your own room porch?
We also enjoyed using the 2 kayaks and the 3 bikes that are at the property and our son adored the cute dogs that run around and make everyone giggle.
We are definitely returning to Celestun again and hopefully we can stay at Casa de Celeste Vida again, however, I am not so sure because it is getting too popular!
Thank you Wanda, Karen, and Kenn for a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family stayed here for 2 nights last month, and it was definitely the highlight of our trip to Mexico. Celeste Vida is an absolute treasure - from your room you're only footsteps away from the beautiful tranquil beach of Celestun. The hosts (Wanda, Karen, and Ken) are absolutely wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible - they arranged a tour of the flamingo reserves for us, and even had a local woman to come to Celeste Vida to cook a Mayan meal for us for my birthday! Their 5 cocker spaniels are adorable as well; if you're not a dog person they will try to keep them out of your hair, but for my family of dog-lovers, they were a welcome addition to our stay. The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable and contain all the amenities you could possibly need. I hope to have the opportunity to stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Stay in the apartment suite if you want a sitting room with satellite TV, and a little more space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorKnow85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 7 days at Celeste Vida, 3 in one of the two guest rooms and the rest in the apartment. Go for the apartment it is much more comfortable and spacious. Karen, Ken and Wanda are wonderful hosts. They live upstairs so they are always available for assistance. They arranged two wonderful trips in the lagoon, one to see the flamingos and one for bird watching. On both we were picked up at the door.
Celestun is a quiet working town and the major downside is the lack of options for eating out in the evening. Celeste Vida provides a kitchen to allow you to cook your own meals and advice on what and where to buy your produce. It is fun to go to the market and buy like a local. However this is a vacation and self catering should not be the only solution. An alternative is to eat well at lunchtime on the beach in town and then just snack in the evening. The fish and shrimp are to die for.
There are two slight negatives to the Celeste Vida. First they have 4 dogs on the small premises. They do bark, follow you around and try to get into the rooms. Secondly the compressed housing area and the communal kitchen means that you are in close proximity to the other guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Peace and serenity are the order of the day. Either reading under the shade of a palm tree while listening to the ocean waves, or taking a guided tour of the Flamingo Habitat, you will find no place nicer with three of the most accommodating hosts one could hope for. Oh, sorry, also Dora and Scooter(resident dogs) are excellent beach companions on those long quiet strolls. Actually I think Dora and Scooter run the place and only allow the hosts to stay......

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are well supplied and clean and the hotel is steps away from a shell-strewn beach. Our hosts were helpful and very friendly. The hotel is about a mile north of Celestun, a quiet fishing village. We wish we'd had a full week to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolute peace & magic! No crowds. No traffic. No Mc D's. Celestun is a quaint 300 yr old Mexican fishing village. The people are warm & friendly, & go out of their way to accommodate you. Spanish is not necessary but couldn't hurt. Buying groceries in the market was a daily highlight. The colors & smells of all the fresh produce was amazing. As this is a fishing village you know they've got the freshest seafood so a couple of trips to the local restaurants is a must. Also, a very safe place. At no time during our 10 days did we experience any negative problems......none.
As for Casa de Celeste Vida, what a palace! The apartment we rented was modern, well equipped and super clean. English Satellite TV, DVD, WiFi are available if you insist that you must. The pristine beach was 100 feet from our front door. Beach combing for shells & starfish yielded a huge bag of mementos to take home. Miles of beach without much more than a handful of other people made for wonderful long walks. The sound and feel of the gentle surf washing over your feet looking out over the Gulf was magic! Nothing to do but soak up the sun & connect to the community.
Lots of activities and excursions are available as well. Flamingos, Centote's, evening Croc tours to name a few.
The owners of the villa are expat Canadians that have immersed themselves right into the fabric of the community. Sincere thank you to Kenn, Karen, & Wanda for making our Mexican Christmas one of the most wonderful experiences we have ever had. So much so, my wife cried for a half an hour the day we left.
This place is really worth the trip to the end of the road!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg_MicheleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The rooms are well-appointed, and just steps away from a truly fabulous beach. Our host was a font of local knowledge and advice and helped to make our stay there a perfect beach getaway. We made an excursion to see the flamingos with a guide recommended by the owner.

Room Tip: The 1-bedroom suites have sofa beds so they can sleep more than two. There's a hot/cold shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wi-FiNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Celeste Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Celeste Vida

Address: 49 E Calle 12, Celestun, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Celeste Vida...."Home of Heavenly Life" is a charming guesthouse in Celestun, Mexico on the Gulf of Mexico in the Yucatan Peninsula. Celeste Vida offers three rental suites. Each is uniquely decorated with Mexican flare, has ocean views and is only steps away from a beautiful secluded beach! We are 1 km. from the village of Celestun where you will find a great market for fruits and vegetables, shops and restaurants with abundant seafood dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing